We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Gonzalez is a very good hotel in the heart of D.F” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN100 on select meals
Ranked #21 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Casa Gonzalez is a very good hotel in the heart of D.F”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

my friend and i stayed at Casa Gonzalez recently for 4 nights and both enjoyed it very much. we had a room with two twin beds (granted, a little on the squishy side, but not at all unmanageable), a nice clean bathroom, lots of light (and good curtains for when we needed total darkness), daily room cleaning service and much more all for a mere $60 a night. this is a tremendous bargain considering the hotel's great location on a quiet side street near the U.S. Embassy (just in case) and walking distance to the Zona Rosa, Reforma, Insurgentes Metro Station and other culturally and socially significant areas of DF.
the staff were all super friendly, the gardens with fruit trees were GORGEOUS and the overall atmosphere was very pleasant and tranquil. normally in budget hotels i tend to spend very little time "hanging out" at the hotel due to a lack of atmosphere, but the charming hacienda style hotel's common areas were so inviting at Casa Gonzalez, i had no qualms whatsoever about taking my book or iPod outside with a cup of tea and hanging out there for a couple of hours.
the room we had was basic yet comfortable. in my opinion Casa Gonzalez has everything a traveller could want: Good Strong Coffee in the morning, snacks and bottled water for purchase, breakfast area, Internet ($4 per hour), book exchange and lots of space to kick back in, hot showers(!) with decent pressure and great location.
i would DEFINITELY stay here again, in fact i look forward to it in the future, and would recommend Casa Gonzalez to anyone looking for a typically authentic Mexican hacienda style hotel with affordable rates in the heart of DF.


  • Liked — Price, location, size and style of hotel
  • Disliked — Echo of voices at night in the main hall
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    157
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
142
57
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
growlycar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Gonzalez. The staff are very informative and usually quite helpful. it was a great place to stay with our toddler who could play in the courtyard while we relaxed. The breakfasts were delicious. Make sure you get the chilaquiles!

  • Liked — the courtyard
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed four nights recently. There are some definite pluses to staying here. It has a "homey" feel, which is not surprising since the Gonzalez family still lives there. The room are small but clean, with original art (portraits) on the walls, and the hallways are nicely decorated, too. Breakfast is served in a very pleasant room, with more portraits and stained glass windows, and is very reasonably priced. The location is very good: close to the Zona Rosa and Chapultepec Park, and within a long walk of the center and the Condesa and Polanco neighborhoods. It is on a quiet side street, so the traffic noise is not an issue. All of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. And, finally, the price is right: staying in the center of a major world capital for $50 USD/night.

The minuses? Only two, but they're kind of important. First, the plumbing was atrocious. Water came out of the shower and sink pretty much as a trickle. And it would alternate, inexplicably, between scalding and frigid. "Warm" was an ephemeral state when taking a shower, that's for sure. The second minus was my wife and I found the bed (a double) was just plain uncomfortable, with the result being that we did not sleep all that well. And it didn't get better as our stay progressed and we were more accustomed to it. It just wasn't a comfortable bed.

Since I feel that the bed and the shower are important attributes to a room, I'm not certain I would stay here again. The pluses very much exist, but the minuses make me wonder.

  • Liked — The "homey' feel
  • Disliked — The plumbing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I spent 2 nights in Mexico City at Casa Gonzalez in April 2007 and was quite pleased with my choice of hotel. The other guests were a pleasant bunch and I enjoyed the mix of languages I heard spoken at breakfast and in the courtyard.

Jorge (the manager) went out of his way to ensure that I had a pleasant stay. I arrived at the hotel extremely early in the day (I had a red-eye flight into Mexico) but he made sure that a room was available. He answered all of my questions and made many recommendations suitable for a solo female traveller.

The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the pillows fluffy, and the bathroom clean. I thought that the towels were on the thin side but there were plenty of them. I had lots of hot water and there was a pleasant reminder to conserve water posted near the tub. I had packed extras but hangers were already hanging in the closet.

Food at the restaurant was tasty and you can get a good espresso in the cafetería. You can surf the Web for a small fee and there is a collection of used guidebooks in case you need/want another opinion.

Not all of the staff speaks English but they were patient and tolerant of my attempts at Spanish. The property is located on a relatively quiet side street and I always felt safe walking around. There is a good French restaurant and a mini-market nearby.

I will definitely stay at Casa Gonzalez on any future trips to Mexico City.

  • Liked — The ambiance and location were the hotel's best features (can't beat the price either!)
  • Disliked — The towels, though clean, were small and thin.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Casa Gonzalez is nice and friendly, but for the price, one should not have to worry about getting a hot shower. I stayed 2 nights, took 4 showers, all were freezing cold. The family is obviously trying to save money on gas costs, but still, it's a small place and this shouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

Casa Gonzalez is not for everyone. By North American standards it is not a luxurious place. There are minimal amenities, like no TV in the room, no AC, and plain motel soap. But it is exactly what we wanted in Mexico City, a quiet, personal, very comfortable, centrally located place with lots of personality. About 5 blocks N of the Insurgentes subway station, we were able to go EVERYWHERE by safe, clean, and incredibly efficient public transportation, at 20 pesos a throw. Rio Sena is a quiet tree lined street and Casa Gonzalez is directly across from the British Embassy. Lots of places to eat nearby at every conceivable price range, a traditional Mexican market right around the corner, and a convenient taxi stand right outside. The rooms are part of several mansions built in the 20s(?). One of them (facing Rio Lerma) still has the architect's imprimateur. There are lots of outdoor courtyard spaces, paintings, artisanal work, plantings, fresh flowers, and interesting architectural details galore. Good coffee and internet open insanely early on the premises. Meals are said to be great though we didn't try them. Not just a mature crowd. A couple of nights we had to stick our heads out the window and ask people to tone it down. Room prices are posted right in the room which is a big plus. No surprises at check out. We booked through lonely planet and got a response from them, as well as a personal note from Jorge, the owner of Casa Gonzalea, within a day. As we walked around Mexico City over a week's time we looked at all the alternatives, and the Casa is definitely the best choice for accommodation!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

My mother use to stay with this family as a young girl. We took a family trip to Mexico City in 2004. She wanted to share her experience with us. Jorge and his family welcomed us into their home & shared their Christmas dinner with us. I recently lost my mother, but I will always have the memory of sharing that wonderful place with her.

Stayed December 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.