We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central University City Campus

Central University City Campus
Mexico City, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 291 Attractions in Mexico City
Type: Educational Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This neighborhood is the home of the National University of Mexico.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A most see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you love art, this is one of the things that you most do!
The university was declared as a World Herritage Site.
A prehispanic architecture is reflected on its construction and you can admire the artwork from some of the greatest artists from Mexico during the 1930´s and 50´s.
Go for a walk through this beautiful campus and bring you cámara, I bet you´ll will enjoy the place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nothing special, at least for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

afte getting out from metro station Universitate, we took the bus rout nb.1, and we get of arround architectonical faculty.. Or something similar, then small walk is needed and you will find Campus.. Honestly its not very special for us, coz we do have many of this kind of things- smaller of course in post komunstic contries, and i have to say we do not like it so much. Then you can go to Olympic stadium, and visit contemporary art museum, and that is about it,,, i am not sure if it is really worth to travel so long way... But its just mine opinion...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“World Class University; World Class Murals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you want to get out of the central part of the city and you've already explored neighborhoods such as Coyoacan, San Angel, or the Zona Rosa, it might be time to venture down to Cuidad Universitaria. Take metro line 3 (direction Universidad) and get off at the next to the last stop at Coplico. It's a little confusing, but with over 325,000 students in attendance here, just follow the crowd. In addition to a more than pleasing (although overwhelming) campus, the reason for your visit should be to see some extraordinary murals dotting the campus and the Olympic Stadium. Your first stop should be the expansive mural emphasizing traditional Mayan and Aztec themes on the Faculty of Medicine building. After crossing the Jardin Central, you come upon three amazing mural creations. There is the Juan O'Gorman murals on the central library, the politically inspired three-dimensional Siqueiros mural, and completely mosaic covered Rectory, the university's administrative icon. Finally, you end up at what I considered this trip's "piece de resistance," the Diego Rivera mural on the front of the Olympic Stadium. If you were to see nothing else, Rivera's work is worth the effort of this trip. Although I wasn't able to enter the Olympic complex, his mural is large enough that you can view it well from the fence. I have many favorite Rivera pieces in the city, but the uniqueness of this three-dimensional mural truly captures the "spirit of the games." Further, for history buffs, this is the spot where in 1968, Tommy Smith and John Carlos made their famous "Black Power" protest after winning olympic medals in track and field.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An architecture anticipated to its time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Where the academics,arts and culture joins....a big campus full of prehispanica and modern mexican art where academia and science feels in the air.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good place to visit, great if you know ppl there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We met many very friendly students on campus! The Campus is huge, 300,000 students at UNUM! Several interesting buildings and architecture. Also a great place to meet Mexico's best ultimate frisbee players!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central University City Campus also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Central University City Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central University City Campus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.