We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good hotel in Zona Rosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Londres 130 Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Calinda Geneve Mexico City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Good hotel in Zona Rosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed her for three nights and had a great experience. The rooms are generous and nicely done in a classical fashion The service was excellent and the restaurant good.

The hotel offers promotions which are a great deal. The present promotion includes up to 4 family members. This includes room, American breakfast, 220 Peso daily credit and transfers and tour of the new Soumaya Museum. The price was about what I expeced to pay for a room alone.

For a great Zona Rosa stay look at the Geneve.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    140
    46
    12
    11
See reviews for
52
83
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

In the middle of the "Pink Zone" is located this classic hotel (it does not mean old), rooms are very comfortable, there is a famous Karaoke bar, across the street, besides diversion, you can visit the close museums, as the Wax and some other . Also if you want a hair cut, in the same street, you can visit a one of the most famous stylist in Mexico. The night has several options around the zone, it is not necessary to talk about it, because it is plenty of night clubs. As a complement they account with certificate tourist guides, who can transport you to whatever place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Loved the Geneve and would definitely stay here again. She's a bit of a faded lady, but for me that was the charm. The rooms were average but clean, and the beds were *very* comfortable. The staff was always professional and welcoming, from the front desk, to the bellhops, to the extremely helpful concierge.

The location in Zona Rosa is perfect. Lots of shops and decent restaurants (the taqueria across the street has great pastor tacos, by the way). Plenty of subway stops nearby that can get you anywhere.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better to avoid street noise. I'm told that corner rooms that end in 26 (326...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

The lobby and common places are incredible, full of history and souvenirs that give this hotel amazing character.

Rooms are quite average (at least ours in the 5th floor), may not be the cleanest (got to chase down a small cockroach in the toilet).

Stay for the ambiance, don't mind the rooms too much.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We spent a night here and wished it was a lot more. A great location and even thoiught it was surrouded by night-life the room we stayed in was quiet and afforded a great nights sleep - we were facing the back not the street so i think that makes all the difference. Would highly recommend it, particularly if you want to stay in a hotel with history and style.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I recently won a trip to Mexico City which included a four night stay in the Hotel Geneve. I was blown away by the elegance of the hotel along with the history contained within! I had reservations on traveling to Mexico due to the negative comments of friends and family about the safety of the country. I never felt afraid during my stay. The staff of the Hotel Geneve were always available for questions or to give their opinions of sightseeing. The hotel was very clean and our room was cleaned & straightened every day. I hope to visit Mexico City again and when I do, I will definitely stay at the Hotel Geneve!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor & noticed no outside noise or disturbance. However, friends stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I'd been in Mexico a lot of times. All of them i'd stayed in Zona Rosa's Hotels.
This was my first time in Hotel Geneve. It has an awesome lobby, awesome decoration, rather good staff service. It's well located, with a small shopping center right across the street (Plaza La Rosa), were you can find restaurants, sport shops, clothing stores, telephone stores...
On the down side, this hotel, is really old, however is carefully preserved. I stayed there for 3 nights, on the first floor, right next to the elevator. During that 3 days period i killed at least a dozen cockroaches, small ones. They where in the bathroom, in the closet, on the chairs, EVERYWHERE, except for the bed, luckily. I report this to the front desk, they told me they where going to send someone immediately, but that never happened.
The walls are really thin, in the middle of the night you could hear people like if they where right next to you in the same room.
It is a romantic hotel, it's a rather particular experience to be in a hotel with this kind of history, but they really need to control this problem with the roaches.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper floors, on the hall of the elevator. Rooms right above the lobby will poi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Londres 130 Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Calinda Geneve Mexico City)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#53 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.