We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Casona to your Saves list
Hotel La Casona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durango 280 | Col. Roma - Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico (Condesa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 297 Hotels in Mexico City
washington dc
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at La Casona five times over the past six years and each time has been very good. The rooms and bathrooms are large and in good condition. The breakfast is lovely (some might complain because it is lighter, more healthful options like a whole grain cerial mix and fruit, you have to pay for eggs and such, but for me, that's much better than a heavy American breakfast, so I was thrilled). Only complaints are that they offer free internet, but it isn't very reliable, so maybe almost better not to offer it, and the room was a but stuffy. I recommend a room that doesn't face the street - it isn't noisy, but the lights from the street mean it's too bright to open the curtains at night. But it's a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

A nice little hotel with great rooms and an extremely friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgomez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The building is beautiful and has lots of character; We loved the decor in our bedroom, it is a very special Mexican style, very colorful and the furniture were very nice also. The location was excellent, we could go walking around to nearby shopping and restaurants. Since we were busy attending a wedding in Mexico City we just had dinner at their restaurant one time. We really like the food and the service, It was a little pricy compared with the prices in Mexico City but we did enjoy it.
We can´t wait to go back.
Thanks La Casona and staff for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genovevaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barzago, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I am a business traveler and I wanted to experience this hotel after I saw it going around the city. The staff is really kind and helpful, the decoration is excellent, rooms are comfortable and quiet, the wireless internet worked fine and the metro station is not too far away.

  • Liked — Room decoration
  • Disliked — The available selection at breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aconitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Casona for 4 nights. The
hotel staff were helpful with our numerous requests and the rooms were wonderful, clean and quiet. There are two handy computers upstairs with free internet.

The concierge also organised a driver, Julio, for our trip to the pyramid site 50 kms from the centre who was extremely knowledgeable and highly recommended.

  • Liked — the building, decor, comfortable spacious rooms, high ceilings, big bathrooms, sitting room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadders1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Having read earlier Trip Advisor reviews in relation to this hotel, it was with some hesitation that I made a reservation. On balance, my opinion is that most of the criticisms are valid, albeit that some of them are relatively trivial.

The hotel building is magnificent and the public areas beautifully decorated. Although clean, the bedroom decoration was less stylish and a little tired. The bed linen was worn and there was only one dressing gown for two people. It could not be said that there was anything like the attention to detail that is usually associated with boutique hotels.

Without doubt the most disappointing feature of the hotel was the service. Aside from one chap, the staff were at best unhelpful and at worst rude. They certainly did not consider it within their remit to answer questions about sightseeing, local amenities, etc. A particularly memorable instance was that we wanted to package a fragile article in order to transport it home. In answer to our request for advice, the receptionists simply said that they didn't know. No effort was made to give consideration to the request, let alone make enquiries. We eventually found a shop specialising in packaging just a couple of minutes down the street.

On the morning of our departure, the restaurant was 45 minutes late in opening for breakfast which meant that we were unable to take a meal that we had paid for. My request for a partial refund was treated with derision.

The hotel's greatest advantage is its location on a relatively quiet street and within 15 minutes (safe) walk of a wide range of excellent restaurants.

Taking everything into consideration, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bamtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

La Casona is a self-described "boutique hotel" in a beutifully restored old mansion, conveniently located in Colonia Roma but a short walk to all the restaurants and nightlife of Condesa. We stayed two nights using a weekend special. It was $279 which included taxes, a ride to the airport, and a few other goodies. There is a metro station a few blocks away.

The public areas of the hotel are attractive, with polished dark wood floors and railings, some music-related decor, and cozy dining and sitting areas. Our room was large, with balcony windows that opened to a quiet side street. The bathroom was equally large, and everything worked. well. Our room had a strong shower -- important for blasting off the smell and grime after a long day of exploring D.F.

There were a couple of things that we felt could have been improved:

The front desk service was inconsistent. The first day, the person seemed almost bothered when we had questions about the hotel or advice on getting around. The next two days, though, the service improved.

The bedding was acceptable, but was not of the quality I would expect if paying the full rate of about $180 per night. This applies to both the mattress and the covers.

Overall, I'd give it high marks for convenience and attractiveness, but take off a few points for service and comfort, not because they were terrible, but because they made the hotel feel like it was still a work in progress that hasn't quite reached the level of luxury and sophistication it is aiming for.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bdm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Condesa DF
Condesa DF
#168 of 297 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 297 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites
Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites
#29 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#12 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#24 of 297 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona

Address: Durango 280 | Col. Roma - Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, a small cozy hotel in a central location in the Colonia Roma / Condesa, the hotel represents a new contribution to traditional hospitality. Our Mexico City hotel is devoted to offering comfort and service at a level of excellence for that very special traveller looking for personalized attention, elegance, privacy and comfort in a small, central and exclusive hotel. Built at the beginning of the last century, Hotel La Casona is a mansion with elegant facade, a beautiful patio and has been listed by the National Institute of fine arts in Mexico as a historic monument. It's 29 exclusive hotel rooms, exquisitly furnished, equipted with air conditioning and heating, guarantee all the facilities for contemporary comfort. The strategic location of Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, near Chapultepec Park and Emperor Maximilian's Paseo de la Reforma Avenue, a few minutes walk from the Mexico City Anthropology Museum, offers our hotel guests the possibility of organizing different activities in the city, without getting involved in the bustle of the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Mexico City
Hotel La Casona Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing