We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the murals and stay a while...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Bellas Artes

Palacio de Bellas Artes
Avenida Juarez y Eje Central s/n | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
51 30 09 00 ext. 2528
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Palacio de Bellas Artes like an insider
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 401 things to do in Mexico City
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic white marble building serves as both the city's top performance hall and an art museum.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“See the murals and stay a while...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Seeing Diego Rivera's famous mural that was destroyed in Rockefeller Center in 1934. Diego wisely repainted it in the Palacio de Bellas Artes. Other murals by Mexican muralists are worth seeing too and the building itself is quite an interesting piece of primarily Neoclassical and Art Nouveau, with the interior primarily Art Deco style.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,714
    545
    99
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing on the day we visited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Check to see if the murals and upper floors are open for visitors. When we visited, the murals were covered in plastic and no one could go upstairs. The restaurant had a limited and expensive menu.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice to People Watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I walked the 7 blocks from my Hostel to the entrance of the very nice and spacious park. I knew that I was headed in the right direction because you can see the “Golden” rooftop from blocks away. Entering from the backside, I came upon a rather large park with loads of benches to sit and watch the world go by. There is also some cement, circular benches with back-rest if you want to sit and watch the water from the fountains. (Later in the day, I walked back by the fountains and the kids of all ages where having a great time throwing each other into the fountains with their clothing on). I stayed in the park about 30 minutes and then walked over to the Palacio. I was a little mixed up because I thought that the Palacio was an old mansion because of the name. You enter the Palacio through a very wide area filled with more seating and the music-grinders everywhere playing their music. What was nice was that there was not any "merchandise" vendors there. The Palacio is huge. The courtyard is beautiful with 4 large green areas and statues. I went inside. I was a little disappointed because I could not get up to the upper level where the museums were without paying a fee. (It was Saturday). And they only accept cash or American express to see any of the shows. I did visit the bookstore and the gift-shop buying postcards and a beautifully made “journal” before heading back outside to have a sit-down. A note on the stairs inside. They are marble and very slippery, so be extra careful and hold onto the hand-rails. For me the action was outside. People were just standing around the entrance and in the huge courtyard either looking or waiting for someone. This is where the action was. From music vendors to others doing things with Batons and Hula-Hoops. I sat for hours just watching people move about. I was not able to witness the “Folk” dancing due to the lateness of the hour that it was to perform. Overall it is a nice place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Murals worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been in the building twice, and really enjoyed the murals by a variety of artists, but have never been able to go inside the auditorium to see the Tiffany curtain, something my partner really wanted to see. First time building under construction, 2nd time we could only go in at a certain time in the afternoon and we had other things to see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for Muertos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Palacio featured Day of the Dead altars, performances, and puestos as part of the festivities throughout the City.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio de Bellas Artes also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Palacio de Bellas Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Bellas Artes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.