We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN100 on select meals
Ranked #21 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Thank you tripadvisor commentators for helping us choose Casa Gonzalez. Our 4 night stay was peaceful, close to transportation, clean, efficient, comfortable, and above all very welcoming. We arrived late after a 7hrs bus ride from Oaxaca. The receptionist Laura was so helpful, we want to thank her so much. We immediately were shown our rooms, were given walking directions to all the close by restaurants, and from then on were helped in any way we needed. The following days we were able to travel by public transportation, this was also with her help and direction. Laura even greeted us at the door with umbrellas on our return as it was pouring rain. The location of the hotel is also in a safe, and pretty part of the city, one block from the Reforma. Each morning we ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, very good service and helpful wait staff. On Laura's day off, the gentleman who was at the front desk, was just as helpful, especially getting to understand the taxi system and what to pay them, something we knew nothing about. Casa Gonzalez comes highly recommended by myself and five other travel companions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    157
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
142
57
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spent six nights at Casa Gonzales. It is in a terrific location in the Zona Rosa area with easy access to museums and restaurants, metro and buses. We had a large quiet room onto the peaceful courtyard garden. The staff were very helpful, in particular Manu who helped us with several problems taking extra effort which we really appreciated as we spoke no Spanish and it was our first visit to Mexico City. The first night we were so cold we nearly checked out. We had ongoing problems with heaters working intermittently which to be fair the staff tried to resolve. One needs to have extreme patience when waiting for hot water to come through. The many instructions about water conservation are ironic as one wastes a lot of water adjusting the temperature.We appreciated the many strengths of the Casa as a budget hotel and would recommend it with these reservations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are working on the water issues, we have done major remodeling but need to do more.
Currently we are working on increasing water pressure, we are doing one house at a time. We should be finished soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time at Casa Gonzalez. Staff were lovely and accommodating - they recommended places for us to eat (not touristy stuff as we aren't interested in that!), printed maps and helped with directions. We walked easily to the Anthropology museum and to the Historic Centre, so ignore any reviews that suggest others if you do enjoy a walk. La Condesa and La Roma easy walking distance too. The area is incredibly safe and the hotel is very secure. We stayed in an interior room which had a big bathroom and private terrace. We had breakfast every morning before we ventured out and it was a nice chance to meet and talk with other guests. Thanks for everything Laura and team! Will recommend Casa Gonzalez to all our friends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We’ve been in Mexico late in April and stayed in Casa Gonzalez because of the excellent reviews and it’s location.
The hotel located in Zona Rosa and in about a 10 minute walk to the Insurgentes metro station and a 5 minute walk to the Reforma avenue and endless restaurants. Area is safe in the day and the late evening.
We stayed for 3 nights here in a triple room and enjoyed our stay. The room is a good size, comfortable, traditional furniture, extremely clean. The garden is lovely and stylish and we could have a rest from street noise here.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. We had the problem with our luggage at the airport upon arrival and the stuff helped us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for ten days here in a triple room. Ten minute walk to insurgentes metro station- through an area which felt safe in the day and the evening.Very good value for money. Lovely courtyard and garden gave a feeling of space and calm-which we needed as the room was rather small for three of us. Bathroom looked a bit old fashioned but good powerful shower with masses of piping hot water. Only problem was that it remained damp and with wet weather outside the towels could not dry. That was a problem for the first few days but then I noticed the towels were changed daily (and we suddenly got three towels not two) so obviously the staff noticed without us saying anything which was very good.Our room had some chairs outside on a little terrace which would have been good had we had better weather. It was cold in our room some nights but the night staff were excellent and found extra blankets for us. Occasionally noisy at night-once inside the hotel you forget it is on a main street and we heard cars, fireworks etc but the hotel itself was quiet. Also a wall light shone rather brightly outside our room so it was never completely dark despite pulling the curtains fully. Breakfast was good, but there is also a brilliant juice bar stall and taco vendor just outside the hotel which was cheap and delicious(spinach and cheese recommended). Reception staff were friendly and helpful and mostly spoke excellent English . They ordered us taxis, helped us print boarding passes, served drinks, stored our bags when we went away, and answered lot of small queries. Altogether highly recommend this -friendly, personal, good value , good location. Would definitely go there again-would try and book a suite next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are changing curtains an all rooms, the new ones have black out to keep the light out when you have them closed.

Next time we will make sure we have better weather for you! (this year was crazy, it was supposed to be sunny and warmer when you were here, after all it's supposed to be the dry season).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Casa Gonzalez is located on the edge of the Zona Rosa area with plenty of eateries and bars within a short walking distance. The street around the corner Rio Lamas was full of eateries (turn right) and tree lined and felt like another country. The entertainment strip with bars and fast food eateries is closeby across the main Avenue Reforma. The hotel is secluded and the staff are very helpful with any enquiry you might have. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on the food as there are so many other places to try around the area. From the hotel we walked to the Zocala - down back streets, but also along the main Avenue Reforma which was close to 1hr each way but if you like walking it was shady and more interesting. There is also the metro and metrobuses that run there. We would stay there again on future visits to Mexico City.

Room Tip: We had room 125 which was spacious and quite large with a couple of lounges in the room. The bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review.

We are working on the water pressure issue, but it has taken more time than we had anticipated. At this moment we have increased water pressure in one of the houses, we are working on the others and should soon have it solved.

Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Casa Gonzales provides welcome relief from the busy, bustling retreat that is Mexico City. Your welcome to the accommodation by the staff is warm, friendly and in fluent english. The courtyard area does indeed have as advertised hummingbirds in its beautiful garden.

The rooms themselves are large and comfortable without having extravagant trimmings. Regardless, your value for money is assured.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient for browsing the nearby Chapluteque (do not try and visit on a Monday!) but visitors should be aware that the hotel is not situated near the historico centro.

The internal restaurant serves simple, affordable and tasty Mexican dishes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.