We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Casona to your Saves list
Hotel La Casona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durango 280 | Col. Roma - Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #81 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Lausanne
1 review
“Just incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The moment I got there, someone smiled straight away and started talking to me, the reservation was found quickly and they took me to my room which was a gorgeous old school unique room, i had never seen a room like that. I went to the bar for a drink had an amazing scotch and then i decided why not to go out and walk around. The guy behind the reception saw me going out and decided to give me a map show me the interesting spots of where to go to and told me where not to. I had an amazing time and will definitely come back to this little charming mexican hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
22
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at La Casona five times over the past six years and each time has been very good. The rooms and bathrooms are large and in good condition. The breakfast is lovely (some might complain because it is lighter, more healthful options like a whole grain cerial mix and fruit, you have to pay for eggs and such, but for me, that's much better than a heavy American breakfast, so I was thrilled). Only complaints are that they offer free internet, but it isn't very reliable, so maybe almost better not to offer it, and the room was a but stuffy. I recommend a room that doesn't face the street - it isn't noisy, but the lights from the street mean it's too bright to open the curtains at night. But it's a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

A nice little hotel with great rooms and an extremely friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The building is beautiful and has lots of character; We loved the decor in our bedroom, it is a very special Mexican style, very colorful and the furniture were very nice also. The location was excellent, we could go walking around to nearby shopping and restaurants. Since we were busy attending a wedding in Mexico City we just had dinner at their restaurant one time. We really like the food and the service, It was a little pricy compared with the prices in Mexico City but we did enjoy it.
We can´t wait to go back.
Thanks La Casona and staff for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barzago, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I am a business traveler and I wanted to experience this hotel after I saw it going around the city. The staff is really kind and helpful, the decoration is excellent, rooms are comfortable and quiet, the wireless internet worked fine and the metro station is not too far away.

  • Liked — Room decoration
  • Disliked — The available selection at breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Casona for 4 nights. The
hotel staff were helpful with our numerous requests and the rooms were wonderful, clean and quiet. There are two handy computers upstairs with free internet.

The concierge also organised a driver, Julio, for our trip to the pyramid site 50 kms from the centre who was extremely knowledgeable and highly recommended.

  • Liked — the building, decor, comfortable spacious rooms, high ceilings, big bathrooms, sitting room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Having read earlier Trip Advisor reviews in relation to this hotel, it was with some hesitation that I made a reservation. On balance, my opinion is that most of the criticisms are valid, albeit that some of them are relatively trivial.

The hotel building is magnificent and the public areas beautifully decorated. Although clean, the bedroom decoration was less stylish and a little tired. The bed linen was worn and there was only one dressing gown for two people. It could not be said that there was anything like the attention to detail that is usually associated with boutique hotels.

Without doubt the most disappointing feature of the hotel was the service. Aside from one chap, the staff were at best unhelpful and at worst rude. They certainly did not consider it within their remit to answer questions about sightseeing, local amenities, etc. A particularly memorable instance was that we wanted to package a fragile article in order to transport it home. In answer to our request for advice, the receptionists simply said that they didn't know. No effort was made to give consideration to the request, let alone make enquiries. We eventually found a shop specialising in packaging just a couple of minutes down the street.

On the morning of our departure, the restaurant was 45 minutes late in opening for breakfast which meant that we were unable to take a meal that we had paid for. My request for a partial refund was treated with derision.

The hotel's greatest advantage is its location on a relatively quiet street and within 15 minutes (safe) walk of a wide range of excellent restaurants.

Taking everything into consideration, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona

Address: Durango 280 | Col. Roma - Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, a small cozy hotel in a central location in the Colonia Roma / Condesa, the hotel represents a new contribution to traditional hospitality. Our Mexico City hotel is devoted to offering comfort and service at a level of excellence for that very special traveller looking for personalized attention, elegance, privacy and comfort in a small, central and exclusive hotel. Built at the beginning of the last century, Hotel La Casona is a mansion with elegant facade, a beautiful patio and has been listed by the National Institute of fine arts in Mexico as a historic monument. It's 29 exclusive hotel rooms, exquisitly furnished, equipted with air conditioning and heating, guarantee all the facilities for contemporary comfort. The strategic location of Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, near Chapultepec Park and Emperor Maximilian's Paseo de la Reforma Avenue, a few minutes walk from the Mexico City Anthropology Museum, offers our hotel guests the possibility of organizing different activities in the city, without getting involved in the bustle of the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Mexico City
Hotel La Casona Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.