We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid work, I recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Reforma

Save Saved
You added Emporio Reforma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emporio Reforma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Paseo de la Reforma 124 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Solid work, I recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here last weekend while I was in town for a wedding. It's located on Reforma Ave which is a massive road lined with high rise buildings and hotels. Emporio Reforma is not a massive resort hotel but what it does have is a very upscale boutique feel to it. As mentioned in other reviews, I did feel that it caters to a more upscale business clientele. My Spanish language skills are not very strong and I prefer to communicate in English and most of the staff were able to communicate with me which was a welcome relief. The location on Reforma was excellent, I was able to get to run to bosque chapultepec, for a morning jog in about 10 minutes. There are plenty of taxis around including the tourist taxis which were queued up in the rear entrance.

The room was not very large, and 2 people might feel little cramped, but it was perfectly fine for my needs. There was a DVD player and LCD TV in the room, but my remote wasn't working. But no matter because there was wi-fi available, and plenty to do outside of the hotel anyway. However the wifi did run slower then what I am used to at home. The bathroom was clean and had a Jacuzzi tub for one person. I had to get used to turning on the sink slowly because the style of the bowl would send water all over the place if I flipped in on full blast.

I visited the Condimento restaurant for breakfast and dinner. It's located on the second floor, which you get to by pressing the "1" on the elevator. (This was new to me, PB is the ground floor) It has a nice view of Reforma from seats by the windows. The menu was available in English. The food was good and the prices were decent. I think it was like $30 USD for an appetizer, steak and a few beers. It was at this point that I realized there was some construction going on directly adjacent to the hotel, apparently there was still work going on at 7 in the evening and I could hear some clanging from inside the restaurant. However, I never heard anything from my room, which was facing the back of the hotel on the 5th floor. The servers were nice and between my terrible Spanish and their English (which was good), we made it work.

The breakfast buffet($130 Pesos - $10 USD) has a good spread: fresh fruit and traditional breakfast food with omelet station and the usual breakfast food. There was a musician setting up to play some music on Sunday morning to. No reservations were required for breakfast (I read that in another review).

There is some room for improvement, but Emporio Reforma made my trip very smooth.

Room Tip: My room was on the side away from Reforma, not a great view, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    107
    30
    15
    2
See reviews for
32
88
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I spent 4 nights here. The hotel was exceptionally clean. The staff were super-helpful. This is one of the best buffet breakfasts and lunches I have had anywhere. The only complain is that the room was very small. However, it was great value as the price was way less than other 4-5 star hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have bigger rooms here, but you might want to check. While mine was very cleverly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I spent 3 nights here for a conference in another part of the city. The organizers put us all up here because this hotel has been favorably received in the past. It is clean, modestly appointed and centrally located. You can taxi anywhere. Taxis are cheap but the need more of them. Staff is helpful but not always informed. Breakfast is incredible. Anything you may desire is served up. Really fresh fruit and wonderful grilled items. Coffee is bad but Mexican/American. My single room was quite small but the bathroom was large.

Room Tip: Don't stay on floor one. This is where food is served and it gets noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Last year, I lived at this hotel for about 2 months. It has great security, a very helpful and pleasant staff. After a short time one becomes part of the family. Things not normally done anywhere-like keeping your apartment keys at the hotel so others coming into town can use it- or storing your luggage until you can get back to town, or for providing even help you need it- like fixing the power or plumbing in ones apartment- or anything you need or want - is all taken care of effortlessly by the staff here. Everything is done for you without a worry. I always stay here when I am able to: even though I have an apartment in the university area, i like to stay here when I have guests in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very close to historical places. Nice rooms with jacuzzi. Good service at the restaurant. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The first two nights we had what they call a matrimonial bed which is really a full. The room was very small and we barely fit in the bed. Maybe it realy was a single. The bathroom was huge and modern but they cut the a/c at night so it was very hot and sticky. The third night we upgraded and go a junior suite. It was fabulous. The best bed and softer towels. The staff was wonderful. Very kind and helpful. The cafe had great food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is the ideal business hotel. There is great wireless access everywhere, you can sit with your laptop in the cafe for hours, and the restaurant is good for meetings. I think I was the only female guest, so it was me and The Suits (this is THE hotel for Mexican businessmen), although apparently Lady Gaga had been there days before. Don’t let this make your think the place is plush--my room was small, modest, and affordable (booked over the Internet). The room was clean, although the curtains, desk, and chair were a bit grimy. The windows opened for fresh air and the staff was very attentive. I’ll stay here again provided I get a good rate. The location is great, although Roma is far more hip. One complaint is that the business centre fee for printing is outrageous, about US$0.58 a page.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporio Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Reforma

Address: Av Paseo de la Reforma 124 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Reforma 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Emporio Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Reforma Mexico City
Emporio Reforma Hotel Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporio Reforma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.