We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Mexico City, stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Centro Historico Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Centro Historico Regina to your Saves list
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   5 de Febrero #53 Col. Centro | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you're in Mexico City, stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

By far the best hostel I've stayed at anywhere!

Central location, magnificent building, clean, spacious, great value and everything is handy. What actually makes this place is the staff, they were more than a lot of fun, helpful at every turn and just great value all around.

So, out of the things that you need to know - free interent (there's three pc's near reception) and wireless throughout, great bathrooms (large, clean, well maintained), 24hr security, lockers if you need them .The staff are more than willing to help you out with the organisation of tours each day, or if not then they'll assist with organising impromptu parties on the rooftop!

If you NEED to buy alcohol well there's two small grocery stores within 20 steps of the front door and there's a small bar/restaurant linked to the the hostel.

It's ranked #1 in this category for a reason!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that our staff helped you every time you needed and that you enjoyed our facilities.
Indeed, in our rooftoop is common to see guests having a good time, where we also sell beer and cocktails. So finding beverages is not a problem in our hostel. But in case you want another kind of beverage, our staff will be happy to help you get it. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
20
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Perfect location, you can find lots of interesting places nearby, the staff is very polite and helpful (hard to find in services, when staying at this city) there's a public kitchen you can use anytime you want, when inside the hostal can feel safe, the place is always under vigilance ,it has a couple of common places, they offer different tours in and outside the city that way you wont worry ir you want to go km a tour, the bar is good but they can definitely di better, the hostal is brand new, no question about it you can storage your luggage in the available lockers (dont forget to bring your own padlock) there's a common place in the roofttop with a nice view where you can chill, hang every time you like.
I has only two issues (one of them really annoying)
1. i asked the staff for some refferences in a couple of times, sadly for me the info given was always wrong.
2. The bathrooms and the common places werent cleaned as often as they should, some kids messed with all of the toilets of the hostal, and they weren't fixed until Next day. But as i said before they can do better no doubts. I'd stay here anytime

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind comment. Be sure that our main concern is our guests having a good time! We apologize for the cleaning problem you mention, usually it is not like that at all. As you say, that day we had the kids situation and we were not able to fix them sooner. You might like to know that in case you don´t own a padlock, you can buy one at the front desk; so do not worry about it next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This hostel is near from everywhere, has free internet, very clean, the bathrooms as well, has lockers which was very nice, I felt safe all the time, has security 24 hours, the terrace is very nice where you can do a party if you want, well, that was my perspective.
Closeby the metro and to buy groceries... I did not use the kitchen but it had everything.

Hope you enjoy as well as I did.

Die beste hostel im Mexico stadt!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thanks for your review, we are very happy to know that you had such a good time. Be sure to ask for our tours next time you visit us, you will not regret it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed there 2 nights in March 2011. The hostel is brand new, has meticoulously clean and very comfortable bathrooms and spotless and very spacious dorms.
Free internet (3 computers), cosy restaurant, delicious breakfast typically including a sandwich or some mexican-style eggs with coffee and a big glass of freshly-squeezed orange juice.
The rooftop area is nice but without a view (you see only surrounding buildings).
Location is very good - 5 mins by foot from the Zocalo and metro station. The only drawback is that the rooms can get a bit noisy in the late mornings due to the car traffic but what else can you expect in the middle of such a huge city...
To sum up - everything is just as you would expect it from a perfect backpacker's hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your trip. Maybe you would be interested to know that we also count with private suites, which are the opposite side of the street and, are much less noisy. Please consider staying in one of those next time you plan to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The best of the place is the service couldn't nbe better,
The hostel, clean stylish and new.
The bathrooms spotless and spa type.
My first time in a hostel and it was great.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalRegina, Gerente at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
thank you very much, we work very hard to make you feel safe and comfortable in our Hostel Regina , Hope to see you again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is the nicest Hostel i have ever stay at, clean spacious and the staff is very knowlodge of the area.
It is very new, the restaurant downstairs is perfect for taking some beers and snaks

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Centro Historico Regina, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
We are happy to know you liked our facilities. Maybe next time you stay with us you can visit our rooftop a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. It gets very lively and we sell beer also. Thank you for your review and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Centro Historico Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Centro Historico Regina

Address: 5 de Febrero #53 Col. Centro | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Centro Historico Regina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Regina is projected to be the only retro art-kitsch youth hostel in Mexico City. We have shared and private rooms, where local and foreign cultures and fused along with experiences and environments. The place is brand new, counts with 121 comfortable beds, private rooms, parquet floors, high ceilings and huge windows with balcony. We manage to make every room special, spacious and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Centro Historico Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Centro Historico Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.