We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service amid a quiet retreat in the Zona Rosa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN100 on select meals
Ranked #19 of 294 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service amid a quiet retreat in the Zona Rosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The buildings and gardens are lovely and the staff uniformly helpful. The location is excellent, being two blocks from the Reforma and 5 blocks from Insurgentes subway station. The rooms are comfortable, however, the beds are quite firm bordering on hard. Breakfast, while not included, is reasonable and good.

Room Tip: We were in a quiet room off the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    158
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
144
58
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We couldn't be happier with our stay at Hotel Casa Gonzales where we appreciated the great location, excellent staff and service. We walked to many of the Mexico City highlights from this hotel. Our room was very large and comfortable and the breakfast each morning superb. Our only small comment would be that the bathroom was a little dated, but it was clean and functional. The staff were full of helpful hints and we had a bouquet of roses waiting for us on our arrival as we had let them know we were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary in coming to Mexico City. A very nice touch that was much appreciated. All in all a first class experience and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.

The room you had was my parents bedroom, we will be remodelling the bath room soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with very helpful staff. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and good food. The hotel is located within walking distance from many of the places we wanted to visit and the subway. It has very good value for the rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed three nights in a twin bed room (# 105) facing the courtyard. We requested a quiet room as some of the room face a road. The room was as quiet as can be expected being located in the middle of a big city.

Pros:
- Location; very close to everything. 5-10 minute walk to the nearest subway station. Neighborhood feels quite safe. Perhaps it doesn't hurt that the US embassy is just one block away.
- Staff is very nice, smiling and helpful.
- The hotel is very cozy with the courtyard, small fountain and pretty plants. We had a small terrace with two chairs in front of our room; very nice. An oasis in the middle of the city.
-

Cons:
- Wifi - wont necessarily hold it against the hotel as bandwidth seems to be an issue in Mexico. At least it was at all the hotel we stayed at.

Comments/Suggestions:
I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The rooms are quite basic and perhaps the addition of a fridge would be nice. Breakfast is pretty good considering it's included. But a little more than just the marmalade to go with the bread would be nice. And maybe some toast an yoghurt would be nice also. You get the hostel feel by sitting with the other guests.

Tip: The hotel does not have a sign and even with a business card some cab drivers have difficulty finding the hotel. In that case just tell them to take you to Marriot (150 m) or the US embassy (100 m).

Room Tip: 105 is a nice and quiet twin bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your most kind and detailed review.

I would like to not that breakfast was included because you mentioned a promotion and reserved directly with us. It is usually not included.
Sometime we have guests that use a very large bandwidth when connecting to the WiFi and the service to the rest of the users is not that good.
I do want to mention that in the last year we replaced most of our WiFi equipment got an optic fiber connection. We will keep on working on the system until it preforms better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and happily called taxis for us when we wanted. Breakfast wasn't included but it was cheap anyway and it was In a lovely little dining room and the service was quick which was great as we had limited time. We really enjoyed the stay. Only thing was that the double bed was a little small for the 2 of us but were both quite tall, and again the toilet space area was a little small, but the rooms were neat and clean with large balcony and has a real homely atmosphere. Would def stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe if your taller/bigger let them know as they might have bigger beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.

Some of our rooms do have a bed size that I think only exists in Mexico, it's "matrimonial" and it is slightly smaller than a queen. We are in the process of changing these beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I spent one night there in May and I must say I was so impressed with this hotel. There is no fuss about it. My Dad and I stayed in two consecutive rooms with a private balcony. Rooms were airy, fresh, light, clean and big. Despite the fact it is in a very busy area of Mexico city, the hotel is very quiet and full of plants, which makes you feel relaxed as soon as you walk in. Price is very good $700 MXN for a single room, staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter than those overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ota, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Only three days here,but it was very pleasant.Freshly painted and lovely garden in heart of city but not noisy.When I booked they said breakfast was included but when I received confirmation it said no meals.But they do have a very nice dining room where a good breakfast can be had and other meals.Very professionally run with pleasant,some English speaking staff.Would stay again if I needed to be in the city.

Room Tip: Sorry no pool or fitness center,maybe upstairs rooms are better.In regards noise,but it wasn't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review!

If when you reserved we offered breakfasts, we will honor that. We will issue a full refund for all your breakfasts.
At this moment we offer a limited time offer and it includes breakfast, but it only applies if you reserve directly with the hotel, by phone, e-mail or our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#22 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.