We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Mexico City, rather sleep in the street.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Suites Mexico City

Save Saved
You added Plaza Suites Mexico City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Suites Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Paseo de la Reforma #77, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 282 hotels in Mexico City
Queretaro, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Mexico City, rather sleep in the street.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in Mexico City. When you get there they make you wait up to 5 minutes to let you in the parking lot, NO LOBBY!!! There are only 3 floors that work as a hotel so they say this is for security for suite owners, but after driving for 3 hours and in Mexico´s traffic jams you just want to get out of the car and don´t wait for someone to let you in to your hotel.
We had a wedding so we asked for a cab, they wanted to charge almost 30 dlls for a 1.5 mile trip, I went outside and got a touristic cab that are really safe they work for major hotels in the area and charged me 5 dlls.
EXTREMELY NOISY, you really cant sleep and we were at the top floor, sirens and noise all night long, management says in other trip advisor reviews that this is because they are in reforma one of mexico´s city most transited streets, but I have stayed in many hotels in reforma and never even close as noisy. Pillows are like 25 cm tall, horrible to sleep with, you wake up with a terrible neck ache. Air conditioning is a mini split that hits directly into the bed, super unconfortable.
At checkout they charged me 20 dlls per room for resort fee, I never seen this before in Mexico City, this is not Vegas. And when I told the front desk clerk he told me this is the way suites and good hotels work, looking like I have never stayed at a good hotel or suites before, let me tell you something, never in one as crappy as this one. After they charge you they make currency exchange at rate they want, when I stayed there rate was 12.05 pesos per dollar and they charged me over 13 pesos per dollar. Please check my other reviews and see if I have never stayed at suites or good hotels.
IF YOU WANT A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP AND DONT WANT TO BE TREATED AS YOU NEVER TRAVELLED BEFORE PLEASE GO ELSEWHERE.
Bellboy Jose Luis who took our luggage to my car is the only good thing this hotel has.
When you want to check out they take up to 10 minutes because they go up to the room and check it like you´re some kind of thief.
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Stay in any other hotel if you want a good night sleep, please dont make my mistake and listen to ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza S, Manager at Plaza Suites Mexico City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are really sorry you had such a bad experience with us.
We have 24 hour security, and to let you in you have to ID as a hotel guest given we are a residential and hotel complex, this is for the security of the residents and guests.
Our transportation service is waranteed by us in service, security and we provide luxury cars only to our guests. Taxis on the street are cheaper but we can´t recommend them because we can´t be responsible for our guests.
We have a pillow menu , where we offer different options for our guests, so that they can all have a comfortable night sleep.
Our resort fee includes the wifi, in the room and public areas, parking, and the use of all the amenities and facilities of the hotel.
We thank you for your comments and again apologize for the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
24
25
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huatulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We decided to stay here because we always stay at the hotel right across the street. When we told the manger that, he gave us a free upgrade to a suite which was quite impressive. It was more like an apartment-two bedrooms, two baths, living room, kitchen, dining area. The view was magnificent. I read on the other reviews that people mentioned it was hot because of the wall-to -wall glass. Honestly, we weren't there in the day so I couldn't tell you. It was a bit noisy the first night, but the second was fine. The bed was very comfy, all of the amenities were good. I was impressed with the fact that there was a washer/dryer unit in the suite. The only thing I didn't like were the pillows. They were uncomfortable. We had a rental car so it was very comfortable to be able to park yourself and walk right up to the elevator. This place didn't really seem like a hotel, but more like an luxury apartment building that has been converted to a hotel. There was free breakfast offered in the rate. It was a very simple breakfast served on an outdoor terrace. If the wind is blowing or if it is cold, it is not a comfortable dining experience. The staff was very helpful and brought me a heater next to the table. I could see this being a good option for long stays in DF.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have three young children and just returned from a 3 night vacation in Mexico City. I have regularly traveled to Mexico City for the past decade and previously lived in the city. In our opinion, this is the best option we've seen for families spending multiple nights in the D.F. Yes, it is a pricier option than some. However, we thought it was worth the price. First, our suite was more like an apartment than a hotel room. It included a fully equipped kitchen (toaster, microwave, blender, dishes, pots and pans, etc.) It also came with a washer/dryer. We enjoyed making breakfast and supper in our suite, and found that to be much more enjoyable than taking little kids out to eat for every meal. We also thought that the ability to eat some meals in the suite helped offset the higher price of the place. The kids also enjoyed hanging out at the pool. (The pool was heated and indoors. However, it should be noted that it's a laps pool and does not have a shallow end for kids.) The next time we return to Mexico City, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just came back from a short trip to Mexico City and could not be happier about my stay at Plaza Suites. Great location, great suites, great facilities, perfect service, perfect location. The kitchen is a perfect detail if you prefer a light dinner and a comfortable night after a busy day. Will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel for business travelers who are on the road too much! The service is top-notch, the rooms are all mini-suites with complete kitchens and washer/dryers, and there are hotel-like amenities that include daily maid service, pool, toiletries, and room service.
The majority of this building is full-time residents, but you can slide in as if you own the place by just staying for a few nights on the several floors reserved for hotel guests only. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and you feel like you are "at home" rather than on a business trip!

Room Tip: Even the smnallest rooms are larger than many hotel rooms in the center of Mexico City, so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was by far the worst stay. So bad that I left within a week though I was supposed to stay for 2 months.

Start with the location, in one word NOISY at any time of the day/night.
The front desk staff; extremely unhelpful. Didn't have numbers of local taxis'. Refused to keep them as they expect you to take their taxi service. They keep going back on their commitments. They started with a rate and then slipped in a one time stay fee. They initially said we do not charge to scan and send emails and then said they would charge me. They refused to serve breakfast in the room when the days were so cold that it was difficult to eat it on the terrace. The lady who runs it is the worst service executive. Absolutely zero service understanding, politeness or flexibility The one guy who knew anything about service was Alberto, the guy who served as breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSMEX, Sales Manager at Plaza Suites Mexico City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Shah,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. We are truly sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay at Plaza Suites.

Adressing your above comments, we would like to say that our hotel is located in Paseo de la Reforma, which is one of the most important touristic, financial, comercial and artistic avenues in Mexico City, due to that there can be some noise specially at day time.

Since you first requested your booking we tried to help you with all your needs, and you kept on trying to move our rates down even though you were given a special corporate rate that is agreed with members of your company, that rate includes the resort fee, which we didnt charge you at the end of your stay because you said you were not aware of the charge.

The business center services do have an additional cost , and we even made an exception with your first scanning services, and then let you know that next time it would be charged and never made any charges without you being previously informed.

The breakfast included in your rate is a breakfast a la carte we serve at our terrace which has outdoor heaters, we also have room service for breakfast, with an additional cost.

We really tried to please you even since before your arrival, and we are very sorry we never reached your expectations, we aim to always please our guests and make them feel at home, as you may know given your colleagues stay with us frequently and recommend our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Suites for 3 nights, and it was fantastic. Extremely clean, homely and the beds were incredibly comfortable after a long flight. The service was exceptional. The situation of the hotel is excellent with food & shops closely situated. Our tour guides found the place without any trouble. Highly recommended.

The only negatives would be (1) they put us in the wrong room (we payed for a corner suite and didn't get this) and they offered us a free breakfast in return, but then couldn't accomodate this as we were leaving at 7am the next morning, (2) the daily resort fee is not explained when booking thru a travel agent, and its a bit steep to charge individuals for this when you arrive at 9pm and leave at 7am the next day. This should be looked at on an individual basis.

Room Tip: Double check you get the room you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSMEX, Sales Manager at Plaza Suites Mexico City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

Addressing your two points:

1) Due to an availability problem, we had to give you a Two Bedroom Suite and we sincerely apologize about the inconvenience. We were not informed about your early check out next day and that is why we offered free breakfast for you, however we are willing to compensate this situation on your next visit to Plaza Suites Mexico City, please contact directly travel@plazasuites.com.mx addressing this matter.

2) Plaza Suites charges a Resort Fee per room per stay, it is not individually nor daily, and it includes Wi-fi, parking, use of an ipad during stay, business center, fitness center, pool and spa area.

We truly appreciate your opinion and comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Plaza Suites Mexico City.

Kind regards,

Plaza Suites Mexico City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Suites Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Suites Mexico City

Address: Av. Paseo de la Reforma #77, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Suites Mexico City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Plaza Suites Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Suites Mexico City Hotel Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Suites Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.