We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Suites Mexico City

Save Saved
You added Plaza Suites Mexico City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Plaza Suites Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Paseo de la Reforma #77, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 277 hotels in Mexico City
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just came back from a short trip to Mexico City and could not be happier about my stay at Plaza Suites. Great location, great suites, great facilities, perfect service, perfect location. The kitchen is a perfect detail if you prefer a light dinner and a comfortable night after a busy day. Will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    17
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
19
22
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel for business travelers who are on the road too much! The service is top-notch, the rooms are all mini-suites with complete kitchens and washer/dryers, and there are hotel-like amenities that include daily maid service, pool, toiletries, and room service.
The majority of this building is full-time residents, but you can slide in as if you own the place by just staying for a few nights on the several floors reserved for hotel guests only. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and you feel like you are "at home" rather than on a business trip!

Room Tip: Even the smnallest rooms are larger than many hotel rooms in the center of Mexico City, so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was by far the worst stay. So bad that I left within a week though I was supposed to stay for 2 months.

Start with the location, in one word NOISY at any time of the day/night.
The front desk staff; extremely unhelpful. Didn't have numbers of local taxis'. Refused to keep them as they expect you to take their taxi service. They keep going back on their commitments. They started with a rate and then slipped in a one time stay fee. They initially said we do not charge to scan and send emails and then said they would charge me. They refused to serve breakfast in the room when the days were so cold that it was difficult to eat it on the terrace. The lady who runs it is the worst service executive. Absolutely zero service understanding, politeness or flexibility The one guy who knew anything about service was Alberto, the guy who served as breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSMEX, Sales Manager at Plaza Suites Mexico City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Shah,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. We are truly sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay at Plaza Suites.

Adressing your above comments, we would like to say that our hotel is located in Paseo de la Reforma, which is one of the most important touristic, financial, comercial and artistic avenues in Mexico City, due to that there can be some noise specially at day time.

Since you first requested your booking we tried to help you with all your needs, and you kept on trying to move our rates down even though you were given a special corporate rate that is agreed with members of your company, that rate includes the resort fee, which we didnt charge you at the end of your stay because you said you were not aware of the charge.

The business center services do have an additional cost , and we even made an exception with your first scanning services, and then let you know that next time it would be charged and never made any charges without you being previously informed.

The breakfast included in your rate is a breakfast a la carte we serve at our terrace which has outdoor heaters, we also have room service for breakfast, with an additional cost.

We really tried to please you even since before your arrival, and we are very sorry we never reached your expectations, we aim to always please our guests and make them feel at home, as you may know given your colleagues stay with us frequently and recommend our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Suites for 3 nights, and it was fantastic. Extremely clean, homely and the beds were incredibly comfortable after a long flight. The service was exceptional. The situation of the hotel is excellent with food & shops closely situated. Our tour guides found the place without any trouble. Highly recommended.

The only negatives would be (1) they put us in the wrong room (we payed for a corner suite and didn't get this) and they offered us a free breakfast in return, but then couldn't accomodate this as we were leaving at 7am the next morning, (2) the daily resort fee is not explained when booking thru a travel agent, and its a bit steep to charge individuals for this when you arrive at 9pm and leave at 7am the next day. This should be looked at on an individual basis.

Room Tip: Double check you get the room you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSMEX, Sales Manager at Plaza Suites Mexico City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

Addressing your two points:

1) Due to an availability problem, we had to give you a Two Bedroom Suite and we sincerely apologize about the inconvenience. We were not informed about your early check out next day and that is why we offered free breakfast for you, however we are willing to compensate this situation on your next visit to Plaza Suites Mexico City, please contact directly travel@plazasuites.com.mx addressing this matter.

2) Plaza Suites charges a Resort Fee per room per stay, it is not individually nor daily, and it includes Wi-fi, parking, use of an ipad during stay, business center, fitness center, pool and spa area.

We truly appreciate your opinion and comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Plaza Suites Mexico City.

Kind regards,

Plaza Suites Mexico City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Looking for a great value with service and luxury? You found it. I went here for work and found that there are many hidden treasures in the city and this is one of them. We were excited by the staff and did appreciate the not so stuffy teams.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the suite. The rooms are bigger and more to offer, Spend the extra for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my family stayed here for 10 days in January visiting Mexico, let me tell you that we would not stay at any other hotel but the Plaza Suites. The hotel is situated on Reforma Avenue not that far from the historic district and zona rosa(which is a big tourist area). The building the hotel is in is mostly condos but the hotel occupies 4 floors p1 p2(which is the 13th floor) p3 and the lobby. The main entrance to the hotel is behind reforma on a side street where there are two security desks with elevators which the one that faces a security booth is where you want to go to get to the lobby.
We stayed in room E213 which is a corner room with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a good size kitchen with a stove and oven and a full size refrigerator and freezer, dining room table and living room. Don't worry about not having pots and pans and plates since all is provided for you, and they provide dish soap and sponge to clean the dishes. The staff is great and will bend over backwards for you, ex. we did not have pot holders for baking so my dad motioned this to the staff and by the time we got back to the room they had gone out and bought pot holders for us.
The room itself is great with plenty of space and amazing views, but there is a down side. 1. Only the bedrooms have ac. 2. Because the room is on a corner and it has so many windows when the sun rises the room tends to heat up very fast so you need to open the windows yo catch a breeze to cool of the room. 3. the hotel is green so everything is energy efficient so to turn on the lights you need to put your room key in a slot next to the door to turn on the power. 4. The washing machine also doubles as a dryer so it takes some time to dry your clothes depending on how many clothes you have.
On the plus side there are many good things about the hotel. 1. It is in a great location with many restaurant near by and a money exchange place just around the corner. 2. When you check in you are given a i pad to use during your stay. 3. The hotel is kid friendly with a play room and a pool. 4. The hotel is very safe with 24 hour security. 5. If you are driving a car or if you want to have family come over for a visit the hotel provides each room with 2 parking spots in the garage which is a huge luxury for any hotel in Mexico City. 6. The staff is very friendly and willing to do anything to improve your stay.

In closing I would like to say that we really enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Suites and we can say that there is no better place to stay in Mexico City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I loved this place. It was excellent all around. I have zero complaints. The suites themselves are the equivalent of a luxury apartment back in the U.S. My one king-bed suite had a full kitchen, two bathrooms, two flatscreen TVs, dining table, bar, washing machine, free wireless and access to every amenity in the building. They pre-stock the room with snacks, liquor and other beverages for a fee if you wish to indulge. There is also room service from 1pm-11pm with a nice menu. I had breakfast at the on-site restaurant my last morning there and the food was great.

It's located on a busy street so expect to hear the typical traffic noises you would in Chicago or NYC during the day, but at night after rush-hour the noise basically disappears. There are a number of things to do/eat within walking distance and getting a cab at any hour of the day/night is not a problem. The front desk and staff is bi-lingual and will do anything they can to make your stay a good one. They also arranged a private car airport pick-up and drop-off for an additional fee which I would recommend if you're arriving/leaving really late at night.

I will continue to stay here as long as I continue to come back to Mexico City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Suites Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Suites Mexico City

Also Known As:
Plaza Suites Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Plaza Suites Mexico City Hotel
Plaza Suites Mexico City
Address: Av. Paseo de la Reforma #77, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Suites Mexico City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Plaza Suites Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Suites Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.