We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mid-Priced Hotel Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lafragua No. 7 Col. Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 279 hotels in Mexico City
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Mid-Priced Hotel Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights in late December and found Hotel Casa Blanca to be a great hotel for us. We had a junior suite for about $100/night - the extra room was nice with two kids - 11 and 14. There were two pull-out beds in the living room, and we also had a sauna (not that we used it much). The location is great, walking distance to 2 subway stations as well as the zocalo (about 20 minute walk to the zocalo). Our room was extremely quiet, although the fact that the hotel was relatively empty when we stayed probably helped in that regard. Hotel staff were very nice, and there always seemed to be someone at the desk that spoke English. We ate at the cheaper of the two restaurants on-site (the other didn't seem to be open) and had a good meal - nothing spectacular, but good and nice service.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    67
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
54
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2005

Stayed at Casa Blanca Dec. 9-11. Convenient to Hidalgo metro station, but little more. Not a great place at night for wandering about, not close enought to Zona Rosa to walk; take a cab. Even so, very good value, excellent staff, and clean, affordable room. Prefer location closer to Zona Rosa (where there is much happening at night, so it's safer to walk around), but I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2004

This was our first trip to Mexico City (my fiance, myself and 2 teenagers - a son and a daughter) and I didn't have a clue as to where we should stay. I did some research on the Internet and decided that the Casa Blanca Hotel had the location and amenities that we were looking for. I would have to say that the property exceeded my expectations, so much so, that we decided to extend our stay from 3 nights to 7 nights (we were spoiled!)

We stayed in a 2-room suite with 1 1/2 baths and 2 televisions (which was great for the kids). The rooms and bathrooms were extremely spacious and nicely appointed. The bathrooms were all marble and the full bath had a tub/shower, bidette and double sink. There were 2 queen beds, a twin size sleep sofa and a huge dining table. The room had a safe, 2 closets and plenty of dressers and storage space. The highest nightly rate that we paid for this elegant suite was $115 (USD) and some nights were less.

We ate quite a few of our meals in the room, since the room service menu had a good selection and was reasonably priced. The food was great, as was the food in the dining room. (They also have a more formal Mexican Restaurant, but we didn't try it.)

There is a roof top pool which has a spectacular view of the City. Off the pool area is a Lounge and full bar that you can hang around in while you swim. One end of the pool is shallow enough to sit in (the water is clean and as warm as bathwater!)and the other end is maybe about 4' deep.

The Hotel has a gift shop where we could pick up any of the incidentals that we forgot to pack (there is also a Sanborn's store across the street) and they have computers with Internet access. There is also a cocktail lounge with entertainment on the first floor.

The staff was extremely hospitable and friendly. There was always someone on the Front Desk who spoke English. They had 24-hour money exchange and were very helpful in assisting us in arranging tours and transportation.

The housekeeping staff was excellent - the rooms and common areas were very clean. I felt very safe staying here as there is always a doorman on duty and plenty of staff roaming around.

Although I have read other's comments that their taxis were somewhat expensive, they generally arrange for you to have registered tour guides, rather than regular taxi drivers. The only time that we were dissappointed was when they arranged one of our trips with a regular taxi driver. He drove very fast and aggressive and did not speak English. (He had a license plate that started with "L" and our AAA Guidebook warns against using taxis that have plates that begin with "L".) Also, some of the taxi drivers are open to dealing on their rate (the price of the tours, however, seem to be non-negotiable).

Our favorite tour guide/taxi driver was named "George". He was very personable and spoke great English. His car wasn't the greatest, but he was very informative and drove safely. I was sick on the tour, so he extended it by an hour and didn't charge us any additional money. The tour (to the Pyramids, the Shrine of Guadeloupe and the Plaza of the 3 Cultures) cost about $85 (USD). It was supposed to be 6 hours long, so that only works out to about $14 per hour, which is not bad, considering that you have a personal tour guide. Ask for George if you go there...you will not be disappointed.

If I did this vacation again, the only thing that I would have done differently, would be to take the Turibus tour (double-decker bus) on the first day. This is an excellent way to get acclimated to the area and to figure out which sites you would like to visit. The rates for this 2 1/2 hour tour are about $10 (USD) and about $13.50 on Sundays. There is a bus stop about a block away, in front of the Fiesta Americana Hotel. We also took the regular bus transportation for shorter trips and found them very convenient.

Overall, we were extremely pleased with the Casa Blanca Hotel and would return there if we ever visit Mexico City again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2003

Our 1st visit to Mexico City and our travel agency booked us into the Casa Blanca after some problems at another hotel and we were delighted.
The food at the resturants were good. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The service was good and lots of things to see within walking distance if you like to walk. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2003

I was twice in the Casa Blanca and had a great time there. The Staff speaks good english and the resataurants in the hotel are great. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The Zocalo is about 5 minutes by taxi. Do not take a taxi in front of the hotel. Stop a green beetle and insist on using the taxameter.

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2002

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times so far. If you are used to the comfort of US business hotels, but is more budget minded, this will do just fine. Good restaurants, nicely appointed rooms, good service. So far I haven't had any bad experience with this hotel. If you are in Mexico City for sightseeing, this hotel is within a walking distance to a lot of attractions. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that the taxi guys that are usually in front of the hotel tend to over charge you 10-20% more. They are courteous and secure, and certainly very convenient, however. A half block away is a Samborn restaurant, a nice business breakfast/lunch place. In front of the restaurant is a bus stop for the combis that go up and down the Reforma from Hidalgo Metro Station to Chapultepec Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City

Address: Lafragua No. 7 Col. Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 279 hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the political, economic and cultural heart of Mexico City, just a few steps from the most important avenues of the city: Reforma and Juarez.Our professionally trained staff will always offer you the most friendly service, anytime, everytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Mexico City
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.