We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Roberto Fulton 2-A | Ave San Lorenzo, Mexico City 54000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #151 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza in Tlalnepantla for 7 days in order to avoid the horrible traffic jams of Mexico City in the morning when going to the office a bit further north.
And that’s the main reason why you should stay in the place: you need to be in the area.
The immediate neighborhood is OK and pretty safe but not inviting to go for a walk, especially not after dark.
If you’re visiting Mexico City for tourist purposes, you better pick a hotel downtown. The trip to Zócalo takes you 40 minutes during the weekend and 1-2h during rush hour.
The hotel itself is quite nice but in need of a modernization.
Without exception, the staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful.
I took an upgrade for one night to an Executive room at the 7th floor as there was no regular room yet free during my check-in in the morning. Afterwards, I changed to a standard room and comparing both, the difference is too little to pay double the price for such an Executive room.
The lobby bar is 80s chique but very lonely when you’re still in the hotel during the weekend. It emphasizes the fact that this is a pure business hotel.
Breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant and is oriented to the Mexican taste.
In summary, good hotel if you want/need to stay in Tlalnepantla.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear ccverb0100,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
1
3
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed for two night and discovered a decent nice hotel:
Pros
- Spacious if not huge rooms including bath
- Nice buffet dinner
- Well equipped (irons, large LCD, etc)
- Free WiFi all over the place
- Free parking
- Free two 0.5L water bottles /day
- Got this nice mini-set of lotions and elixirs for relaxation, energy, etc - cool!
- Very close to shopping areas - although not walking and not safe even if it was in walking distance.

Cons
- No minibar
- Top floors has problem with WiFi reception
- Why do they keep tucking the sheets back when I pull them out?

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and your time, so we can improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

In Mexico you want to stay at a safe location. Security is very good here. Taxi's are vetted prior to allowing pickups. Easy taxi ride from airport. Excellent restaurant and Sunday brunch. Rooms have a lot of wood touches and are nice. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating. Had tried a couple of other hotels but will return here next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback,we are in the process of remodeling and re-structuring, we strive to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed there several times for business. Location is convenient if you have business in the north but there is nothing around the hotel. No good restaurants no grocery stores no shopping within walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear trevorleader,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Your feedback is important in our continuous drive for excellence. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the surrounding areas of the hotel. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. As a frequent traveler, your experience and comments are very important and will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back upon returning to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days last year. The hotel is big, nicely decorated. Spacious and clean rooms. The staff polite and heplful. I liked the roof terrace tennis court the most in addition to gym, sauna. Good buffet breakfast. Due to its location it may not be comfortable for someone who wish to visit the city centre and enjoy the city life. There is nothing nearby to hang out as its in industrial area, but its a very good option for a business traveller. Overall a great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few days, last year. The hotel & rooms are beautifully decorated, rooms are spacious and with all modern facilities. The staff was polite & helpful too.
Sports & other facilities include a Gym, fitness center, a tennis court & Sauna. The breakfast was ordinary.

The issue I faced was that the room access keys malfunctioned frequently and every time I had to go down stairs at the Front desk to get them replaced.

Another concern is the location of this property. It is located at the industrial area, so no places to hang out nearby. However, the presence of a taxi stand just outside the hotel provided convenience, as one doesn't have to pre-book or hail a taxi on street.

Overall, I had a satisfactory experience during my stay. Moreover, at a moderate price, the hotel has a great value for money, given the quality of service it offers.

Room Tip: Owing to its location, the hotel is more suitable for business travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We appreciate the time you take in this review, we are in the process of remodeling and now we have new locks with a fully updated and with greater security technology. We hope to have you with us again so that you can verify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Big hotel, nice decoration, good rooms and a wonderful breakfast, with lots of options and not expensive. The area where its located is like an industrial area, so you don't have many things to look for. For business, it's a nice hotel, with good services and staff and an average price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments and the time you take in this review, we hope to have it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla

Address: Roberto Fulton 2-A | Ave San Lorenzo, Mexico City 54000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla is strategically located near the industrial and business area North of Mexico City. Wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel. Our Club Floor offers a private lounge where you can enjoy a wonderful continental breakfast and great evening snacks. Additional hotel features include: illuminated tennis court, spa & gym, international cuisine at La Montea speciality restaurant and a spectacular lobby bar featuring live piano music. We offer the most complete meeting, banquet and exhibition facilities for up to 1,200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Mexico City North-Tlalnepantla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.