We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed traveler” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cuba

Hotel Cuba
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cuba to your Saves list
Hotel Cuba
Republica de Cuba No. 69 | Col. Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06010, Mexico (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed traveler”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Over the past several years, I have stayed at Hotel Cuba many times (and usually for three weeks at a time). Until the last several trips I had been very happy with the hotel, but the last two trips I had bad experiences.
In April I was forced to move to another room for one night at great inconvience to me. I had unpacked everything and was settled in for 3 weeks, I thought. Apparently management wanted my room for a group or large family and they gave me NO CHOICE.
This last trip was even worse.. I had made reservations three weeks in advance and requested that I would like one of the three rooms that I prefer. I recieved an e-mail saying reservation confirmed.. When I arrived I was told that the room(s)were not available and I was given a room with a double bed (the room I requested had a king size bed) and was an inside room with very poor ventilation.
I am sorry that the management apparently does not value good repeat customers..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

best quality,lower price in tips and guideliner,clean beach,clean rooms

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocosingo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Cuba after a few VERY noisy nights in Hotel Republica just down the street. For only 250 pesos/night, I got a clean room, hardwood floors, a TV and a pretty nice bathroom. I don't know if they've changed their prices since but I later stayed with American friends in "nicer" hotels for $100/night and found them to be on par with Hotel Cuba.

The only problem I had was the noise. The hallways seem to amplify noise and they make random announcements to employees throughout the day. Very annoying, but still well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

It is not our first visit in Mexico DF. We spent many night at different hotels and this one disappoint us a lot. It looks fine when you visit but we had some surprised. If you choose a room on the street, you don't sleep because of the noise from this street. If you choose a room insight you stay awake until the last guest shutdown his TV (which was, for us, around midnight) and you are awake at 5 o'clock by the screemings coming from theese guests (most of them were Mexicain and didn't mind about noise) or the interior garage of the hotel. We wanted to stay there 2 weeks... we ran out after one night! We could not have hot water event if we asked for it many times. They did not supply hangers and the safe deposit in the room was out of service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuba

Address: Republica de Cuba No. 69 | Col. Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cuba Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.