We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Carefree, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

From the very start we liked this hotel - the location, its splendor, the room with the view of the Zocalo, the service, just everything. A minor problem with the curtains was fixed in half an hour - very impressive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We really appreciate your kind review. It is nice to know that you really enjoyed your stay and the Hotel´s architecture. Staying in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is such a wonderful experience, . We hope we can welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    283
    63
    15
    20
See reviews for
338
532
92
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Gran for 3 nights and 4 days. It lives up to its name and reputation. Everybody at the hotel was courteous, helpful and friendly. Their hospitality made our stay very comfortable. The people at the front desk would answer our questions very patiently because we spoke very little Spanish and had a lot of questions The atmosphere at the hotel was quiet and serene even though it was located in one of the busiest part of town. If we went back to Mexico City we decided would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We really appreciate your kind review. It is nice to know that you really enjoyed your stay and the Hotel´s architecture. Staying in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is such a wonderful experience. We hope we can welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico was a perfect choice for our three nights in Mexico City. The location was perfect, both the room and bathroom were huge and very nicely decorated, and the glass of champagne on arrival was a nice touch.
As soon as we walked into the lobby of this hotel we knew we'd picked a good one. The two bird averys at the front door, the huge stain glassed ceiling, the old original elevator and the pianist playing background music in the corner gave the place a very classy feel. The service was great throughout our stay and the concierge was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I were back in Mexico City.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment us. We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed the view you were able to appreciate form your room. Maybe next time you can visit our coffe Grand Hotel , where you can enjoy our menu service.
Be sure we always welcome our guests´ feedback in order to find out the way to best fulfill their specific necessities and we apply definitive corrective measurements when required.
We are very grateful of knowing that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My room was absolutely beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. It was huge, and had very soft lighting, which I appreciate. The bathroom was fantastic, with a tub hidden behind curtains, and bubble bath supplied.
I had masses of room do do yoga and stretching; indeed one could have a small yoga class in the spaciousness of the room! I appreciated that instead of a dismal view outside my curtains, there was a painted forest view and promenade. One cannot beat the antique gorgeousness of the hotel with Tiffany glass roof and beautiful balustrades and stair cases.
Only two comments of maintenance; one of the light bulbs in my lamp was hanging by a cord and was not screwed in, and the cords that fully close the draperies did not work on one side. So, sunlight entered even though I love a dark room.
Two comments on the restaurant: the food was totally bland, but nice wines and drink choices. The service was good, but I wonder why servers in Mexico never seem to think that water is important, even when I request it? I had to ask twice for water, which is typical in restaurants with much less prestige. I hope this marvelous hotel decides to upgrade their food quality, flavor, and menu to reflect really good food that this great hotel deserves.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your preference. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico was built since 1895 and refurbished on 2005, retaining all those features that had made it famous during the previous 113 years of history. We are always trying to preserve “Art Noveau” decoration with quality and elegance. But you can be sure that we will pay special attention in those aspects that you kindly mentioned.
You look forward tio welcome you again in your next visit to Mexico City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

To end our trip to Mexico we spend two days in this wonderful hotel.
Situated in the hart of the old town, it is easy to explore all the "must sees" in MX City. Reception (even after midnight) with champagne and a personalized delicacy in the room. We made a dinner reservation to end our vacation "in style" and got the best table on the terrace overlooking the square.
Highly recommended!
Eric Vanmechelen, 11 august 2014

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
It is a great pleasure for us to know that we make a special moment as describing a highly successful and memorable experience. Likewise, we are delighted to know what special decoration like your room, which was designed specifically for special events. We feel very proud to know that you found helpful the assistance provided by the members of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again as we are always happy to to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglaterra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A fantastic hotel in a superb location at the historic centre of Mexico City. Facilities are first rate, staff very knowledgable and helpful and the hotel itself was absolutely splendid. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are grateful with all your comments, they are all very important for us. The hotel is lit by 150 lights (one of Mexico’s most intricate electrical installations). It is a decorated lavishly in the Art Nouveau style, an impressive Louis XV-style chandelier in the entrance, panoramic elevators from the beginning of the 20th century, and beautiful handmade wrought iron railing in one piece from first to third floor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The perfect place to stay, very good location, amazing service and wonderful view.
At Gran Hotel you feel confortable and secure.
As is in the downtown, a lot of interest points are pretty close walking.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are extremely happy that you had such a wonderful time during your stay.

The location of Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is unbeatable. It is just in the main square of downtown and near from “Fine Arts Museum”, “La Torre Latinoamericana” and many interesting places that must be visited. Thank you for your special mention about our colleague, she as Concierge Online, is aim to give advice and support to the guests to organize your upcoming stay! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.