We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*modern classic*but for sure no leading hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Mexico City to your Saves list
Camino Real Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzúres, Mexico City 11590, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Remshalden, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“*modern classic*but for sure no leading hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

One of our collegues adviced us to stay here. The location is is really good, close to the main Paseo del Reforma and what is important a safe surrounding! Nevertheless, the Hotel needs some fresh air, it is rather dark in the rooms and also in the hotel. The entrance is very modern, but service further a bit difficult! We had acces to the lounge, but there it was more just a separate room whe they had a small breakfast and at night
some free drinks. Almost not visited as no people there. The Camino Suites and Club is the same hotel as the normal Camino Real. But again not worth 5 stars and for sure never a leading again, may be it once was..... Directly at the Paseo del Reforma you find more and much better Hotels like the Embassy Suites and The St Regis!

One positive thing, in the inner square they have a nice outdoor swimming pool ansd not to forget the italian restaurant inside with exellent coffee!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    212
    154
    73
    54
See reviews for
43
83
48
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel, supposedly a 4 star, had the worst hotel room I have stayed in for a long time. The room stank, and so every day the maids sprayed it and all other rooms with a noxious smelling air freshener to cover the smell. The furniture was dirty and beaten up, and looked to be 20 years old. While the public areas are nice, the conference rooms are also old and smelly. Finally, the restaurants that I tried (2) are over priced and the food mediocre at best. For the money, there are much better choices in the Polanco area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I was attending a week long conference with people from all over the world. First impressions when I arrived late at night and very tired were, amazing public spaces, friendly reception staff and huge wide corridors. As the week went on I found two staff in particular very helpful Victor and Ishmael who provided answers to numerous questions and gave maps and directions (perfect service). Some of the down points. Internet connection was both expensive and appalling - most of my fellow delegates had the same problems. I had cash stolen from my purse and a colleague had cash taken from his bedside table (both smallish amounts). We are both to blame for leaving the cash out of the safe however I was very upset to know that someone had rifled through my handbag. Hotel reaction was poor and handled badly. So please ensure all of your valuables go into the safe at all times! Breakfast was fantastic and the staff efficient and helpful. I used the pool in the dark every morning and it was very pleasant (the altitude meant I had trouble sleeping). Like another reviewer I had a very dark room looking onto a wall and in retrospect I really should have insisted on being moved. The hotel is in a fantastic location so do try and get out and walk as much as possible. Just such a huge city it is hard to comprehend how anyone gets around in the traffic!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Visited this brightly-hued "modern" hotel by starchitect Ricardo Legorreta with a tour group interested in Modern Architecture. Stayed for 7 nights. This large property is suprisingly difficult to navigate with spread-out wings and no maps. Some rooms had green courtyard views - but not mine. I got a street-side room with a view of a power pole. Opening the curtains on my dowdy patio was necessary to get some light into my unusually dark room. The room and bath (good mirrors but tepid "hot" water) were large with bright colors and wood accents. The breakfast buffet - with juices, cereals, breads and fruits - met my needs. Disappointments included:
1. street noise required closing off patio sliding door for sleeping which required
2. turning on A/C for cooling which leaked really cold water onto floor by bath entrance
3. power failure - only in closet - stranded valuables in "safe"

To their credit, hotel management tried to respond to problems 2 & 3.
I prefer a hotel where my first room doesn't require correction.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melilla
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We went to this hotel because of the reviews. Well, the momment we got there they welcomed us with abhorrent customer service It seamed as if they did not want to help us. TERRIBLE SERVICE. Don't let the nice pics deceive you.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here for 2 days in May 2010. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood. During our stay they we renovating a lot of rooms and this gave a bit of a mess at the pool area. Also on our floor the renovation was going on. Besides this, the overall atmosphere of this place is relaxed. The hotel accommodates some nice restaurants like the Asiatic influenced China Grill. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped. The king bed was very comfortable. Check-in and check-out isn't the most quick one, but overall a very cool and nice hotel. I would highly recommend this place to any leisure or business traveller.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Built in 1968, with an architectural style that gives you the impression of spaciousness and simplicity, the hotel is just beautiful and comfortable. Our double-bed room at "La Palma" section had lots of space, balcony facing one of the beautiful courtyards with a pool, and a large bathroom (no bathtub, but shower was very roomy). We only wished the shower head had more flexibility for setting your desired output of water. In terms of service, the hotel staff thrived to offer you a friendly useful service immediately. They answered all of our questions, attended our requests and gave us useful information in an efficient quick manner. The hotel also changed towels and cleaned up the bathroom and beds as soon as we would leave our room in the morning and again in the evening. We had late dinner a couple of nights at one of their restaurants, La Huerta. The food was excellent, but be aware that they are more expensive that some of the restaurants you can find nearby. The hotel was full of activity day and night, so you may hear in the middle of the night young professionals going back to their rooms. The area surrounding the restaurant seemed to be safe for strolling at night, but the amount of traffic on Escobedo Street made us a bit nervous when crossing intersections at night with two children. The Camino Real Polanco was a good choice to access by foot Chapultepec Park with the kids during the day, via the pedestrian pathway the goes underneath the street Paseo de la Reforma, so we felt pretty safe with the children and traffic then, and were very glad we didn't rent a car!

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Not good for walking at night with children because of traffic.
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Camino Real Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Mexico City

Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzúres, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.