We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay again because of WIFI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Florencia

Save Saved
You added Plaza Florencia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Plaza Florencia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Florencia 61 Col Juarez | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY BOOKING 30% OFF
Ranked #55 of 277 hotels in Mexico City
New York, NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“would not stay again because of WIFI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

the WIFI is a complete nightmare. it is nearly impossible to get connected (the signal is strong, but something about the network settings is crazy), and if you are lucky enough to get online, it won't last. i had never-ending trouble with both devices (iphone & macbook). every morning and night i would restart my devices, browsers, erase settings, etc., etc., for a good 30 minutes trying to get online. when it finally worked (completely random, never figured out why each time), it would knock me off again a few minutes later & the cycle would start again. such an enormous waste of time on vacation, and so frustrating. if you have serious work to do or info to look up, you're in big trouble.

the fitness room is also useless

besides that, the staff is REALLY nice and helpful. the room was spacious and clean and perfectly comfortable for a basic hotel. the location was great, very near the metro and with restaurants and stores (24 hours) nearby. the price was awesome. i had breakfast (off the menu) in the restaurant one day and it was pretty good. lots of noise from clubs nearby, but i travel with earplugs, so i dont mind that much.

honestly, it WOULD be a perfect budget option for Mexico City, but there's no room for bad internet service in this day and age, so i'm sorry to say i won't go back for that 1 reason only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your sincere words. For us the most important are our clients. We haven’t had a problem with the internet WiFi , maybe the people haven’t reported but We have checked this and the report has been sent to the General Manager to give a solution. We are very grateful to know that you didn’t have any incident with our staff. We are sorry for the incident but we invite you again to give the best service in all the aspects you will welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    94
    52
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
53
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Emergency in DF and Plaza Florencia did the job, clean room and quiet experience, fast, easy access, close to the Independence Angel and Insurgentes Subway station. walking is better or bike than driving.
Friendly staff and very helpful with directions and recommendation for dinning and sightseeing, Fare price for the area being so close to Zona Rosa and Roma, condesa.

Room Tip: I got the last room on the floor and it was fantastic. nice sleeeeep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are grateful to know that you didn’t have any incidents in the hotel and all the staff was friendly with you and they gave you the most important information about the area and you will welcome whenever you want. We will give the best service for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a wonderful 6 day trip to Mexico City. Stayed at Plaza Florencia, location was perfect. A very happening place, active till late at night yet the room was quiet. Visited all the sites recommended here like Zocalo, Pyramids, Chapultepec, Frida Kahlo, Palacia and Anthropology mueseums etc. Overwhelming experience admiring the art of Diego and Frida. Zocalo was lively, had lots of street food. Roads were always safe with lots of cops/guards everywhere (maybe being Xmas/NY holiday time) Traveled by the metro like the locals...Would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the Mexican experience. Our Sapnish was very limited but people were always very helpful and explain in gestures, a great experience!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We would like to give you thanks to publish your experience in Mexico City. Really we have a lot of places that you can visit in all the days. For us is very grateful to known that you have nothing incidents in the hotel and in the all places that you visited. Thank you for your recommendation about our city. We always wish the people who visit DF have the most experience in all aspects. You will welcome to HPF in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great location as it is surrounded by restaurants and isn't too far from Roma, Roma Norte and Condessa. We actually went to bars and restaurantes in those areas of the city and walked back to the hotel in around 25 mins. The hotel is also close to the metro station which is helpful for sightseeing. The hotel itself is clean and the room was very comfortable. The breakfast was nice and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It´s wonderful to see this kind of reviews for the area that really helps our clients. The Zona Rosa and all the closes places are very security for all the people and the tourists. We are really satisfaction to know that you received our best service in all the aspects and you didn’t have any incident. Thank you so much and we hope you will have another opportunity to visit Mexico City. Do not hesitate to contact us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Didn't know what 'Zona Roza' meant when I booked but honestly couldn't be happier. Price, location, service, and parking all above expectation. The neighbourhood is clean, quiet (for a city of 30 million), and well situated in terms of walking to the various central sites, I absolutely would not recommend driving anywhere between the hours of 1pm and 1am unless you really enjoy sitting in traffic and playing chicken with drivers to see who wins the coveted "one half car length race". This was one time I wish I brought my wife along .... other than that great value for $

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your experience in Mexico City. We know that the city is really busy and the traffic is horrible but if you need to visit some close area from the hotel you can do it walking and enjoying all the places. We hope you had a good experience in the hotel and enjoyed your stayed. Do not hesitate to contact us again if you decided to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I call this place "home away from home" because every time I go to Mexico City I stay there. It is a simple hotel but with all you need, location is perfect, close to everything. The place is clean, beds are great and big with nice quality linens, the room is not huge but works perfect with everything you need, bathrooms are clean and with all the amenities you need. The staff is always professional and friendly. Is not big about food or restaurants and don't pretend to be but because of the location in the heart of Zona Rosa, there are hundreds of great options to experiment.

I really recommend this place to any traveler; I have stayed in this hotel at least 8 or 10 times and is very consistent, rare thing these days in hotels.

Room Tip: ask for rooms that don't face Florencia Ave... they are just mre quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing HPF! It is wonderful to read this comments. We work hardly every day to give the best service. You will welcome here whatever day you want to rest. The hotel has changed in all the rooms with the beds, clothes beds, the internet service and we are changing the TV. We are grateful with your sincerely words about our staff. These kinds of comments motivate us every day to continue with our job and thank you for your advices at the guests. Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bay Area, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I chose this hotel for it's location and price ($60 before taxes) - and we were happy to find good restaurants on the streets around, plus Chapultepec Park and major museums in a walking distance (15-20 min down a beautiful Reforma) . Our room # 906 was very quiet (overlooking the inner courtyard - not Florencia st- with a partial view of the mountains. the a/c was loud, but we did not need it due to the season (late October). The room was cleaned every day, and having hardwood floors in the room was a huge plus. We wouldn't order the king size room, b/c the bed was much bigger than any king size i'd ever seen, and it filled the entire space to the point that we could not move the chair by the desk. Though the bed was comfortable, and linens - adequate. Free safe in the closet is a big plus. The bathroom is bare bone, with small toiletries and harsh towels (no washing cloth). But the countertop has enough space, so BYO everything. We had not problems with hot and cold water, as other reviews stated. The shower was strong and responsive any time of the day or night. The staff at the front desk was sort of indifferent to us(everybody speaks English), with the great exception of Concierge Victor and his younger colleague Juan - they helped us very eagerly every day, and we are very grateful for their assistance. The breakfast at the hotel cafe was better than any other place in the area - we tried 3 or 4 and came to the conclusion that the service is faster and more attentive here. They offer buffet for about $15, but it was too much, so we were ordering from the menu. I would not recommend ask a taxi from the front desk as they tend to call their buddies who want twice more than any regular cab from the street, they are plenty, easy to flag down and you can negotiate the price before taking a ride or go with the meter on. My husband and I liked the city, but could not cover all sights during our 6 days visit, so next time will try the new Plaza Florencia Suites across the street from this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a window NOT on Florencia Av. will guarantee a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Florencia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It is fun to see that you had a good experience with the Bell Boys. This kind of comments for them are very satisfactory. Really we have to give you thanks to send your comments about all because of them we can change the service or improve it. We are very happy to know all the comments that the guests send us!. In the other hand all people who can see this experience could trust in the guests who really had a real experience and the future guest will probably proud in Hotel PF and of course we will give the best service in all the aspects. Don’t forget to contact us in your next visit to Mexico City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Florencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Florencia

Also Known As:
Plaza Florencia Hotel Mexico City
Plaza Florencia Mexico City
Address: Florencia 61 Col Juarez | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#42 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Florencia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Florencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Florencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.