We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil place to stay in Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City to your Saves list
El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Joaquin Garcia Icazbalceta 77 | San Rafael District, Mexico City, Mexico City 06470, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 90 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A tranquil place to stay in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at El Patio 77. Yes, it is difficult for taxi drivers to find but the map provided in advance of our stay saved the day. From the moment you pass through the enormous door, you know you are somewhere special. It is a really beautiful, old building which is tastefully decorated and the aesthetic immediately puts you at ease. The staff were hospitable and attentive, providing all the information we needed for a first visit to the city. We stayed in one of the rooms with a shared bathroom - Guerrero - and this was absolutely fine. It is a very comfortable room and it was lovely to be able to open the shutters and let in the fresh air. The breakfasts were delicious and we looked forward to tasting the different Mexican hot dish each morning, as well as the fresh fruit and juice. El Patio 77 is very well located - we mostly walked into the city centre but also used the train which is nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegomexicocity, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to make our guests feel at home and do everything we can to make their stay enjoyable. Feedback like the one you provided motivates us to keep providing a unique experience for each and everyone of our guests. It is great to know that the daily breakfasts were of your liking and that you were able to easily navigate the city. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Regards,
El Patio 77 staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    43
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
152
61
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

For those whom are up-tight, judgmental and over needy please do not stay at this sublime trendsetting urban establishment. The LP77 is the spot in the DF which I was lucky enough to find, stay and leave replenished and one’s soul rejuvenated. There are plenty of great reviews about how sublime this joint is and they are right on the mark! This was an exquisite experience from the minute you jump out of Uber; push open the cast iron gate till you fall asleep with breeze in a grand suite. Diego, Pedro and the crew treated me professionally yet welcoming; helpful yet discrete, informative yet edited – qualities you find at 5 Star hotels at ten times the cost. The Oaxaca Suite is truly my top pick with the décor & balcony looking over the everyday of the city. In my opinion, this hotel is what all hotels try to be but never hit that sweet spot. I will be back to the LP77 as they started a romance with this wonderful city that has left me wanting more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegomexicocity, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for such a great, descriptive review. We are honored to receive such positive feedback from our guests, as it motivates to keep doing what we do. It is good fortune that you chose to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon here at El Patio 77 on your next trip to our amazing city, Mexico City.
Regards,
El Patio 77 staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a great hotel, service, breakfast....

Let's start with the location.
The area doesn't look very appealing, but it's a 10-minute walk to the metro station, it is safe, and centrally located.

The service.... a 10! It is amazing to find a place where everybody seems to give 100%. They were extremely helpful, and you felt they did it from their heart. Everybody... The people who worked at the office, the ladies who cooked, cleaned and served us. That is the reason I will go back! There are always many hotel options, especially in big cities, but service of this kind is hard to find. Exceptional.

The hotel is eco friendly, and they ask to use their special soap and shampoo. I had the option of using mine, but I didn't. Theirs was very good.
The shared bathroom was beautiful and clean.

The room was very spacious, they had a safe, enough closet space, a comfortable bed, and they brought water everyday,
I loved that the windows could be completely closed so the sun would not wake me up.

Breakfast was different every day. I looked forward to the fruit plate and the fresh orange juice every morning!

I could go on and on about the service. Wow! You need to go and experience it yourself :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegomexicocity, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for a great, thorough review. We are glad we surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. As you point out, we are an eco-friendly establishment (the first of its kind in Mexico City), and we serve fresh breakfast daily. Also, the whole staff appreciates your kind comments about the service we provide. Our location is not in a popular tourist neighborhood, however, it is very close to the main attractions of the city either by foot or by metro (a station only 3 blocks away), but most of all it is quite safe too. We just wish your overall rating could have been five stars to reflect what you wrote in such detail. We look forward to having you back soon.

Regards,

El Patio 77 staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I found el Patio 77 while searching for a gay-friendly hotel in Mexico City. Though a bit pricier than other venues, it was well worth staying there.

I had originally requested a room on the inside of the building because I need quiet in order to sleep. I was given a large, spacious room. Diego, one of the owners, told me that he was giving me one on the outside of the building, but if it were at all noisy, he would move me. With two sets of double paned windows, the room was as quiet as I could wish.

The hotel is located about five minutes away from the San Cosme Metro station, on the blue metro line, giving guests easy access to all of the main tourist spots. It's also about a 20 minute walk from the Zona Rosa. The neighborhood feels perfectly safe, even later at night,

I found all of the main hotel staff to be fluently multi-lingual and extremely helpful in all matters. I felt extremely well taken care of.

Breakfast every day consisted of fruit, yogurt, coffee, orange juice (fresh squeezed!) and some sort of Mexican breakfast item. Absolutely delicious!

I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegomexicocity, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ben,

Thank your for your great review. Here at El patio 77, we strive to exceed our guests' expectations in every regard, so it is nice to know that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are indeed located in a very safe neighborhood close to the main tourist attractions of Mexico City, and also close to the subway. We also want our guests to try some traditional Mexican breakfast items so we change those daily; it is great to hear that they were of your liking.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you soon in Mexico City!

Regards,

El Patio 77 Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed there for four nights, the room was clean, the staff spoke english, were incredibly helpful, and it was quiet, safe and a perfect place to lay my head. I would recommend this to everyone who would listen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Gerente at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to assist you. We hope to welcome you back here at El Patio 77 soon.

Regards,

El Patio 77 staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This place is simply perfect. Clean, friendly, comfortable, nicely decorated, eco friendly and the staff was really kind to us.

Although it is not super well located, the area is quiet and safe. Perfect for couples who enjoy small details and a good attention.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello,

We at El patio 77 want to thank you for your kind review, this help us to grow and to keep offering our guests a quiet and off the charts experience.

Although we are not located at the main touristic area we are extremely well located in order to get to any point of interest in the city.

One more time let me thank you for your comment and we look forward to see you again soon.

Tayron & El patio 77 staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you are exhausted of being at hotels where everything is branded-set and the service and rooms are the same, you must come here! The house is an authentic piece of the area, the rooms are extremely well decorated and conceptualised with the mexican topic, the ecological tips and services are great but mostly the staff, Diego and Alan are the best hostess, they will let you know what to do nearby or in the city if you are staying a short or long period of time. I strongly recommend it: it's cheap, comfortable and authentic.

Room Tip: All rooms are different for each traveller, its best to go to the webpage and take a look of them. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello,

We at El Patio 77 are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do appreciate your nice comments about the decoration an the ecological concept that we have, this means that we are on the right path.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again soo.

Tayron & El patio 77 staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City

Address: Joaquin Garcia Icazbalceta 77 | San Rafael District, Mexico City, Mexico City 06470, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El patio 77 is the first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City and the best boutique B&B in the center part of the city. More than a hotel, come and enjoy our house of the XIX Century with only 8 unique suites and a great service in the middle of this great city. San Rafael is a safe and central neighborhood near from the city center, roma, condesa and Polanco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio 77, First Eco-Friendly B&B In Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.