We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a "castle" in my mind, but beautiful nonetheless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapultepec Castle

Chapultepec Castle
Primera Seccion del Bosque de Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
01 (55) 5286 9920
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chapultepec Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 401 things to do in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century palace, known for its impressive gardens, served as the home of the Mexican President until 1939 and now houses the famous Museo Nacional de Historia.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not really a "castle" in my mind, but beautiful nonetheless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It doesn't look anything like a traditional castle, but rather a large palace or estate. It was incredibly interesting though! They've done a great job keeping the entire estate up with the garden, and the paintings, and all of the rooms decorated as if it hasn't been touched since the last president that lived there. Lots of history! Very interesting. Really enjoyed it! Would only warn that it's a little bit of a hike to get up the hill and to the castle (there's a little train that can drive up, but not sure how much it costs or how often it leaves - never saw it go up or down when we entered or left).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,846
    686
    99
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Mexican History Housed in a Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A must for visitors who want to view and improve their knowledge of Mexican history. Be sure to read up before visiting if you don't read Spanish. Sunday is free for locals and very busy, so I suggest a visit on another day if you prefer your museum browsing with less hustle and bustle. This museum has improved vastly over the years. However, we were disappointed to find the flag taken from the Alamo is no longer on display (must be politically incorrect).

The view of the city is fantastic from here. Especially in the spring when the Jacaranda trees are blooming. The grounds in and around the castle are a beautifully manicured oasis.

There is no food or water available, nor are you allowed to even take water with you on the steep walk up to the top of the hill.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“History galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

closes at 5pm, to early for us, but fantastic. opens at 8am, it is in a city park, lots of vendors, bathrooms, rest areas, lot of climbing up to the castle, transportation avaliable if needed for climbing up to the castle. lots of activity for children if needed

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A fun adventure for little kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently took our 6 and 4 year old daughters to visit the Chapultepec castle. They loved it! No, we didn't spend hours reading through everything. -- This is one of my favorite Mexico City museums. But we found the place to be a great cultural experience for young kids. The night before we took them I did a little reading up on the story of Emperor Maximillian and Empress Carlota. The next day the girls were excited to go see a real castle where a real emperor and empress (Like a king and queen, we explained), had lived. I shared bits of the story with them, and they loved the carriages, room set-ups, fancy jewelry and beautiful gardens. - Be aware that it is a fairly long walk to and from the castle. Take a taxi and plan plenty of time for little legs to walk and rest. Getting there was part of the adventure!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure México history!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located atop "el cerro del chapulín" (cricket's hill) on Chapultepec Park, it's one of the finest historic buildings in Mexico city. You can walk up the steep hill (about 1 mile) or for about $1US you can take a shuttle that goes up and down all day (it's only one, so it comes every 30-40 minutes). From the balconies of the castle you have great views of the city. There is a section of the living quarters of Maximiliano and Carlota from the Second Mexican Empire (1864-1867). There are lots of art from the times of Mexico's independence (1810-1821) to the early XX century, beautiful murals from Diego Rivera, David Alfaro Siqueiros and others. If you want to completely appreciate the Chapultepec Castle, it will take at least 3 4 hours, so bring confortable shoes and your camera. Entrance is free on sundays and about $5US the rest of the week.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapultepec Castle also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chapultepec Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapultepec Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.