We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zocalo Central to your Saves list
Zocalo Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Just finished a 2 night stay. As from prior reviews, the view from the restaurant of the Plaza de la Constitución is not to be missed. Didn't have breakfast, but had lunch and dinner, both okay, and when compared to similar in Australia, very well priced. We found the staff both on the front desk and in the restaurant to be friendly, efficient and very patient with our questions. Location - fantastic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    198
    51
    26
    11
See reviews for
58
139
58
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very well location, in the center of Mexico !
Staff very friendly and smiling.

But no way to stay there for business, when you need to rest in the evenings or the WEs:
- On the 22th of November, a party happened in the 6th floor in the evening, no way to sleep !
- On the WEs, as the hotel is very near the center, many people shouting, dancing and so on in the streets, so no way to sleep further than 9 a.m. !

Good hotel for tourism, to avoid absolutely if you go there for business !

Room Tip: Do not take the 312: a very small window only ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just made a one night stop at this Holiday Inn over the weekend, to meet some friends. No, it's not the Four Seasons and it's not the JW Marriott, but it's a clean and pleasant hotel if you want to be next to the Zocalo in downtown Mexico City. the rooms are a bit small, nothing uncommon in a large city, but well outfitted with nice clean bedding. We did not have much interaction with the staff, but they all seemed friendly and ready to help when asked about something. In summary, we can certainly recommend this hotel especially if you want to be in the historic center. Frankly, we probably wouldn't have stayed here except that the two classic Mexican style hotels on the Zocalo were fully booked, but it worked out fine. i should add that this historic center of Mexico City seems to be extremely safe now, with a very heavy police presence along every single block. i think security in the main tourist and business areas of Mexico City is much improved in the last few years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When in mexico city Hotel Zocalo is the place to stay not only their rooms are nice and clean but the entire staff is very efficient and friendly. Many of the employees knew some english which is very helpful if you don't know spanish. The restaurant has great food and the view from the terrace is breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is second to none, wonderful as right on top of the main square (Zocalo). The view from the restaurant on the terrace was pretty amazing. First thing in the morning you could watch the sun rise above the city, and at night you could watch it set with a cocktail in your hand, even better!

Our room was teeny tiny, with the smallest double bed we have ever had the pleasure to have sleeped in. We did however have a good size window, so lots of natural light,

The breakfast was just ok, it felt like they wanted you gone as soon as you sat down to eat your breakfast, as you saucer would be whiped away even though you would still be drinking your cup of coffee! We also tried the restaurant for a meal on the first night, the food wasn't that great, a bit greasy so couldn't even finish the meal, that is very strange for me!. The service in the eveining seemed far better than at breakfast, and the cocktails served were very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location and the rooftop deck is amazing. Excellent service and perfectly clean. Unfortunately the rooms are just not feasible for a business traveler. Very very small, non potable water, and poor Internet service. If on vacation I would have just spent all my time rooftop. I looked at 4 room types, and even the suite left much to be desired. Just not a good value considering the many options in Mexico City

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Worth staying for the amazing views of the Zocalo from the roof terrace where you can buy very reasonably priced food and cocktails.Try and reserve a table at the front. Small but comfortable rooms - felt very safe as making a solo trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zocalo Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.