We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merotoro

Merotoro
204 Amsterdam Ave. | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico
55647799
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merotoro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 2,213 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Merotoro is one block from Parque Mexico in Colonia Condesa.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Incredible food, awesome decor and location. Service is impecable and prices are very fair/reasonable. Go there when in condesa!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Inventive Mexican cuisine in Condessa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Make sure you visit this restaurant on your visit to DF. Great food & service. The chef Jair Tellez has created a fabulous menu: tasty tapas style seafood & meat dishes can provide a satisfying meal. At the more expensive end of the menu he focuses on fine Wagyu beef & fish such as delicately cooked grouper. The restaurant space is well designed with ample space between tables & average noise level.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, not so good for a vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is supposedly one of the top restaurants in the city, they have like this great chef, and this great menu. I think the hog is one of the main options. I think, because I don't eat meat. So, i had this pasta, wich I had to ask to modify, because it included bacon, and it was good but not mindblowing as I was expecting. The price is high and get in here can be quite messy, make a reservation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Baja en DF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I ate here with a friend on a Tuesday night, a 9pm reservation. By the time we left at midnight, the place was still packed. If you are dining late, a reservation is a must. My first impression – the wood, the industrial beams, and the Edison bulbs, reminded me of Izote, a favorite DF restaurant of mine.
The food was excellent although my dining companion felt his Margarita was too sweet. During cena, we shared a nice bottle of Spanish wine, chosen from a decent wine list. I enjoyed the light broth soup with fish balls and the mero, which was arrived lightly roasted and creamy and served on puréed cauliflower with potatoes and chard. I wish I could recall the other dishes in our meal (I vaguely remember octopus and clams) but it was all very good. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“The who's who of Mexico eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Came here on a Thursday night around 8:30 and it was half full, but by 9pm it was buzzing. I liked the seafood heavy menu for the most part, but the drinks were so-so (they kept making my martini wrong and had only a handful of wines by the glass) the but the real treat for me was sitting between a table with 2 members of a Mexican rock group on one side and the heir of one of Mexico’s wealthiest business men on the other with no paparazzi in sight.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merotoro also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Merotoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merotoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.