We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Centro Historico Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hostal Centro Historico Regina to your Saves list
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   5 de Febrero #53 Col. Centro | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great location, the hostel is located 5min walk from the Zócolo, and is close to the attractions of the Historic district. It is also close to several subway lines, which is extremely cheep. I found the hostel very safe and the staff spoke english and were friendly. The only negative was the traffic noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a pleasure to have met your expectations, we have a highly committed to help you in everything you need. Due to our location tourist is why the activity on the street can end a little late and for rest and comfort of our guests the time of our check out is at noon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
18
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hostal Regina is the perfect base for an exploration of Mexico City, within walking distance of everything from the San Pedro markets to Casa de Luis Barragan. The hostel is at the edge of the city's historic district and at the centre of an urban renewal project that makes the visitor part of a bohemian neighbourhood filled with music, street food and public art. Hostal Regina is clean and secure; the staff knows the city and makes every effort to help visitors. As a bonus, they stored my luggage while I continued a two month tour through Mexico, Belize and Guatemala.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your good feedback, causes us great joy to know that your stay was enjoyable and above all the location was convenient. Our staff is pleased to serve the needs of our guests and always try to help where we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This wasn't a hostel as much as a hotel where you split paying for a room with a bunch of strangers. Very nice modernized building. 24 hour security visible doing rounds and watching the door. The 24 hour front desk is incredibly helpful, and speaks english if no habla español muy bien. Very clean. The lockers in the dorm room were a little questionable, but the front desk was always happy to put my valuables in the safe when I went out for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Is good to know that your stay at the hostel has been a success; for us it was all a taste to assist you. We are also happy to know that you saw high care we have our facilities as well as the cleaning of the same; rest assured that this aspect is very important to us and we will continue taking care of it. We hope to welcome you soon, we will have new activities which we are sure will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I´ve stayed at Hostel Regina two times, and reckon its one of the best hostels ive stayed at. Short walk to the plaza, so the location is great. Staff is friendly, and its very clean. Tours can be arranged through the hostel with really knowledgeable guides. Awesome rooftop bar, with some of the cheapest beer in town! I´ll definitely stay at this hostel next time im in Mexico city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon,you can rest assured that our staff will always be happy to give you more information and help you plan your stay.
Perhaps might be interested know that we constantly organize hosting packages related to certain special events in the city; such as concerts or exhibitions please feel free to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mexico City! We stayed here for a week and were overly impressed. It is located in a beautiful part of the city, close to everywhere we wanted to visit. The service was outstanding. Also, it was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. I recommend it 100%
Good job ladies!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you, perhaps in a future for your next stay you can be interested in taking one of the tours that we have. These tours are a popular choice among our guests since there are several tourist destinations of interest and the atmosphere in them is always very friendly and fun. Please do not hesitate to ask about this option at the front desk during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hostel a while ago and had a pretty awful experience. The female dorm was overcrowded and suffocating. There is a mezzanine dorm above the main floor and everything is open aired, therefore sounds are amplified; giving the impression of being in a summer camp dorm. For 2-3 days in a row, the water was cut off in all bathrooms for a few hours, both in the morning and at night. When commented upon this, the staff was indifferent at best. WARNING: An employee (who pretended to be a bakpacker), Marco Soto, seeks to take advantage of female travellers.

The only positive thing I can comment on is the location which is very central and close to main attractions and the metro. Would definately not stay there again neither would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Guayana, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed there along with my students who where there while attending a Model United Nations. The staff was very helpful all the time and the location of the hostel is quite good, right in the middle of downtown, close to Zocalo and to the subway station. Many shops and restaurants nearby. The big minus is the extreme noise at nights specially when they apparently rent the upper floor for concerts. Plus, the street outside is full of life even late at night so sleeping might be difficult -a bad thing if you are tired after a long day-. The breakfast doesn't even worth some words -avoid it-.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
A pleasure is to know good reviews, our goal is to provide the best service to each of our guests, no doubt be in the historic centre can cause some factors of noise but nothing to bother your stay, since we also have 24-hour reception service. We hope to have him back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Centro Historico Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Centro Historico Regina

Address: 5 de Febrero #53 Col. Centro | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Centro Historico Regina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Regina is projected to be the only retro art-kitsch youth hostel in Mexico City. We have shared and private rooms, where local and foreign cultures and fused along with experiences and environments. The place is brand new, counts with 121 comfortable beds, private rooms, parquet floors, high ceilings and huge windows with balcony. We manage to make every room special, spacious and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Centro Historico Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Centro Historico Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.