We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Gonzalez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 280 hotels in Mexico City
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excelent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My boss and me from Taiwan visit casa Gonzalez, Olivia and all the personal there did very good job with my boss who only speak Chinese and a bit English, I really like the attitude and if I have to go back again, we sill stay in the same place, excellent location, service and clean. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    123
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
113
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Casa Gonzalez is a lovely place to stay in Mexico City. We stayed for 2 nights, and found the main staff to be very courteous, helpful and friendly.

The rooms were simple and clean, complete with in-room safe. The beds were on the small side, so be prepared to fight for space with your partner if you are tall/wide. The hotel has a lovely courtyard with a fountain, and beautiful ivy covering the walls. There is also free internet at reception.

The included continental breakfast was fantastic - served in a lovely dining room with stained glass windows, you get a plate of fruit, sliced fresh baguette with butter and jam, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. They also offer an additional menu for 60 pesos, and you can choose from different styles of eggs, granola and yoghurt, pancakes, and even mole eggs!

The location is excellent - a few hundred metres away from the Paseo de la Reforma and also all the great restaurants and shops of Zona Rosa. The energy of the area is really vibrant and good, is perfectly safe and contains many things that would interest a traveller - and we found it easy to get public transport down Reforma to the museums, etc. You can even walk to the Museo Antropologica, about 20-25 mins walk (depending on how acclimatised you are to the altitude at that stage). If I were to return to Mexico City, I would not stay anywhere else! Absolutely tops!

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading for a room away from the street for extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your most kind review, we greatly appreciate your comments.
We are already in the process of replacing all the beds, and renewing furniture.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed at Casa Gonzalez in September in order to take the GRE at the Mexico City test location. It is in a great area, within walking distance of tons of shops, restaurants and bars. I felt very safe walking around at night, and I was even able to walk to the testing center (great for those going to the city for TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, etc.) . Just seconds away from the US and British Embassies, a few blocks from the famous statue of el Angel de la Independencia, I would absolutely recommend it to any traveler. It has great places to sit throughout the hotel, and many rooms have balconies with tables to relax and read, or just enjoy the atmosphere. They have beautiful courtyards filled with blooming flowers - you would never guess that you are in the middle of a huge city! The staff is very friendly, and they offer free internet access on three very new and fast computers in the reception. They are extremely helpful and speak English very well. The rooms are simple but comfortable. I would like to thank Jorge especially for his rapid and friendly emails in order to make the reservation

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Casa Gonzalez is a very quiet place with a friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is located in a lively neighbourhood: the heart of the pink zone is at walking distance (5 mins); it was nice to spend the saturnday night there (lots of restaurants and bars)!
We stayed in room 106 (ground floor, facing the patio), that was good value for money.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

A friend recommended Casa Gonzalez. We were there for 3 nights and it was a great place to stay. We originally asked for a small double bedroom not facing the street but ended up getting a regular double room. The room we got was HUGE. It had an adjacent room with 3 beds and a bathroom. More than what we needed. We ended up arriving in Mexico City extremely early (8 am) so we asked if we could check in early. Jorge assured us that we could get access to our room at any time. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were very well maintained.

A continental breakfast of fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, bread, and tea or coffee was included with the room. For an additional 60 pesos, you could opt for a warm breakfast of eggs, chilaquiles, omelet or some other standard Mexican breakfast. They also offered lunch and dinner possibilities as long as you reserved in advance. I’m not sure if it’s necessarily worth getting the meals at the hotel since there are so many food stalls and markets just around the corner with great food (weird tacos like brain, lung and tongue as well as chicharrons) for less than a third of the price. However, you can meet a lot of interesting (and not so interesting) people eating at the breakfast table, which contributes to the Bed and Breakfast atmosphere.

In the evenings, you can lounge around in the vast courtyard and buy a beer from the front desk. There are three computers by the front desk where you can print your boarding passes or do any other type of computer related work. Internet access is reliable.

The location is perfect. It’s a few blocks from the subway (Insurgentes) which can get you to anywhere in the city. It’s also not too far from the National Museum of Anthropology which is definitely worth a visit. Since the Casa is close to the US Embassy and across the street from the British Embassy, you feel relatively safe with all the police walking around the area. I would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This small, family-owned and operated hotel is a truly amazing find in the heart of Mexico City. The location is within walking distance of the Centro Historico and Bosque Chapultapec - we also walked to the Luis Barragan House with no effort. The owner, Jorge, is prepared to go out of his way to ensure your comfort and to help with any travel or sight-seeing arrangements. The service and cleanliness are outstanding and the area is safe and interesting - many restaurants nearby. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Casa Gonzales.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spotted this place when we first got to Mexico City and fell in love with it. It's homey and simple, reasonably priced for something so close to Reforma (smack in the middle between the Zocalo and Chapultepec), and the people are super friendly. We liked it so much, we asked if we could book out all the rooms and have our wedding in their courtyard. Lucky for us, they said yes - to their first-ever hotel-wide event. Despite their lack of experience with such events, they did a fantastic job in being very accommodating and helpful. The event had a nice backyard wedding feel and everyone loved the location.

That said, we used all the hotel rooms, some of them for up to a week or so - Not all of the rooms were created equal. The rooms in Lerma are pretty nice (this is the newest part of the hotel), and some of the rooms in the La Casa wing. However, note that sound tends to echo in the La Casawing if you're on the first floor and the door to the wing from the courtyard is open. There are no elevators anywhere and a couple of the rooms are up some windy stairs. Some rooms have bathtubs (these rooms tend to be nice), but most have just showers, and some have access to a patio area. They have wireless, which sometimes isn't so great in the La Casa wing, but always worked in the courtyard. They also have computers in the reception area which are slow, but working. Breakfast is continental and light, but clean and fresh. For a little extra, you can get a full hot breakfast which are pretty good.

Overall, the place is simple (no fitness center, spa, pool, etc.) - but they do the basics right. We loved it and we recommend the place to all our visiting friends.

On another note, they'll call you a cab at any time as there is always someone at the front desk. Between us, our parents, and our friends, we went to the airport at least once a day and the hotel was nice enough to arrange everything for us. If you're unfamiliar with the city, they can send a taxi to the airport with a sign, but you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in Lerma or with a bathtub (these tend to be nicer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gonzalez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.