We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice castlw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapultepec Castle

Chapultepec Castle
Primera Seccion del Bosque de Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
01 (55) 5286 9920
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chapultepec Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 401 things to do in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century palace, known for its impressive gardens, served as the home of the Mexican President until 1939 and now houses the famous Museo Nacional de Historia.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice castlw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Beautiful place. Very touristy. If you are in the area it is definately worth a look. Paintings, murals, nice architecture

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,847
    689
    99
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A worthwhile trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was one of my favorite places in Mexico City. The view from the Castillo is gorgeous The castle itself is amazing. They display the history of the Castillo and offer information about the Mexican-American War. The gardens are breathtaking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I loved this place, great views of the city and beautiful place to see. Its a must see if you are in Mexico City

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Castle was taken by American Marines during the Mexican-American War, and later was lived in by Emperor Maximilian. It's hard to understand how the Marines climbed up the nearly vertical walls of the hill. Now, the entire castle is a combination of museums, called the National Museum of History. It is relatively small in historical areas, but has very good clothes of many eras and portraits over several hundred years. Walking through the Emperor's home was fun, and half a dozen of stained glass were lovely. The view out over the city was wonderful. We found a secret about the hill. I am unable to walk well and use a walker. We knew we had no chance to climb the road up the 220' hill, and the little tram was out of action. We asked a policeman, and he pointed where a sign for disabled was on the entry of a gate just a few feet from where visitors begin their climb. We went in, through a long tunnel and found a modern elevator. That took us to the main area of the Castle on top of the hill. We were admitted by a staff member guarding the Handicap route from non-handicaps.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gardens, Views, History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Take the shuttle up and walk down...If you love history, there's much to see. If you love gardening and flowers, it's heaven. If you want to see the Valley of Mexico, here it is.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapultepec Castle also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chapultepec Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapultepec Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.