We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent, safe location, walking distance to Zona Rosa (2 min), Historial center (30-40 h), Bosque de Chapultepec (20-30 min), and subway station /metrobus Insurgentes.

Located in the ground floor, I was glad that we did not hear street noise.
The interior patio is beautiful, and you can use its outdoor tables and chairs.

Furniture and building are a bit old, but reasonably well maintained. No air conditioner or fridge in our room (750 MXC pesos), but not needed, really. TV/ wi-fi and ceiling fan in good condition.

Breakfast is not included in the rate, but you can get a basic one for a moderate price. They serve other foods also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review.

I do want to update a couple of things, our prices changed early this year and we no longer include breakfast. We do have a policy that if we quote a price we will honor it regardless of prices increases.

One of our objectives is to keep our prices low and continue improving our services.

We have a program to redo most of our furniture and should be finished in a couple of months. Some of our furniture is almost a hundred years old and has been renovated already several times. In fact part of the furniture belonged to my great-grandmother.

I am also exited to share with you that we signed a deal with a new company to implement a “green” mosquito control. This has always been a problem with the gardens and I have been reluctant to spray with regular pesticides.

Well having said all that, we hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    165
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
77
155
63
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I haven't been to Mexico City since 1978 but I just found these reviews of my old "home" and wanted to tell everyone about my experience and the value of consistency.

I moved to the City in the summer of 1978 as a musician in the Theatre Orchestra of the Palace of Fine Arts (Bellas Artes). I stayed at a very nice hotel close to the Bellas Artes but in my travels around the city I often walked by Casa Gonzalez (at the time it was protected from the street by a tall wrought iron fence) and often wondered who lived inside that white palatial compound. I found a fellow member of the orchestra who had once stayed there and decided to see if I, too, could get a room inside this lovely estate!

Suffice it to say I was successful and over the course of six months I had several beautiful rooms and met numerous very memorable people. Senor Gonzalez (who I am assuming was the current owner's father) was most cordial and engaging. The meals were outstanding and when I didn't eat there I never had any trouble finding whatever fare I desired within two to three blocks.

If the current reviews are correct I look forward to, once again, visiting Mexico City and Casa Gonzalez in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review!
It has brought very nice memories. For many years we had many musicians. Our government invited many musicians from around the world.
I especially remember a distinguished French cellist then became a very good family friend. I believe she stayed with us about a year.
We had frequent concerts in the garden and living room of the house.
We have had many changes since then. My father passed away in 2000.
We have expanded to the house next door and we have improved services.
Please let me know in advance when you visit us so I can make a point in visiting with you, I do want to hear your stories about your experience in town. I unfortunately travel a lot since we have opened other properties.
Thank you again,
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Casa Gonzalez was recommended to us by a friend who has often stayed there and it was every bit as good as she said. We stayed for three days at the start of our trip and four days days at the end and on both occasions our rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The beautiful garden, courtyard and dining room are a highlight, so tranquil and quiet after a day out in Mexico City. The breakfast is delicious, and very good value. We were extremely impressed by the friendly, efficient and super helpful service. Thank you to Jorge and staff for making our stay in your beautiful city so enjoyable,we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place has so much going for it that it makes me sad to give it a bad review. The location is great, the hotel is beautiful (the courtyard in particular), the rooms are huge and the service is excellent.
The unforgivable part is that the bed was TERRIBLE. Literally the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. Hard, creaky and covered in a sheet that was too small.
When I'm at a hotel, the number one thing I want is a comfortable sleep and I didn't get that for any of the three nights I stayed here. It makes the entire trip less enjoyable when you're tired the whole time. And a lot of other reviews have noted they had terrible beds too so I don't think my room was an outlier.
If this place had better beds I would give it five stars.
Also, there's no air conditioning. It was warm while we were there so we left the window open overnight and mosquitoes came in and bit us a ton of times while we slept. That also made things worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always appreciate your opinion.

We are very sorry you had such a bad experience during your stay, we are putting spetial atention to all the issues you mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have not been to Mexico City recently, but when I go there I always stay at Casa Gonzalez. I discovered it many years ago in a Frommer's book. It is a charming place, and you feel very safe and comfortable there. It is well located, and they are very helpful. When I get back to Mexico City that is definitely where I will hang my hat.

Room Tip: I have traveled with others, and alone. I liked all of my rooms. The solor room was small, but coz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I want to thank you for such a kind review.
I also want to say I am sorry I did not get a chance to visit with you, I sometimes hide in the office doing accounting work and other fun stuff...
I hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was lucky to have found out about Casa Gonzalez on my way home from Mexico and needed a hotel for one night in Mexico City. It is hidden behind a thick wall in the Zona Rosa section of the city and so upon entering you feel as if you have entered a secret hideaway with a lovely garden courtyard that winds its way from the front to the back of the property. Surrounding the courtyard are rooms on various levels, some with balconies overlooking the courtyard. The layout of the rooms has a bungalow feel, so even though every room opens out to the courtyard, it is private. My room was spotless and simply furnished, but with a large closet, nice-sized bathroom and shower. In the evening, it was lovely to sit out in the quiet, tranquil courtyard at the end of the day and enjoy refreshments and snacks that were available. The intimate setting and friendly, helpful staff almost made you feel you were in another era before big box, cookie-cutter hotels became the norm. The small hotel also has a breakfast room where you can have a hearty or light breakfast before venturing out for the day. I will definitely stay at Casa Gonzalez again if I have the chance and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review.
You motivate us to try and do better.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Casa Gonzalez is like a home away from home. The staff are extremely nice and helpful! The location is warm, cozy, clean and very central in Mexico City. The room I got had it's own balcony, a tub and a king size bed. I slept like a baby! Breakfast is delicious and in a very nice dining room full of character! They also have a beautiful patio and you can have some tea, coffee or beer at the patio. My stay at Casa Gonzalez was so pleasant that this inspired me to write my first review on trip advisor. I highly recommend Casa Gonzalez!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review. You inspire us to keep on improving.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#34 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#20 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#26 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Del Principado
Hotel Del Principado
#43 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 295 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.