We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitten By Bugs - Low Standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prim

Save Saved
You added Hotel Prim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Prim
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Versalles 46 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 280 hotels in Mexico City
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Bitten By Bugs - Low Standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights - was attached by bigs for the first 2 night before being moved to a much smaller room without any other accommodation. When I requested a refund I was given the run around and told that they were not sure if I was bitten in their hotel. Stay Away from this place. It is a .5 Star Hotel at Best. On the weekends the bass noise from the club nearby went on nearly all night - so don't stay here on a weekend if you plan to sleep. The breakfast that is included is a piece of bread, jam, fruit (5 little slices) OR a small glass of juice, and coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    21
    9
    16
See reviews for
10
21
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

OK, to be honest I have only stayed here in Mexico City but I have stayed there 3 times because for the money and the location it's great. The staff is lovely from the housekeepers on. Is it real new and fancy? No, it's not. It's old and comfy and I like it. The rooms are large and always clean and they will come up at ANY hour and clean it for you if you want/need them to. You can get tours arranged at the front desk if you want to go on one and there are 2 Metro stops in short walking distance as well as plenty of "street food" and other conveniences". The restaurant is not bad and there is live music in the bar. After reading some of the other reviews I am firmly convinced some people should never leave their own homes let alone their own country.The Prim is not a 5 Star Luxury Hotel and if you want 5 star PAY for 5 star It is what it is, a friendly, clean and safe place to lay your head when visiting Mexico City.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

I paid over $50 to stay, but it's definetly NOT a 4 stars hotel. You can find much better in the same area for less. Windows had shots, bathroom all broken, pillows and bed with no sheets, no toilet paper. The only good thing about the hotel si the staff. It's not a touristic hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensenville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I booked online so I wasn't familiar with the hotel when I arrived. The internet rate is like half the regular rate. But, even then... the room is dilapidated. The window was cracked. The toilet seat was broken. The carpet was threadbare. The few pieces of furniture in the lobby was falling apart. I went to the restaurant for a cup of ice, and the rude woman/maitre d' told me if I asked her again, she was going to charge me for the ice. The kitchen was open to the dining room, and looking at it, I didn't bother eating there even with the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Booking online, i thought this hotel was decent. The pictures are a lie.
For $35 you get ruin down room, with chipped furnitures of very bad taste and old carpet. The bath room is nice and pleasant. The place is hot (i do not remember if they have AC). The inside looks like an old hotel from the 60's.
The buffet is good, but be careful, your free breakfast is not for the Buffet. Only for a tea, bread and juice. (i had to pay $7 extra for the buffet i had eaten without knowing that).
The employees were nice and pleasant.

MY REAL COMPLAIN IS : The room do not look as nice as they seem on the picture and it really look like a low class hotel in the lobby. If i were paying 15/20 USD i would understand but for $30+ you can get a lot better in DF.

But the neighborhood is good. Only the area of the station is questionable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Cheap, clean and basic hotel. Good location. Funeral agency right across the street...

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel is the worst I have been to. No A/C, they give you complimentary hot water bottles, then you ask for ice, they send you to go buy at supermarket, they charge you for hot water, they charge you for breakfast for children, roaches crawling up the walls, bathroom dirty and sticks. Rooms are stinky, stuffy, no ceilings or floor fans. Not recommended for people with Asthma. Rugs very dirty in room. Stood there 1 night and checked out before my time, I was fully reimbursed my 2 nights. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Prim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prim

Address: Versalles 46 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 280 hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Prim 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Prim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prim Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Prim Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.