We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save MXN100 on select meals
Ranked #23 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A happy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

When we arrived by taxi we looked up at a building with doors opening onto a balcony and thought 'that's nice!'. And when the welcoming receptionist led us through the patios, passed the rambling buildings and up some stairs we realised that we had the same room opening onto the balcony overlooking the quiet treelined street. The first morning we met Bill and Billy from Winnipeg at breakfast and that set the pattern for chatty breakfasts hereon. We had great conversations with the predominantly North American guests - very friendly, informed and interested people. We walked or caught the metro nearby to everything we wanted to do. We had eight days in MDF and this was a perfect place to return to from adverntures and relax. And if you are a quiet, shy type, don't worry about he sociability - there is lots of space to keep to yourself and no one will bother you.

Room Tip: ask for a private room opening onto a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review!

We are very lucky and grateful that we have outstanding guests. Next week we have a guest that has stayed with us since the early 1940's and has stayed at Casa Gonzalez more than 50 different times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    157
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
143
57
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We liked the neighborhood, which was pretty quiet but still near to the Metro. The Casa faces the British Embassy and is a just few blocks from the American Embassy, which means there is a visible police presence almost around the clock.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Casa Gonzalez for 10 nights this January as part of our extended stay in Mexico. Since we've travelled extensively in Mexico for a number of years, we were really looking forward to our stay here ... it didn't disappoint. Great staff: Laura, Jose, Violetta and Maru. They were FABULOUSLY helpful, generous with their time and great with directions. We stayed in room 106, inner courtyard, ground floor. Yes, the room is small, but exceptionally clean and a wonderful shower. No problems with hot water. Huge closet was a bonus. It was chilly at night, so we used the heater to take the chill off before going to bed. Quiet, but we also travel with a white noise app that cancels out any early morning noises that might wake us. Breakfast 70 pesos for juice, coffee, fruit and lots of egg options, French toast, pancakes and yogurt. Coffee a tad weak, but that's the case often in Mexico.
Out the door, turn right and about 5 minutes walk is the Insurgentes subway station (and buses up top). So, very easy to get anywhere.
Tons of restaurants along Lerma ... and nice to enjoy a Panini at the hotel in the afternoon with a cold beer!
Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the inner courtyard, away from the street. Quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A perfect hotel for those that want the intimacy and charm of an older, small, convenient, clean and well run stay in the center of a huge city. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with lots of smiles and good wishes (or is that Mexico in general?), especially Maru at the front desk. She is bi-lingual so was very helpful in making arrangements and steering us in the right directions for busses, the metro, etc. The kitchen provided tasty food and could be enjoyed either in the nice courtyard or in the beautiful little dining room. The location is about halfway between the Historic center and Chapultepec Park (location of the GREAT Museo De Anthropologia) and in a nice neighborhood with lots of restaurants and street food but once you enter through the street door into the hotel courtyard, it becomes a quiet oasis. Unless you like the high-rise, all-inclusives, stay at this hotel- you'll love it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Let me begin by saying that the staff was wonderful and went out of their way to help me! I arrived at casa Gonzalez at 6 am and even though my check in time wasn't until 2 pm the lady at the front desk searched through her listing and switched my room to an empty room. I was able to get in a couple of hours of sleep before venturing out to the city. The room i stayed at was at street level but the noise level was minimal. The bedroom/bathroom were clean.

Casa Gonzalez is located a few blocks from el angel de la independencia! So you can walk along la Reforma without a problem. You are close to everything and as soon as you come back to the hotel its layout (art and gardens) makes you feel separated from the big city.

if you have any questions on how to get somewhere the staff is very thorough in explaining directions they even map it for you !!!

The day I checked out, casa Gonzalez held my luggage until 6 pm even though i had already returned the key . I was still able to enjoy the city on my last day without lugging around luggage.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review!

If we are not fully booked we usually are very flexible with the check in and check out times.

Hope to have the pleasure of having you again soon.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The location of the hotel was great. We only stayed a day but we definitely would stay again. Next time we would opt for the extra bed for our daughter. The bed was to small for the three of us. The food was good and the staff were courteous.

Room Tip: We had the room facing the courtyard and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review!

Part of the beds are matrimonial, it's slightly smaller than a king size. We will have an extra bed for you next time, just let us know in advance.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

for anyone with a love of Mexico, this is the place to stay. Sparkling clean with friendly, helpful staff. Casa Gonzalez is located in a central spot on tree-lined streets, close to Metro and Zona Rosa. We had one of the "bargain" rooms, great mattresses, brand new bathroom, very comfortable. Every room has antique furniture and artwork, in fact, art pervades the whole place. This hotel is obviously a labor of love for someone. If you are looking for something special and very warm and beautifully Mexican, this is your guest house. The breakfast room is in the vintage part of the hotel with lovely deco furniture, nice ceramic dishware, and smart service. Continental or hot breakfast, well prepared and tasty. Lunch and dinner also served, in the green and welcoming garden.

Room Tip: If you are frugal and don't mind a little noise now and then, the basic rooms are great. Spend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.