We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located hotel, Simple rooms, Avg service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
San Francisco Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luis Moya No 11 | Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well Located hotel, Simple rooms, Avg service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Hotel location is extremely convenient. Steps away, you will find many places to eat, buy, and hang out (park). Walking distance to historical centre of the city. Subway station Hidalgo is pretty much around the corner.
Check in process was efficient. Reception spoke suitable English. Rooms are dated, simple, and spacious. Bathroom lacked shelving space in the shower and in general, and was only given one towel and no floor mat.
Got my purse picked while walking down a busy street one night, and my hotel key was lifted too. I found my stuff was stolen from the room so here's a tip - leave your hotel keys at front desk when you go out and save yourself the grief. That was my fault though. No safes in the room, use the ones behind reception.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    36
    28
    12
    14
See reviews for
12
21
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights as part of a group tour. I was traveling as a single person with the group so I had my own room. On the first night, I had a terrible room on the 10th floor--broken sink, dirty carpet, non-working TV, etc. I mentioned to our tour guide that we might try to get better rooms upon our return to the hotel (if possible), and he was willing to see if he could do that.

After we returned to the hotel while travelling through Mexico, our tour guide had arranged for us to have rooms on the second floor, which look like they have been remodeled. The room was much better in style and appearance, although the TV didn't always work and the carpet was not the cleanest. The view from windows was a demolished building, but that was no big deal.

The lobby is pleasant, and staff at the front desk was nice and willing to help as needed. Safety is good, but it is best to lock up passport and any other valuables in safety deposit boxes available at the front desk. The hotel breakfast was just ok. There was good (and free) wifi available in the lobby and in the room.

The key to this hotel is its really great location--right by Benito Juarez Park, near the Hidalgo subway, and convenient to the City Center. For that reason, it gets a better rating than is warranted.

Room Tip: Get a remodeled room on a lower floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Pretty out-dated hotel, however basically clean and functional. Staff service was ok. Showers are huge with really good pressure (I felt bad about how much water they used!). The location was convenient for walking around centro historico. There were a lot of big groups staying while we were there, including lots of evangelistic groups.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in that hotel once and never came back on my many visits to Mexico city. The hotel looks and smells old, the rooms were big, but the walls are thin, we could listen to a night event they had in the lower floor. Our windows didn't close completely and we were cold at night; we reported this to the staff and they said they couldn't do anything,not even change the room,so we asked for extra blankets which I had to go downstairs and pick them up after calling a several times to the lobby . There are a lot of good, clean,well located and cheap hotels in Mexico city, don't stay at this one.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is priced right for the convenient location. It might not be the best hotel in the area, but it's certainly adequate for a few nights. It's an easy Walk to Constitution Plaza and most of the attractions in Centro. I would stay there again, and recommend it to any traveler who is not out to spend a lot and expects a high end luxury room.
Lots of decent restaurants nearby too.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the street in front of the Hotel will give you good light and a view. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed 1 night. Only good thing is that he room is huge and the staff are friendly. Carpet was really old and dirty. They said we can use internet in the room, but hardly any signal. While we're in the elevator, the elevator got stuck. There seems to be some lobby renovation going on, but the contractors are constantly smoking in the lobby so very bad air. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel san francisco was situated so perfectly at the heart of a great city. The hotel is only a 2 star at best but the location was so perfect that not much time was spent in the room itself but out in the areas surrounding the hotel. The price for the room was also a good drawing point and the staff spoke very good English, and helped me to find everything that I needed. Many good restaurants near the hotel and good access to the subway system which will take you anywhere in the city that you wish to go. I would stay here again without a worry. Well done San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel

Address: Luis Moya No 11 | Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the heart of Historical Downtown, the most important cultural center in Mexico City, close to Bellas Artes subway station. Surrounded by Restaurants, Museums, Historical Monuments, Malls, Entertainment Centers, Night Clubs. Close to Juarez Avenue, one of the most important financial centers. To 30 minutes from international airport. If you want to know the Mexican Culture, you should start in this zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Hotel Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.