We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazingly beautiful hotel with fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“An amazingly beautiful hotel with fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Me and my father stayed at this hotel for two nights during our around the world-trip. When you enter the lobby you see the beautiful birds in two cages and the amazing glass roof. Although it's around 100 years old it really looks and feels fresh while keeping the old touch. The room was great with a view of the plaza outside. Even though you could stay here only for the beauty of it you wont be dissapointed with the great staff. Often it's hard to find a person that knows good enough english so that you could ask and have a conversation about some more difficult stuff. Raphael was one of those who knew english well and helped us alot with flight reservations and guiding. A really great guy that goes the distance for every guest!

If you are in Mexico City you really should stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    264
    59
    15
    20
See reviews for
304
500
86
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Since it was my first time to Mexico City, I wanted to book myself a hotel located in central downtown. The hotel photos and information look appealling on the internet. Given such location and promotion room rate at US$95 inclusive of tax (without breakfast) I booked myself this hotel.
Turn out this hotel do meet all my requests. I am happy to recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Time flies fast. I sttayed at this hotel 25 years ago. At the time it was a beautiful, mellow place. So, when I came back to DF and stayed in Polanco I decided to extend my stay in Mexico City at this hotel. I took a taxi from Polanco to Zocalo and came to this hotel to arrange a reservation. At the top of the stairs there were 2 men. I told them that I had not been at the hotel 25 years ago and wanted to look around, get some coffee and reserve a room. The man on my right told me that I could not go in. So, I asked for a manager. He pointed to the man on the left of me who confirmed that I could not go in. Both of them spoke good English. They gave me no explanation. Their body language was very hostile. Such attitude is disgusting. Granted, I am from the USA, don't know the "important" people and not a member of the local elite but to deny entrance to someone who wanted to stay at the hotel without any explanation from an American perspective is very offensive. I doubt they even care what someone thinks of their hotel. We can only imagine what would have happened if a Mexican visitor had been denied entrance to any hotel in the USA without an explanation. They would have sued the establishment the following day and it would make the front page news but when we are in Mexico we have to swallow our pride, be quiet and move on.. Regardless, I would never stay there and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_el_Ejecutivo, Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
We do care about our clients’ feedback and appreciate it, therefore we have created a special department to attend and solve any kind of comments and complaints. Our security team is in charge to keep our guests’ well being 24/7, by no means they pretend to disturb any client or visitor, moreover, they are well welcome to know our historical building and even take photographs inside. Nevertheless, we are going to avoid the possibility it could happen again to anybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Our stay was very fine with a nice and quiet room. We book a last minute opportunity and we pay a little price (70€). The main hall is very nice and the staff helpful.

We went also at the restaurant at the top that has a very nice view. the food was poor quality and the staff very unfriendly. I just advice you to go there to look the view

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I just came back from a long weekend in Mexico city and I stayed at the Gran Hotel in the Zocalo area. This hotel is beautiful and the rooms have everything you may need. The place was a bit noisy because of the location, it is right in the center of town. People come and go to see the beauty of the place. I had to stay in line to get inside so I could go to my room because of all the people trying to see the hotel. The service is not great, the staff at the front desk never knew where anything was in town or how to get to the most common attactions from the hotel. I asked for a beauty salon and a bakery around the hotel, but they didn't know where I could find one, after walking for about 10 minutes I found things a couple of blocks away from the hotel. I think the staff should be familiar with at least the area around the hotel. I don't think I'll be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_el_Ejecutivo, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Right, therefore we decided to hire a Concierge, whose main job is to provide precise information about the City’s attractions and events, ground transportation, entrance to shows, restaurant reservations, airplane tickets purchase and even arranging tours. Nevertheless, we also try to hire competent staff in all areas and train them correctly. Thanks for the opportunity to let us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Gran Hotel has a lot going for it: a stunning lobby, beautiful rooms, and right on the Zocalo (the center of Mexico City). However, the service leaves something to be desired. Each of the 8 days of our stay, we never got the right set of towels (none at all one day). We drink regular coffee, but we only got that the first few days--the rest of the time we got decaffeinated, even though we expressly requested regular. We ended up calling the front desk every day. We had good experiences at breakfast, so we tried the restaurant for dinner. They couldn't find a menu in English, and we found it difficult to decipher the Spanish since the dishes were rather exotic. We ended up leaving and eating elsewhere. Finally, for a hotel of this caliber, they do not have a concierge, and the front desk will not make any calls for guests (at least not for us during our stay).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_el_Ejecutivo, Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
We are constantly improving the service thanks to the comments our guests leave. In our restaurants we use two versions of menus (Spanish and English), nowadays we are working on creating one only menu with both languages included to avoid this kind of problems.
It is true that for the moment the hotel does not count with a concierge, nevertheless, currently we are looking for the best person to attend guests’ requests and will get one soon. For the moment, our front desk staff is pleasure to assist you with any kind of request.
Sometimes the high occupation leads us to make some mistakes, and we are working really hard to meet our clients’ satisfaction every day. We improve with every comment and avoid making the same mistake in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This hotel is bizarre. Great location on the Zocalo, and the rooms were really lovely - clean, with new bathrooms, very comfortable and large. But the restaurants are characterless, with terrible service, bad food, and bad hygene. Stay here if you don't plan on eating in-house.
Also it was very quiet - there was hardly anyone in the lobby or public areas, not necessarily a bad thing, but strange for such a big hotel.
The fitness center was completely dark and unused as far as I could tell. No wifi, but ethernet for free with a cord.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_el_Ejecutivo, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Lately, we have had radical changes in the management and staff of our restaurants, in order to improve the quality of the food and service. Our restaurants count with high standards of quality in the hygienic management of food, we are certified by SECTUR(Mexico´s ministry of tourism) and count with distinctive "H". We invite people to try out the concerning changes we have made, plus the unique view we have always have of the “Zócalo” (the city centre).
One of the many services we provide is the free use of High Speed Internet in every corner of the hotel (Wi-Fi and wire connection).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.