We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, some hidden treasures !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Soumaya

Museo Soumaya
Blvd Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra 303 | Col Ampliacion Granada, Miguel Hidalgo, Mexico City 11529, Mexico
52-5-5163731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 429 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the role of art and culture in human life and includes art by such luminaries as the French sculptor Rodin.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place, some hidden treasures !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was amazed with the exterior design, the inside is also good, I visited last month and the collections displayed were beautiful, I was supposed to visit the Aquarium, just a few steps away, but there was a huge line outside, so I try Soumaya museum and it was a nice surprise, Dali, Rodin, Renoir, Siqueiros, Picasso ... Give it a try...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    199
    68
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a few gems but just try and find them”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A monument to ego. An immoral waste of money. I can't call it bad taste because I see no taste at all. The building is amazing to look at, from the outside, but if you wonder "how can that possibly work as an art museum?" you'll discover inside that it doesn't. Five floors connected in a slightly Guggenheim way by ramps. Crowded. Confusing. The collection consists of anything available for purchase in the years Carlos Slim was buying. There is some great stuff, a few, but mostly it's the worst paintings of bad artists, and then a lot of bad artists that have no good stuff. And all displayed together without critical judgment, "cats and monkeys barbershop" (I'm not kidding) right next to a Breughal. At least admission is free. If you want a Renaissance Madonna and Child with a clock in the middle don't miss the gift shop.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful design from the outside, full of treasures inside, Very spacious with several floors, I went in June 2014, they had Rodin and the best sculptures of Salvador Dali, it was unbelievable for me when I saw all the great pieces of art this museum has. Don't miss this opportunity

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

While the architecture of the windowless building itself is amazing, we really enjoyed exploring each of the six floors. My favorite wasthe 6th, which has sculptures primarily by Dali and Rodin. Having been to the Anthopological Museum a few days before (absolutely amazing, can't recommend it enough!), we did skip some things. Allow a good 2-3 hours. There is nowhere to get food inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san cristobal de las casas, chiapas, mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Among the best museums of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have to be there to admire the spectcular architecture and the beauty ot the exibits. Grupo Carso, has added a new acuarium next to the museum so the adventure in more foun

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Soumaya also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo Soumaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Soumaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.