We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here a week. As others have noted the hotel staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and our room and bathroom were large, nicely decorated and kept very clean. The welcome gift was a very nice touch! The hotel's location was great for what we wanted to see; many places were in easy walking distance and a subway stop is just outside the hotel. There are a variety of restaurants near the hotel or in easy walking distance. We ate dinner at the hotel's Terrazo restaurant twice and enjoyed the good food, excellent service and great view of the Zocalo. Both times Adan did a great job. On our second visit, he mentioned that his assistant is Alex Z and the chef is Armando so we'd like to give our compliments to them as well. Once we ate breakfast at the hotel's other restaurant and it was good. My girlfriend likes fruit for breakfast and there's a fine little fruteria a block from the hotel.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars, but our room was located on the Av 16 de Septiembre. While this is a convenient pedestrianized street, it is also loud: from about 10am until 8 pm there is constant loud music and/or buskers' spiels coming from some stores. There's nothing the hotel can do about this, it's simply part of the location.

I would gladly stay here again, but would try to get a room not on that street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
It is a pleasure knowing that your stay with us was extremely gratifying; we have beautiful rooms decorated with a unique design that transported it to our old Mexico. Given that we are in the city centre we have many noise who because some conflict did our guests however we will try to not cause problems during your stay. Our restaurants are highly qualified to offer first quality food surrounded by a unique environment, from a privileged place in the 5th floor of our Hotel. We hope your view very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    214
    55
    15
    20
See reviews for
246
395
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

From the very start we liked this hotel - the location, its splendor, the room with the view of the Zocalo, the service, just everything. A minor problem with the curtains was fixed in half an hour - very impressive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We really appreciate your kind review. It is nice to know that you really enjoyed your stay and the Hotel´s architecture. Staying in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is such a wonderful experience, . We hope we can welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Gran for 3 nights and 4 days. It lives up to its name and reputation. Everybody at the hotel was courteous, helpful and friendly. Their hospitality made our stay very comfortable. The people at the front desk would answer our questions very patiently because we spoke very little Spanish and had a lot of questions The atmosphere at the hotel was quiet and serene even though it was located in one of the busiest part of town. If we went back to Mexico City we decided would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We really appreciate your kind review. It is nice to know that you really enjoyed your stay and the Hotel´s architecture. Staying in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is such a wonderful experience. We hope we can welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico was a perfect choice for our three nights in Mexico City. The location was perfect, both the room and bathroom were huge and very nicely decorated, and the glass of champagne on arrival was a nice touch.
As soon as we walked into the lobby of this hotel we knew we'd picked a good one. The two bird averys at the front door, the huge stain glassed ceiling, the old original elevator and the pianist playing background music in the corner gave the place a very classy feel. The service was great throughout our stay and the concierge was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I were back in Mexico City.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment us. We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed the view you were able to appreciate form your room. Maybe next time you can visit our coffe Grand Hotel , where you can enjoy our menu service.
Be sure we always welcome our guests´ feedback in order to find out the way to best fulfill their specific necessities and we apply definitive corrective measurements when required.
We are very grateful of knowing that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My room was absolutely beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. It was huge, and had very soft lighting, which I appreciate. The bathroom was fantastic, with a tub hidden behind curtains, and bubble bath supplied.
I had masses of room do do yoga and stretching; indeed one could have a small yoga class in the spaciousness of the room! I appreciated that instead of a dismal view outside my curtains, there was a painted forest view and promenade. One cannot beat the antique gorgeousness of the hotel with Tiffany glass roof and beautiful balustrades and stair cases.
Only two comments of maintenance; one of the light bulbs in my lamp was hanging by a cord and was not screwed in, and the cords that fully close the draperies did not work on one side. So, sunlight entered even though I love a dark room.
Two comments on the restaurant: the food was totally bland, but nice wines and drink choices. The service was good, but I wonder why servers in Mexico never seem to think that water is important, even when I request it? I had to ask twice for water, which is typical in restaurants with much less prestige. I hope this marvelous hotel decides to upgrade their food quality, flavor, and menu to reflect really good food that this great hotel deserves.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your preference. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico was built since 1895 and refurbished on 2005, retaining all those features that had made it famous during the previous 113 years of history. We are always trying to preserve “Art Noveau” decoration with quality and elegance. But you can be sure that we will pay special attention in those aspects that you kindly mentioned.
You look forward tio welcome you again in your next visit to Mexico City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

To end our trip to Mexico we spend two days in this wonderful hotel.
Situated in the hart of the old town, it is easy to explore all the "must sees" in MX City. Reception (even after midnight) with champagne and a personalized delicacy in the room. We made a dinner reservation to end our vacation "in style" and got the best table on the terrace overlooking the square.
Highly recommended!
Eric Vanmechelen, 11 august 2014

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
It is a great pleasure for us to know that we make a special moment as describing a highly successful and memorable experience. Likewise, we are delighted to know what special decoration like your room, which was designed specifically for special events. We feel very proud to know that you found helpful the assistance provided by the members of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again as we are always happy to to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglaterra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A fantastic hotel in a superb location at the historic centre of Mexico City. Facilities are first rate, staff very knowledgable and helpful and the hotel itself was absolutely splendid. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are grateful with all your comments, they are all very important for us. The hotel is lit by 150 lights (one of Mexico’s most intricate electrical installations). It is a decorated lavishly in the Art Nouveau style, an impressive Louis XV-style chandelier in the entrance, panoramic elevators from the beginning of the 20th century, and beautiful handmade wrought iron railing in one piece from first to third floor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#8 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In just one building you will find the elegance of Art Nouveau decoration, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908 and panoramic elevators from the beginning of the XIX Century. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is the place where Mexico’s history and culture come together - located in the heart of Mexico City and the most beautiful main square - Plaza de la Constitucion- view, with easy access to museums & historical Landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.