We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ritz Mexico to your Saves list
Hotel Ritz Mexico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madero 30 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MXN900 (MXN)
Ranked #129 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great first stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Right in the center of Mexico excellent location
Easy access to everything
Very helpful staff
The room was clean and tidy with a bath tub...the hot water took a while to come through but it was good and consistent when it got there!!!
Starbucks and Carona cafes, cake shops and tacos abound!!
its not "The Ritz" but it is goo value for money and if you haven't been to Mexico city before its and easy place to start

Room Tip: No swimming pool or gym!!!! Quiet rooms but you will need a good memory to locate your room as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
24
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room with Double Beds was awfully small ! The beds don't even fit inside the room.
Wireless network was down for 5 days the only way to get signal was walking downstairs to the main lobby to get wifi from the reception, the issue was reported to the service desk clerk 5 different times and we didn't get any attention whatsoever, At least not until we requested for the Hotel Supervisor who provided us with a temporary conection that was good for 3 hours only !
The lifter was broken also , there was a day when the lifter was stuck in the middle between 2 storeys and they forced the lifter doors open and the people inside had to climb down from the lifter. I would not recomend this Hotel to anyone and certainly I am not coming back my self.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D. C.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel was recommended by an American friend in Mexico, but how wrong she was! It's basically a dump for locals from provinces, and not suited for international travelers. Our room was small, old, basic, and was even cleaned when we arrived at 2.30 p.m. It faced a courtyard (nothing you want to go out to), and we were bothered by people talking into late at night. Bedding looked clean but was old. I was so miserable that I used free Internet (the only good thing about this hotel) in the middle of the night to book a room at Hilton Reforma, only a few blocks away and only $50 more (weekend rate). but was so so much better. The room was clean, spacious with a view, and the bed was very very comfortable. Pool was great, and service was superb. What a difference! The lesson I learned is when in Mexico City, don't try to skimp of a few bucks on hotel and go for internationally recognized names -- and avoid "Centro Historico." It's crowded, noisy and dirty, and most buildings are very old and not very well maintained. On top of that, the street in front of Tulip was being dug up for repaving, and was so dusty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I had fun at Mexico City.
But I was not able to rest well at the Tulip Inn Ritz.
What was nice about it: It was like in the heart of Mexico City, near the cathedral & shopping stalls. A few meters down the road is my favorite ice cream shop...they sell the best ice cream.When I needed my caffeine fix, I just cross the street where I can have a steaming hot cup of coffee plus freshly baked pastries.
The room is really spacious and clean.

What needs to be improved though is:
I was there for 3days and in 3 days, breakfast food is the same. : (
I was not able to sleep well because the bed is kinda hard and the pillows are not that fluffy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel is located in the heart of the historic district. The hotel is safe and clean. Not for those looking for luxury. It was great for our needs and budget. It is a downtown hotel and therefore noisy. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsnto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

After first staying here with my aunt in 2009, they didn't keep a copy of her receipt, and charged me a second time when I left. Our faxes and calls from VISA went unanswered and unrefunded.

When my dad wanted to stay at the same place because "at least we knew it", I had my emotional reservations before booking.
- THE STREET IS INACCESSIBLE to our taxi because Moderna is now closed to cars and is a pedestrian street. Thanks for the info.
- The elevator was busted, poor bellboy with 7 bags
- Messed up our 4 person reserved room to a 2 person room
- No bathmat, 2 thin bathtowels, no handtowels, no remote for the TV, busted hairdryer, no ventilation in the room
- Breakfast was the worst thing I have ever had the mispleasure of eating. Soggy chilaquilles, undercooked and raw bacon, hair in cereal bowls
- Kids screamed down the halls all night and the staff did nothing.


The barman is very nice though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osttirol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

People there are very kind and helping, the room was clean and comfortable. I didn't find anything to complain about. I didn't expect such a beautiful, great-located hotel for these little prices! Next time I'll visit Mexico City I know where to stay again!! It was a great time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ritz Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz Mexico

Address: Madero 30 Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ritz Mexico 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Mexicos capital, one of the worlds largest cities, in a culturally interactive environment that combines sophistication and modern conveniences with thousands of years of history, making it one of the country's most popular tourist cities. Tulip Inn Ritz Hotel is a revived architectural and historical jewel of XIX Century. The 120 totally remodeled rooms with all their amenities will provide you a magnificent satisfaction. Our flexible meeting facilities with a full service cater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ritz Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico Hotel Mexico City
Tulip Inn Mexico City
Ritz Mexico City
Mexico City Ritz
Golden Tulip Mexico City
Hotel Ritz Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritz Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.