We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Torquay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Champagne Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place is magnificent from the moment you step through the main door opened graciously for you by the polite uniformed doorman. He then escorts you through the old world open foyer area under a beautiful stained glass ceiling,past the canaries in elaborate cages and up to reception.
Once at reception your check in is organised efficiently while you are poured a glass of champagne.Now this is how all hotels should be.
We were guided to our room via the classic wrought iron lift.
We had a Junior suite on the 3rd floor and on the desk area inside when we arrived was a greeting plate of tasty small desserts with a welcome message written in chocolate.
The room is large with a king size bed that you just melt into. There is a safe in the wardrobe,an iron and board,small fridge,mini bar and coffee making. The bathroom is huge,all marble with a shower over the bath,vanity with ample bench top space and toilet.Toiletries are very generous including sewing kit and mouthwash besides the usual soaps,shampoo,body cream,toothbrush and paste.
The bedroom had large opening windows out to the zocalo and across to to the national palace so we had a perfect viewing point to watch the daily flag raising and lowering ceremonies complete with military band and marching.
Breakfast was in the ground floor cafe and offered table service of fresh juices or smoothies,fruit plates,bread baskets,eggs any style with an array of accompaniments,mexican dishes and tea and coffee.
The only down point is the lighting in the room and bathroom is poor.
However, we loved our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you very much for express your beautiful stay with us. Our main purpose is to offer our guests an amazing and unforgettable experience taking care of every single detail and special need you could request, that is why we have a professional service that will be supporting you before, during and after your stay. As you kindly mentioned, we have rooms with Zocalo View, where you will be witness of a traditional event in the main plaza: Our classical raising flag ceremony. In a near future we will feel proud to receive you again here at your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    205
    54
    14
    20
See reviews for
235
378
65
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grecia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed for a few days. Everything worked perfect. The staff was polite and willing to help all the time. The hotel is well maintained and clean. Our room had a huge flat TV! The only negative comment we have: the rooms are somehow dark and need more light.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We appreciate your review about your latest stay with us. It was a real pleasure to welcome you, at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico we have beautiful rooms with the amenities you will need such as a 50-inch LCD TV. In a near future we hope we can have the opportunity to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location. I asked for a room on a higher floor upon arrival and was given one (206), breakfast included and delicious. Dinner on roof terrace was also good (loved the cheese fondue), great view from there as well as from our room to the Zocalo. Always entertaining to watch what is happening in the square. We did not have a problem with noise at night. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom with big tub was awesome. I compared prices and the best deal was either on the hotel website or through Orbitz. Very reasonable. The service was excellent - thank you to Sergio, Salvador, Elena, Luis, Jose, Enrique and Cynthia for a great stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only stayed one night but we received wonderful service from the moment we arrived. All staff we encountered were friendly and informative. The Terraza restaurant serves great food and has a great view of the central square. The staff (we were served by Adam, Alex, and Erik) in the restaurant were lovely and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The building itself is beautiful with stained glass on the ceiling and a wonderful ornate elevator. The staff give you more info about the history which is quite interesting. The room was spotless and the bed was comfy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holanda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location and check out the view from the roof bar. Nice spacious rooms and very friendly staff. ..............................................................
...................................

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your visit as your mention we have only 12 rooms overlooking our zocalo, however our internal rooms have the same characteristics of the above so both will make your stay an enjoyable time. Our employees are very pleased to offer a first quality service to our guests. We hope to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Gran Hotel in July. The hotel staff are very professional and friendly. The Terrace Restaurant gives a breathtaking view over the historical Constitution Plaza. The waiters and managers at the Terrace Restaurant are very efficient and kind, particularly Adan and Alex. Adan and Alex at the Terrace Restaurant delivered high quality service beyond what they were expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Amazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check with no extra charges. The restaurantAmazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check out with no extra charges. The restaurant view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept. view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review about your stay and for sharing with us your own pictures in Gran Hotel de La Ciudad de Mexico. We really appreciate that you accepted the recommendation of your companion and gave us the great pleasure to host you during your stay. As you kindly mentioned both of the Restaurants served delicious courses and it is very interesting t visit them. Both of them offer different kind if food, ambience and street view or a more panoramic view from Restaurante La Terraza. We will be glad to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#8 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In just one building you will find the elegance of Art Nouveau decoration, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908 and panoramic elevators from the beginning of the XIX Century. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is the place where Mexico’s history and culture come together - located in the heart of Mexico City and the most beautiful main square - Plaza de la Constitucion- view, with easy access to museums & historical Landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.