We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with pretenses” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Prado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Prado to your Saves list
Hotel Del Prado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina Nacional 399 | Col Veronica Anzures, Mexico City 11300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic with pretenses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 2 nights here on a business trip. Functional but only just is the best I have to say about this place. Friendly enough and no complaints on staff but standards are way behind what you may be used to in the US, Europe, Middle East or many of the Asian business, or visitor, hotels.
We were using the conference facilities and they were reasonable.
Beware the elevators/lifts. Only one customer elevator in use and it was VERY slow and not tremendously inspiring from a safety perspective! I used the service elevator a few times to get away from the horrible and frustrating wait times, quicker but takes a bit of guesswork on selecting the right floor as many of the floor numbers were missing on the panel :)
Not specific to the hotel, but make sure you have Pesos for the taxis, even to the airport, as they don't take credit cards and you can't pay at the hotel? Also, the currency exchange at the hotel is somewhat omitted, USD seemed about the limit of what they offered!
Wireless internet is available but worse than dial up. Don't expect any niceties like ironing boards, I had a coffee maker but my colleague in adjacent room did not.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    15
    14
    11
See reviews for
9
3
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It takes about 20 minutes to get an elevator so stay on a low floor in case you need to walk. Internet service pretty much non existent. There is no gym, no minibar. This hotel is mainly for Pemex employees.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Rooms and breakfast are good with many options.
There's no safe in rooms. There's no gym,

There's nothing close. The mall attached to the hotel has bad resturants and only fast foods are an option. Careful: most close at 8:30 or 9:00 pm. Prefer Polanco region.

There's no regular taxi available (they say it's dangerous in the street) and the touristic taxi avalilable costs twice as the regular price. For example, I went to Plaza Carso for 120 pesos and got a taxi there to come back, which cost only 65 pesos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I don't have words to say "thank you" to all the staff of Del Prado Hotel, Great Value for an extraordinary service, Huge rooms with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I made my reservation after seeing the internet home page for this hotel. The rooms seem nice, elegant and the lists of services also seem great. But it was a huge disappointment when I enter into my room... the room is big, but that's all! It's an empty space! There isn't any decoration, they are like prison cells. There aren't any lamps, so if you want to read before going to sleep, bring a light. The TVs don't have remote control, and they are small, ugly and very old. The internet description says that there are fast internet connection, iron, coffee maker and dryer in room every room, they are all lies. The personnel at the front desk are rude and they tend to pass the hot potato to the next one, just to see if you get tired on your complaint. The food is terrible in the restaurant. Tomorrow I'll go look for another hotel, maybe Marriot or Hilton. I will never return here. Don't ever come to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Liked the hotel for its large rooms with complete amenities, access to a shopping area right next to the hotel and also the good customer service from all staff at all times. Great city views from the top floors were a luxury too :)

One drawback was that Wifi was only from the lobby as I didnt hook up the signals from a top floor and also the lockers to be used guests were to keep a deposit, which was a bit absurd for me. The rates were ok I would say though could have been a bit lesser.

Otherwise it was right in the middle of taxi and public transportation areas and within close distance to city centre.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Without exception, this was the worst hotel I have ever experienced in any price range.
The front desk staff was ignorant of the most basic particulars of the hotel, rude and incompetent. This was not just my experience but that of countless conference attendees who could be found in the lobby at any hour beseeching staff members to give them a room with running water, lights, a key that worked, internet service that they had paid for.
All of these things went wrong, constantly and consistently through the week, and we all learned the one response we could count on was "could you come back in five minutes."
Moreover with the "free" breakfast apparently reheated for days on end, and nearly inedible, dim lighting, rock hard pillows, air conditioning that stopped working midweek, elevators that broke down between floors, every aspect of staying there represented a challenge.
We all felt as if we had been released from jail when we checked out.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — The horrific rude incompetent front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#34 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Hotel del Bosque
#159 of 295 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 295 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galeria Plaza
#75 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Hotel Sevilla
#150 of 295 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
NH Mexico City Reforma
#62 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Prado

Address: Marina Nacional 399 | Col Veronica Anzures, Mexico City 11300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Prado 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Del Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Prado Hotel
Hotel Del Prado Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Prado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.