We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least it's not a chain, like the Chili's across the street from it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Londres 130 Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 294 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“At least it's not a chain, like the Chili's across the street from it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Upon checking in one is immediately struck by the decor that is perhaps best described as early 20th-century European opulence. Depending on your politics, that may be a selling point.

The first room I was given was on the 4th floor in a corner, and offered views of the piping, air conditioners, and dirty roofs. The second room I was given was on the 2nd floor directly above the Sanborns restaurant, so it was intolerably loud. The third room I was given was back on the 4th floor and it was quiet, but had almost no view. It also had a door that could open into the next room if both doors were unlocked; I could hear those guests when they were on the phone or had kids playing. Even so, I remained in this room, accepting that no room in this hotel is a "good" room. I recommend you ask to see the room you are offered before you get the key and a bellhop brings up your luggage.

Don't expect the rooms in any way to resemble the lobby. Rooms are fairly corporate in their furnishings and decor; in my mind, they're indistinguishable from a 15 year old Sheraton.

The hotel has a small work-out area. It has men's and women's saunas and steam rooms. It felt wonderful to sweat out the pollutants I'd breathed in all week.

I had one drink on the Phone Bar, a White Russian. Although Kahlua is a famous Mexican alcohol, and it was clearly sitting on the shelf, the bartender made the White Russian with a bottom-shelf coffee liqueur. I thought this was poor form for a hotel that prides itself on tradition and excellent service.

I'd stay here again if I had to be in the Zona Rosa and a room costs less than $85/night. Otherwise, I'd try a hotel with a rooftop pool that can offer views of the city. Or simply stay in the Centro Histórico.

In the end, the Hotel Geneve just seemed like a dowager with far too much makeup.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room you are offered before you accept it. Listen for noise and make sure you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleaseant as your expectations, be sure that your comments are very much appreciated

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    185
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
67
116
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I chose the hotel for the location in the Zona Rosa, but I was surprised and impressed with everything about it. The staff were very helpful, the room were spacious and quiet, and the hotel interior is quite spectacular. The hotel is larger than it appears, but it still feels like a small hotel, and you get very personalized attention. I got the room for half price on hotels.com. One of the best deals ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we appreciate that you choose the Hotel Geneve for your stay, we hope to serve you again

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sure wish I could've stayed here, after walking through the public areas and talking to the wonderful concierge. The hotel is just beautiful, with fascinating historic displays. Like a museum in itself! As upscale as it is, I felt totally welcome to browse around. Gorgeous fresh flower arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Yhank you very much for your comments, our goal is to meet our guest expectations, we hope to serve you again in a near future

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
czm mx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Recently spent four nights in Hotel Geneve in the Zona Rosa area of Mexico City. Wonderful staff, hotel lobby is like a mini museum detailing the history of this historic landmark place. Details all the different famous people who 'slept' here, rooms nicely appointed, comfortable beds, friendly and professional staff, delicious buffet breakfast, and in a great location. Really enjoyed time here and would not hesitate to return. Felt like I was back in a grand hotel at the time of the century in their elegant lobby, the phone lobby bar is in itself a mini museum to the invention of the telephone. There is even a phone that has the President of Mexico at time of the opening of this hotel ( 1907) talking about Thomas A. Edison and his great invention! Location is in the heart of Zona Rosa, lots of restaurants and shops near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we care about our guests

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful building, with spectacular lobby and bar. Service is top notch with very professional and helpful staff. We asked for a room at the back and got one. Also we were given a late checkout which was much appreciated. We got a good rate from the hotel website with Trip Advisor discount code which included buffet breakfast in a lovely garden room with foliage on the walls and songbirds in cages.

The hotel is in an area aimed at tourists- there is a mini-mall across the street with Starbucks and fast food. There are a lot of bars/clubs in the area but not many good restaurants nevertheless the location is good for seeing Mexico city. Metro is just around the corner and Reforma is less than 10 minutes walk along a pleasant pedestrianised street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we look forward to see you again

sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had never been to Mexico City before, so we were looking for somewhere that was nice, safe, and in a good location. Hotel Geneve absolutely fit the bill. We found a fantastic deal via Mexvax, which was a Tripadvisor partner site until recently. Upon arrival, we were pretty much blown away by how elegant the hotel was. It is an older establishment and it shows in some areas, like the hallways, but it's incredibly classy overall. We try hard but our Spanish sucks so it was nice to have a front desk that speaks English. Rooms were very well-equipped with really comfortable beds, hangers, a hair dryer for the ladies, and toilets that are able to handle TP. We did not find noise to be a problem at all; once the AC was cranked up, we couldn't hear anything outside except for a trumpet from the nearby government building each evening at roughly 6:15 p.m., and we enjoyed this nightly performance. Free WiFi is advertised as available in the lobby, but I had full WiFi reception throughout the property, including our fourth floor room.

The surrounding neighborhood was also pretty great, full of food and drink options (and certainly no shortage of sex shops if you are so inclined). There's also an Extra market and a Circle K on the same block for your supplies. If you're headed further afield, taxis are always available out front, and Insurgentes Metro station is a five-minute walk. We stumbled all over this neighborhood at all hours and safety never struck us as a concern.

Overall, you get a whole lot at Hotel Geneve for what you pay. I would most definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments we are pleased that you find out a hotel that succeed your expetations, we hope to see you again

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Geneve in the Zona Rosa on two occasions and am going back in June. The service is impeccable and the staff very helpful and accommodating. The hotel itself is elegant, with a beautiful lobby and bar. The location can't be beat for easy access to the sights. The metro is just a few blocks away. I highly recommend the hotel in all respects..

Room Tip: Request a room in the old section, overlooking Calle Londres, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment, as you wrote we will be waiting for your next visit, if you please call me at (52)55-50-800-601 in México or send me an e-mail to lfbarrera@ostar.com.mx so I can take your reservation, the first letter on the e-mail is l as in luis, or you can try ssantos@ostar.com.mx
thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Londres 130 Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#26 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#55 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.