We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Palace and performing arts center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Bellas Artes

Palacio de Bellas Artes
Avenida Juarez y Eje Central s/n | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
51 30 09 00 ext. 2528
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$1,595*
and up
7-Night Culinary Tour of Mexico: Mexico City...
Ranked #4 of 273 Attractions in Mexico City
Type: Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic white marble building serves as both the city's top performance hall and an art museum.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Palace and performing arts center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had the chance to see the Lausanne Ballet there. I had a very good view from all the spectacle although I bought the lowest price tickets. The art nouveau lighting is superb.
The only problem is that the ticket's sale opens from 10 to 19pm

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    422
    78
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On this visit, we only had time to enjoy the refreshments and pleasant service at the small cafe on site as well as the beautiful architecture just inside the building before we had to continue our walk toward Centro. Worth a stop for a long or short visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Art Deco and Ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just a walk through this exquisite building with enormous murals of Diego Rivera and other well know artists is a true joy. We were lucky enough to score tickets for a ballet performance and loved the magnificent Art Deco theater within this palace. Wait til you see the magnificent Tiffany dome inside the theater. A great experience. There's is also a café on the first floor and although we didn't have time to try it this time, we will next time around.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Free tourist guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A young student working with the museum actually gave us a free tour. I tried to give her a tip but she refused. Very informed and helpful

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Architecture and Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went on a Sunday, and it was kind of busy. The interior of the building is so cool. We were there to see the Diego murals, and all the other murals. They were amazing. We didn't go to the other exhibits on, but did head up to the top floor to see the architecture exhibit......it was interesting, but very little English, so not sure at times what we were looking at. But do go, we loved our few hours there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio de Bellas Artes also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Palacio de Bellas Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Bellas Artes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.