We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but terrible beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sevilla Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sevilla Palace to your Saves list
Sevilla Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 105 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice hotel but terrible beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My local office booked me at this hotel when I traveled to Mexico City last week. The hotel itself was quite nice with lots of amenities, but the beds were unbelievable.

The beds were bolted to the floor and were so hard that i tried to sleep in the chair! That did not work so i took the comforter and the extra blanked and folded them up several times to make a cushy pad to sleep on!

Next time I'm staying next door at the Embassy Suites even if it costs more!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
21
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

A gem of a hotel with friendly, competent staff. Most guests at the Sevilla Palace are business people and the staff are attentive to their demanding needs. This is a plus for us pleasure travelers for we get the same quality service.

I especially enjoy the location of the hotel near the Columbus Circle intersection and request rooms with a view of Paseo de La Reforma Ave. Easy access to all areas that I want to visit and the hotel offers free indoor parking for guests.

Have stayed at the Sevilla Palace numerous times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Four days stop in mexico city before going back to Europe. The hotel is well mantained and everyone is very kind and helpful.
Te hotel offers a beautiful swimming pool on the top roof garden, with a beautiful view of the city.
On the contrary rooms are too small and there is a big television that takes almosta half of the disposable space.
This hotel has very convenient special weekend fares but, we were very surprised, if you want to use the internet you have to buy 6 or 12 hour packages and you can't disconnect! So if you read your emails before going to sleep the morning after you have to buy another packege. It's incredible in one month spent in Mexico this is never happened. The worst thing is that at "centro de negocios", were you buy the package noone tells you anythingabout that.
Another thing that we didn't like is that the hotel ask credit card authorzation of about the double you are suppose to spend in the hotel. Also in this case no one tells anything in advance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We were very satisfied with this hotel. Although it was farther away from the historic center from previous trips, we were not disappointed. The pool and gym are located on the rooftop which has awesome views of Mexico City. The facilities were open until 10pm. Since this is a business hotel, the gym and pool were usually empty from 9am-4pm. The gym had various cardio machines and many weight machines. All with a city view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a great wireless internet connection which was free! The hotel had a decent cafe restaurant which we ate at once. It is surrounded by great taco stands and restaurants. The walking distance to the metro is about 2 large blocks (15 minutes). The hotel also has a great staffed business center, travel agency, beauty salon/barber shop, and gift shop.

Tips: We purchased all our bottled water at the local OXXO stores because they were cold and at a great price. DO NOT use the taxi's waiting outside of the hotel. Although they are trustworthy, they overcharge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west,FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Just come back from 7 days stay in these Hotel, all staff was very helpfull , polite and ready to help , any time .Rooms clean, daily service. Great location, 30 min walking distance to Museum , downtown, shoping, metro . Good breakfast in hotel restaurant , we did use hotel restaurant for dinner 2 x. Starbuck cross the streat for good coffe.
Well vorth take hotel "taxi" to pyramid - all day $150.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and i went on a familly vacation with my aunt, cousins and grandmother and we ALL loved it!
Everyone was VERY nice and polite, had no problems with anything. My cousins are thinking about coming back this Dec08 since my aunt past away in 05 and we are probably going back with them for the memories :),
This hotel is the BEST, great location and very SAFE :)

S&K from Fort Smith, Arkansas

  • Liked — great location and friendliness
  • Disliked — it was all good
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

I've been to this hotel twice in less than a month. I stayed for 4 nights each time but on my next trip I'll probably change.
I have nothing against this hotel, I just want to try something else so I can compare properly.
I'll probably edit this post once i return to Mexico but the for the time beeing let me quickly describe my experience.
The rooms are very large and if you get a high exterior room you'll have a great view over the city (ask for the back side of the hotel, more quiet and better view). The bed was very big and comfortable and I had everything I needed: big desk, arm chair etc... The bathrom did seem a little old but it was functional enough.
I dinned at the Naranjo's several times and it was worth it. Most of the employees were very pleasent (specially the maids) but the front desk people not so much.
One thing that made my stay very positive was the all around wifi connection. I travel with my laptop all the time and it was great to use the internet even during breakfast.

As I said, it is a nice hotel, but before I give my final opinion I'd like to compare it with another 5 star hotel in Mexico D.F.

  • Liked — Big rooms
  • Disliked — A little old fashion, poor bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sevilla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevilla Palace

Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 105 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevilla Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sevilla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevilla Palace Mexico City
Sevilla Palace Hotel Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevilla Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.