We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and very central.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN100 on select meals
Ranked #20 of 289 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely and very central.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my 5th stay at Casa Gonzalez and I really love this very charming hotel in the middle of Mexico City. Easy and convenient to reach, only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants in Zona Rosa and despite its central location surprisingly calm and very silent during the night. Have had different rooms every visit and they have all been spotlessly clean and very charming and colourful just like the common areas. Free Wifi but a few computers are also available in the small reception. The personnel has always been very friendly and helpful and I have always felt really safe despite arriving and departing at odd hours. They wait in the door until you are safe in the taxi which for me shows that they really care about their customers. Can highly recommend this great little hotel if you want something nice, clean, central and safe without spending a fortune. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review. As I've said previously, it is guests like you that motivate us to keep on improving.
Hope to have the pleasure to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    148
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
68
135
52
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at Casa Gonzalez 5 or 6 times in the last 10 years. The rooms are comfortable, the location is excellent and the opportunity to talk to other visitors from around the world at breakfast is an opportunity that we cherish. The ambience and charm is rare to find these days and every room is unique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We want to thank you for such a kind review. It is guests like you that motivate us to keep on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a disappointing stay at Casa Gonzalez. The room we were given was smaller than those shown on the website and a water pump - positioned directly next to our room - was switched on during the night and kept us from sleeping with booming noises that reverberated through the entire apartment. Thankfully the pump was switched off on the second night. We also had no hot water on the second morning until the situation was fixed.

On the plus side, the hotel is nice and homely, and many of the other rooms looked better.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room that's next to the water pump, no 133.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are always eager to hear your opinion.

We are very sorry we did not offer what you expected. I will personally look in to the problems you mention.

I do need to mention you reserved our least expensive double room (the price per night is about 35.00 British pounds or 50.00 Australian dollars).

I am very sorry you did not mention you were not happy with the room, because we could have offered other options. Our front desk is open 24 hours and three out of the four of the lady's speak English and would have solved the noise or hot water problem within a couple of minutes.

We do hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us once more to be able to make up for the bad impression you have about Casa Gonzalez.

Best wishes,
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zirahuen, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We know that DF hotel costs have gone through the roof so we didn't have great expectations from this hotel with such reasonable prices. Well, what a pleasant surprise! It is actually a number of converted homes, some of whom have quite interesting histories. The garden areas are lovely and one can access the wifi from the patios (it can be spotty from some rooms). The owner was charming and incredibly helpful. The location was excellent. It is near the Paseo de la Reforma, but in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Actually, it was hard to find the hotel's entry as it does not have a sign. We just asked a corner food stand and they pointed us to it. We stayed on the ground floor and the room was adequate, but not luxurious. However, for the price, we were completely satisfied. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review; It is very motivating to know you had a good stay.

Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a good place to kick back in a chair in the court yard right next to your room and rest a while before your next adventure of the day in Mexico City. And the price is right. OK so the place is a tad funky, a tad worn but it is well kept up and wears well its 20's or 30's architectural character. The office help is attentive and the communal breakfast is served on Mexican dinnerware (none of that generic buffet you are likely to get in your average Mexican hotel). Because of its reputation and tradition, you may find yourself sharing your table with a visiting professor, a French anthropologist, a Mexican on business or a young Australian world traveler. It is all part of the ambiance. For dinner, just hop across the Paseo de la Reforma and you are in the Zona Rosa. A pair of walking shoes will take you to Chapultapec Park or to the Zocolo by way of the Palacio de Bella Artes. One note of caution: Some of the upstairs rooms are to be avoided. They are bad conversions from whatever was upstairs once.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always greatly value your opinion.

The two main houses were built in 1920 by my grandfather, and started as the original guest house in about 1930. The other two houses were built in the 30's and 40's.

The original lay out of the main house were four rooms that shared one bath room. When we started it was rented like that with just one bath... The rent was $4.00 USD per week including all meals, laundry and daily room service. Those were difficult times.

Over time we renovated the house adding bathrooms to every room. It was a challenge especially in the old house. I have to admit some of the rooms in the old houses are small.

We have continuous remodeling: all the plumbing, the wiring and most bath rooms have been entirely redone over the last few years.

Well that is perhaps more than you wanted to hear about Casa Gonzalez... But I believe it is important for me to share this with you.

Again thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Casa Gonzalez is in a great location within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants. At night it is quiet which is hard to find in Mexico. It could be a really wonderful place to stay but isn't. There is no management presence so when the recepcionist was snippy there was nobody to turn to. When there were no towels in my room there was no urgency on the part of the woman in the office to do anything about it until it suited her schedule. When the door to my room wouldn't open because the lock was broken, there was no sense that maybe I should be given a different room - one with a lock that wasn't broken. If there had been good management they would have checked to see that rooms had been cleaned and restocked with towels after cleaning and they would have known that the lock was broken and fixed it because after all if you can't open the door to a room you have lost the revenue that would have been gained from renting it out.

The other problem at Casa Gonzalez for many Americans is smoking. Yes, you are allowed to smoke outside in Mexico but it isn't very pleasant to be sitting in the patio and have people at adjacent tables smoking or people smoking on the shared balconies of some of the rooms. Since the two patio areas are separate, it should be possible to designate only one of them as smoking or make the whole place no smoking.

Because they were unable to open the door for the room I was originally scheduled to occupy I was assigned to one that was very small. A large person would not have been able to use the bathroom. The mattress was harder than anything I have ever experienced even in remote areas of Mexico and had been covered with plastic under the sheet so everytime I changed position the sheet would move over the plastic, producing creases that dug into my skin. The pillows are old and lumpy - I couldn't help but wonder as sleepless hours passed if they were the original pillows? The owners should be forced to sleep on that bed and see how they like it.

My overall impression is that this could be a great place to stay but it needs to have money spent on it which probably isn't going to happen. It isn't even a great value - it is just a great discomfort. Too bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for posting such a detailed review of Casa Gonzalez, we always appreciate your opinion. We are sorry your stay was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Mexico city hotels are expensive, and this place was astonishingly cheap -- a single room here was less than half the price of anything else I could find. And for that price I got a lot -- a clean room with all the basic amenities, a great location,
and public areas that are just beautiful -- colorful dining areas and a lovely courtyard. And best of all, five star service.

But of course some aspects of the hotel are exactly what you'd expect from an ultra-budget choice. The rooms are small and also a bit musty.
The space shortage is made more acute by the furniture, which featured big bulky armchairs past their prime.
Each room has its own quirks -- e.g. some of the first floor rooms require climbing up a steep step (barely more than a ladder); most of the ground floor rooms are very noisy during the day, although quiet enough at night. The lighting is a bit dim, and the beds tend to be hard.
The wifi was intermittent in some rooms and non-existent in others, but there are several computers in the reception area that should be sufficient for those needing only a quick internet fix per day.

So this place is not for everyone. If you are looking for a friendly place where you can get guidance from the staff as well as the other guests; if you plan to be out almost all of the day;
or if you just want to save your money for something else -- this
would be a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for posting such detailed comments about the house, we greatly appreciate your opinion and will keep on working to improve the issues you point out while maintaining our low prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.