We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location is not enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zocalo Central

Save Saved
You added Zocalo Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zocalo Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$85 (USD)
Ranked #42 of 284 Hotels in Mexico City
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Location location location is not enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights.

Top marks for location, the rooftop restaurant overlooks the Zocola. The zocola is a hive of activity, sounds and colour.

WiFi is free, but, the reliability and speed was poor.

Buffet breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant where it has an indoor and a beautiful outdoor area overlooking the Zocola. Breakfasts were a disappointment. Quality of food does not match the star of this hotel. Food service was inconsistent. Guests were made to queue 30mins or more while there were empty tables outside as well as available space inside to move tables inside.

Room was small but clean and comfortable. Nothing really to praise or negatively comment on.

Staff were OK. No outstanding service or major concerns to comment on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear mahiwahoo,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding service, food selection and internet access. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    185
    47
    26
    10
See reviews for
48
125
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mexico City is a huge place of many facets. One of those is the political center of the city; the Zocalo, cathedral, the atmosphere of late 19th century. To experience all of this the Holiday Inn Zocalo is a great place to stay. From the rooftop terrace restaurant you can see not only the views of one the largest city squares in the world, but we were lucky to have good weather and enjoy the amazing experience of the sunrise over the volcanoes; unforgettable!

The hotel itself is housed in a beautiful old building. The rooms are a bit small but nicely appointed and comfortable. Note- You will only get a front facing view if you stay in a suite. Still the terrace bar at night and early morning was a wonderful option. Staff is really nice and professional. They arranged our private transportation to and from the airport; safe, punctual, courteous and reasonable priced. Everything is clean and well maintained.

The only negative is that although the restaurant opens for breakfast at 07:00, they don't open the terrace until later. We had to enjoy the sunset without breakfast as we had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on the start of our organised tour of Mexico. Brilliant view of the Zocalo and the Cathederal. Restaurant has fantastic views of the city and beyond. Rooms adequate for our needs. Staff very helpful, restaurant menu was very good and varied. Plenty to see and do in the area. Restaurants around the hotel plentiful and varied. Also reasonably priced. Our room was on the street side, was a bit noisy though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the corner and the restaurant /bar overlooks the square. Breakfast buffet - good, other moaned about coffee but never drank it myself. Nice rooms, clean hotel, good supply of toiletries. For convenient location it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent one night here before Cuba. The room was very small and so was the double bed. Other than that very very central clean and welcoming. The staff at the desk were helpful and there are ATMs in the foyer coffee machine in the room was welcoming first thing in the morning. Doubt I would stay more than two nights due to the size of the room. Don't get a room facing the street as you will be up all night with traffic of cars and people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Debbieperth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the staff and I am happy that you found our hotel to be clean and welcoming.

However, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find your room to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction this has caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a brief stay in the Zocalo HI and I was really happy with it.
Pros:
Outstanding location alongside the world's 3rd largest public square
Friendly service
Free Wi-Fi
Free computers with printer in the lobby
Reasonably priced snack bar in the lobby
Comfortable Beds

I really don't have a con other that it takes a little long to get to the hotel from the airport during rush hours.

Some other notes: The taxi to the airport is M$195 and the return is M$165. Both were reliable and fine. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

If it weren't for the incredible view from their restaurant balcony, we would have left after we checked-in and walked into our room. The rooms are the smallest I've been in for years, and the beds being the worst part of that. They are smaller than a double bed, and the mattress was horrible.
We had a lot of luggage, as have been traveling for a month now, and there was no where to put it... Our stuff was everywhere!!

The service staff were relatively friendly, but dissappinting that they didn't offer any suggestions for activities or sightseeing.
Instead we went to the Best Western around the corner and booked our day tours there as they have a tour desk on site.

As mentioned the view from the terrace if this hotel is amazing! It makes it worth putting up with the bed. As we know no Spanish, we are most of our meals there for 3 days, and the food was great... Reasonable prices too,

You won't help yourself from spending most of the time there hanging over the balcony and looking over the Zocalo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zocalo Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.