We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a good option if...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico

Save Saved
You added Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madero 30 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could be a good option if...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel needs new Management since it has all the potential of being a good option for staying in downtown Mexico City. However, I can not recommend this hotel without making some important observations. Apparently our experience was very similar to that of other reviewers here. We made our reservations online and paid in advance for three rooms for four adults. When we checked in at 19:00 none of our reserved (and prepaid) rooms where available so they put us in “temporary” rooms and had to move the next day to our “original” rooms. The first night my wife and I got an extremely small room with a small bed and lots of mosquitoes. I could not sleep because of the mosquitoes and spent the night trying to kill them. We had reserved and paid for six nights, however, the next morning we were told that there was no need to move into our new rooms because we only had reservations for one night. After we had this problem resolved, the front desk clerk offered to give us our reserved and prepaid rooms for “the same price” as if doing us a favor!!! The new rooms were just as small and also had mosquitoes. The pillows are small and uncomfortable. Towels were clean but kind of old. The tv sets are very old with poor image quality and a very limited selection of channels to choose from, all of them in Spanish. Wifi was terrible and only worked for the first 3 nights. We were not able to connect to the internet the last 3 days despite repeated calls and visits to the front desk. Their best solution was to use the computers near the front desk. We did not eat at the hotel so I can’t comment on the restaurant. On the positive side, the hotel is in a great location. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. The staff is friendly but was unable to resolve most of the problems we encountered. Sanborns Casa de los Azulejos and Restaurante de la Opera are just a few blocks away as are Bellas Artes and the Zocalo. Allende Metro station on Line 2 is also just a couple of blocks away. For the price, this hotel can be a good option, however don’t expect to be able to use the internet and be ready for mosquitoes keeping you up at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
21
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at this establishment twice now, both times for business, and both times for four nights.

Location:
The hotel is located in the historic section of the city just a five minute walk from the Zocalo (Central Square in front of the National Palace) and Cathedral. There are tons of restaurants and lots of shopping right outside the door. The street vendors make up in enthusiasm and quantity of artisan type shopping what the stores themselves may not have.

The hotel restaurant food is good - the breakfast is particularly yummy with lots of fruit, traditional Mexican fare as well as pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon.

The first time I stayed I had a tiny room with a double bed, desk, tv and a very small bathroom in which there was a closet and some shelves. The second time I stayed I had a room four times the size of the first with a king size bed, desk, tv, much larger bathroom, two chairs with a table between and a closet area that was separate from the bathroom.

In both cases, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, but the pillows were a bit small and kind of flat.

Each day the room is replenished with two bottles of drinking water which I used for teeth brushing as well as to take with my during the day. The daily cleaning service was absolutely thorough.

Its entrance is on a pedestrian-only street so your taxi will have to drop you at the corner, but its half a block so not a big deal. On your way out, the front desk will arrange to have the cab let the bellman know when they arrive, and the bellman will take your luggage to the cab for you.

Room Tip: I recommend that you request a room that faces the street. While it seems counterintuitive in relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a week for a business trip, and its central location made it very easy to see the sights and get around the city. It's not the "Ritz", but it is a decent hotel that is clean and safe. Staff was very helpful. I would consider staying here if I had another quick trip in Mexico City. Taxis knew where it was, and it was easy to get back to after being out in another neighborhood in the evening. During the day, there is a lot going (shopping, etc) near the hotel. In the evening, it gets really quiet... we had a room facing the inner courtyard. I was shocked that it was quieter than my apartment in urban USA. And this is in downtown Mexico City!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As part of a tour of Mexico this year we stayed 3 nights at the Ritz... As others have mentioned the amenities etc. are not extensive but the hotel is very well located and clean. If you are taking a taxi or prearranged pick up have them call ahead to the hotel and arrange for the bellman to meet you on the closest drop off with a baggage cart. There is no traffic allowed to the front door so closest street is 50 meters up the avenue...Beds are comfortable, bathroom was clean and we had a room facing the pedestrian mall a couple days before Christmas ( hundreds of people,) and the sound was very minimal. Close to many stores and the Temple Major, Cathedral, etc.....on the negative the menu is limited and make sure and beef is cook thouroughly. Bring an alarm clock , I did, but also requested a wake up call on 3 instances to make tours on time in the morning and never got a single call...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is near the Zocalo and the old historic district, on a quiet street with no auto traffic. The staff is friendly and efficient, the room was great for the reasonable price. Close to shopping, restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Right in the center of Mexico excellent location
Easy access to everything
Very helpful staff
The room was clean and tidy with a bath tub...the hot water took a while to come through but it was good and consistent when it got there!!!
Starbucks and Carona cafes, cake shops and tacos abound!!
its not "The Ritz" but it is goo value for money and if you haven't been to Mexico city before its and easy place to start

Room Tip: No swimming pool or gym!!!! Quiet rooms but you will need a good memory to locate your room as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The room with Double Beds was awfully small ! The beds don't even fit inside the room.
Wireless network was down for 5 days the only way to get signal was walking downstairs to the main lobby to get wifi from the reception, the issue was reported to the service desk clerk 5 different times and we didn't get any attention whatsoever, At least not until we requested for the Hotel Supervisor who provided us with a temporary conection that was good for 3 hours only !
The lifter was broken also , there was a day when the lifter was stuck in the middle between 2 storeys and they forced the lifter doors open and the people inside had to climb down from the lifter. I would not recomend this Hotel to anyone and certainly I am not coming back my self.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico

Address: Madero 30 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Mexicos capital, one of the worlds largest cities, in a culturally interactive environment that combines sophistication and modern conveniences with thousands of years of history, making it one of the country's most popular tourist cities. Tulip Inn Ritz Hotel is a revived architectural and historical jewel of XIX Century. The 120 totally remodeled rooms with all their amenities will provide you a magnificent satisfaction. Our flexible meeting facilities with a full service cater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico Hotel Mexico City
Tulip Inn Mexico City
Ritz Mexico City
Mexico City Ritz
Golden Tulip Mexico City
Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;