We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room, Great Location, and Fantastic Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amberes Suites

Save Saved
You added Amberes Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amberes Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Amberes, 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 6600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 280 hotels in Mexico City
Xalapa, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spacious Room, Great Location, and Fantastic Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a recent trip I needed to visit the US Embassy, so I decided to stay in the Zona Rosa. The hotel is about three blocks from the Insurgentes Metro station and less than a ten-minute walk from El Angel Independence monument and the embassy. I was by myself but landed a huge suite with sitting area, kitchen, dining area, large desk, reading nook with couch, and two bedrooms with double beds. The suite could easily accommodate five guests. It was nicely decorated with Mexican artesania and reproductions of pre-columbian artifacts.
Maybe the best part was the free breakfast, served in the hotel's classy restaurant. There were about twelve full-breakfast choices, and the molletes I chose (with bacon) were the best I've ever had.
The staff was very helpful. I was able to use the laptop in the Business Center to check my e-mail. (The hotel has wifi throughout, but I didn't bring my computer along.)
At $89 US I think I got a real bargain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I selected the Suites Amberes after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor. The reviews did not disappoint. We were picked up by the hotel shuttle right on time and got the the hotel on a busy Friday afternoon. We had a 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. I requested a room with a balcony but was told only the 1 bedroom suites have balconies. The suite was very clean and all the appliances, TV;s frig, WI-FI, etc worked well.
I was quite impressed with the workout/sauna area on the 7th floor. There are several cardio machines along with weight machine and a couple free weights. There is a separate room for both men's and womens' sauna. The sauna worked extremely well. I would advised that you bring flip flops or something for your feet, both for hygene purposes and the fact that the sauna floors are ceramic and can be very slippery when wet. If you want to use their free shuttle back to the airport on you way home, give them a 24 hour notice. I communicate my flight plans via e-mail and it worked out well. I would certainly book another stay with Amberes Suites next time I go to Mexico City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was in Mexico for a week on business and decided to stay here. Its in the Zona Rosa which is a very safe area filled with bars shops and restaurants. I was picked up from the airport by their courtesy bus and I was so happy as peak time traffic in Mexico city has to be seen to be believed and a taxi would have cost me a fortune. The hotel is in a quite narrow street and its not too impressive from the outside but check in was very quick and easy and my bag was taken to my room. I was on the seventh floor and when the lift opened there was a small landing area with two bedroom doors infront of you. It is unfair to call this a hotel room or suite as I walked into the largest one bedroom flat I have ever been in, It was huge. A bedroom with a very comfy bed and more wardrobe ( closet for the USA) space than even Sheila Dawson couldnt fill. Great bathroom and huge windows everywhere mean its very light. What sets this place apart from the rest is the lounge area. Large wooden table with four sturdy wooden chairs, a sofa, two armchairs, flat screen tv, a breakfast bar, cooker fridge, microwave and a large balcony. There was no chance anybody could ever go stir crazy in a place this big.
I think the management operate a " no friendly smile no job policy" as everybody is helpful friendly and efficient.
There have been a few comments about the limited breakfast and I would have agreed but on the third day I was presented with a new breakfast menu with a much wider choice.
Hotel bar closes early so I spent more than one evening in the bar/ restaurant opposite the hotel entrance and that place is well worth a visit aswell.
Not many Brits have reviewed this hotel and I would say that taking into account the rooms, facilities, staff, and location there is certainly no better value for money anywhere between Mexico City and the North of England.
Gracias a todos y hasta la proxima.
Saludos
Nick

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staying here was like staying at home. My friend, my mother and I stayed at one of their suites and it felt like we staying at cozy and spacious apartment. We could watch t.v. and relax there. It had a kitchen so you could make something if you wish and a small refrigerator. There was a small dining table and a small work office area. The rooms were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, spacious and modern.

The driver that picked and dropped us off was wonderful. He was friendly and informative. The staff overall were helpful and courteous, although not very friendly. Whenever we had a question about something regarding the town, they were gracious enough to help us obtain information.

We had the free breakfast every morning. It was a very simple breakfast. I wish that the hotel had better coffee.

The location of the hotel was very good as it has so many different things that you can get into. We went to a casino that was just two blocks away. There are restaurants, bars, and some great stores. Because it is in a busy area, if you are bother with the slightest noise, this might not be the place for you. However, the noise is not so loud that you can't tune it out or always hear it.

I highly recommend this hotel for its convenience, comfort, location and reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travel to Mexico City annually, and always choose this hotel for our stay in Mexico City.

Located right in the center of the Zona Rosa, it has so much to offer.

We stay in one of the one bedroom suites with a lovely large balcony overlooking the semi-busy street.

For the same price as a hotel room, here you get a full one bedroom suite. Great for a longer stay, having a full kitchen, bedroom, living room, dining room and den.

The staff are so very helpful, kind and courteous.
We are able to leave our heavy luggage here and make some short trips to the surrounding area.

Wi-Fi available right in the rooms, and 2 large flat screen TV's with hundreds of channels available.

Breakfast is included in the price, served in their lovely restraruant. Excellent selection of breakfast items, and fresh squeezed orange juice.

I look forward to returning ever year.

Room Tip: As long as you don't mind a bit of street noise, get a room on the front with the large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband, I and our adult son stayed at Amberes Suites (in a 2 bedroom unit) for a week in February 2013. We were delighted to have the extra space in this well located hotel. Breakfast was also wonderful. Fresh fruit was served each day, with a basket of pastries, coffee, and orange juice. For my entree I enjoyed Huevos Rancheros with all the traditional sides, plus crisp bacon. Never an extra charge for any request. While clearly it has been years since the hotel's last renovation, the environment is kept sparkling by their excellent housekeeping personnel.

Room Tip: Apartment units facing Calle Amerberes are nosier. (Each floor has two units facing the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying in Suites Amberes is like visiting an old-fashioned apartment belonging to a Mexican friend of a good family who has gone on vacation and has left the place for you to stay in. It definitely looks like it used to be a high class condominium building before it became a hotel, with only four apartments on each floor. My apartment had two bedrooms, a kitchen with most necessary utensils, very large dining room and sitting room, plus a little alcove where an extra guest might sleep in the sofa-bed. It is definitely a very reasonable option for a family with more than three members. The overall furnishing is old-fashioned Mexican modern, maybe of the 1970s taste, making you fell like being in an old Mexican television drama... A good traditional Mexican breakfast (included) is served on order in the dining room by traditional-mannered waiters. Although Zona Rosa is a rather uninteresting place to be in Mexico City, I can recommend Suites Amberes to those who are interested in the elegant, urban Mexican lifestyle of the 20th centruy. Wi-Fi in all rooms and an excellent business center and gym on the top floor. I will always keep this place in mind whenever I visit Mexico City again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amberes Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberes Suites

Address: Amberes, 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 6600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amberes Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Amberes Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberes Hotel Mexico City
Amberes Suites Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amberes Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.