We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City

Save Saved
You added The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Javier Barros Sierra 540 | Lomas de Santa Fe, Mexico City 01210, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #16 of 280 hotels in Mexico City
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
“excellent for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed two nights for business in Mexico DF. Excellent service, very convenient location, superb breakfast buffet. Totally recommended.
Hotel restaurant is a plus, but also you can find at walking distance the Fisher's, to get into the local cuisine.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Ivan,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments regarding your recent experience at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

We appreciate for taking your the time to send us your feedback, it is nice to know that your experience was great. The Santa Fe area gives great options for our guest in the local or the international cuisine.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at The Westin Santa Fe in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    61
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
13
7
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Westin Santa Fe is a cookie cutter business hotel that is designed like it could be dropped into any city in the world. I couldn't help but be disappointed by their design choices, which have eliminated the charm and authenticity of the Mexican culture and failed to adapt much of anything.

This disappointment unfortunately is not limited to just design. The food options of the hotel are very international. The room service menu has almost no Mexican options and the primary restaurant on the ground level only adds a few more. Luckily there are many restaurant options near the hotel including Central Central, which is nice.

Service can be improved. The Westin gets a lot of little things wrong. During my stays they messed up taxi arrangements, shoe shine service and seemed to be very inflexible about extending my stay by a night despite having availability.

If you are a business traveller with no intention of doing anything Mexican and are happy hearing English voices throughout the hotel, this one is for you. If not, I would try elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor followers your review about the experience you had at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

I woyuld like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience you had. We regret that the experience at the hotel did not fill your expectations.

We would like to ask for a second chance, allowing us to create an exclusive atmosphere for you.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you need to stay in the Colonia Santa Fe district, this may be one of the best options: spacious and nicely appointed accommodations and good service This rings especially true if you happen to be in Santa Fe on business.

Room Tip: Room 222 gives you a double-dip view: valley and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Companion,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments regarding your recent experience at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

We appreciate taking your valuable time to send us your feedbacks, it is nice to know that your experience was great.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at The Westin Santa Fe in the near future,

Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Even when I had trouble with my credit card and checking out at 3am in the morning. They were happy to arrive transport for my coworker and I when our scheduled transport didn't arrive at the airport. All the staff is happy to chat and provide conversation. Breakfast may be a bit pricey but there's a great deal you can get.

The only problem I found was with the internet. There wasn't a hard-wired connection and the wireless was spotty at best.

Room Tip: Any valley view room is pretty great. I woke up each morning to the sun rise and the only tall build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Companion,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments regarding your recent experience at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

We appreciate taking your valuable time to send us your feedbacks. I would like to let you know that we are working to improve the connection, inside and in our public areas. We know that is a basic tool for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Westin Santa Fe in the near future,

Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for a night to host a suite party with a bunch of friends. The hotel staff were very accommodating and aided us in getting a room as far as possible from other guests as to not disturb each other. The pool area is very nice which a really good view of the Santa Fe area, nearby you can find a lot of great restaurants, shops and other amenities. The parking fee is on the spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Trip Advisor Companion,

Agradecemos la resaña positiva al respecto de su reciente visita en The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

¡Muchas gracias por sus comentarios! Apreciamos mucho que haya disfrutado de la calidad de las instalaciones y la ubicacion del Hotel, que cuenta con una extraordianaria vista a una reserva natural protegido y por otro lado con una variedad de opciones gastronomicas unicas en la Ciudad.

Esperamos recibirlo nuevamente y poder seguir creando grandes experiencias para usted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was amazed at all the staff that are constantly asking if you need any assistance. Truly warm and welcoming hotel. The location is ideal, and nestled atop a fantastic strip of great Eateries. Loved the roof top breakfast...

My only negative feedback, is that the POOL was very tiny, and not useable in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Companion,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments regarding your recent experience at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

We appreciate taking your valuable time to send us your feedbacks, positive or negative, everything help us to improve our product and service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Westin Santa Fe in the near future,

Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked 4 days in Mexico City for a work trip, and booked it as a Holiday though British Airways, paying for hotel and flight in a same price.

The hotel is standard business fare, but expensive. Everything costs extra, even the WiFi. In 2013. Rooms are clean, breakfast is the usual, the porters are incredibly helpful though, and I recommend using the hotels taxis, despite the random pricing and mark-ups over normal prices (beware the extra 10% concierge fee for using a taxi though, they don't mention it upfront).

The laundry service in particular was excellent, as were fresh juices on the roof as the sun set.

The problem arose upon check-out when the front desk expected me to pay for my room on check-out. I explained that it was part of a package, and gave them my "room voucher" but they refused to accept it. In the end I reached over the desk and used their phone (they were telling me to use my cell) to call British Airways in London to resolve it. It transpired that the hotel hadn't know how to process a virtual credit card, so had ignored it when it arrived weeks earlier. After almost an hour, we seemed to have a resolution. BA had paid them over the phone and I
left, an hour late, for the airport.

A week later, the hotel charged me for the room, again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, Gerente at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor followers your review about the experience you had at The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City.

We are pleased to know that you had a great experience with the service you recived. We also want to apologize for the lack of comunication we had with the airline, we have now the correct procedure that has to be done in the future.

We look forward to welcome you again and change the bad impression you experienced.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City

Address: Javier Barros Sierra 540 | Lomas de Santa Fe, Mexico City 01210, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City Hotel Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Santa Fe Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.