We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Gran Hotel in July. The hotel staff are very professional and friendly. The Terrace Restaurant gives a breathtaking view over the historical Constitution Plaza. The waiters and managers at the Terrace Restaurant are very efficient and kind, particularly Adan and Alex. Adan and Alex at the Terrace Restaurant delivered high quality service beyond what they were expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    233
    56
    15
    20
See reviews for
261
416
76
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Amazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check with no extra charges. The restaurantAmazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check out with no extra charges. The restaurant view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept. view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review about your stay and for sharing with us your own pictures in Gran Hotel de La Ciudad de Mexico. We really appreciate that you accepted the recommendation of your companion and gave us the great pleasure to host you during your stay. As you kindly mentioned both of the Restaurants served delicious courses and it is very interesting t visit them. Both of them offer different kind if food, ambience and street view or a more panoramic view from Restaurante La Terraza. We will be glad to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is in a great location right next to the Zocalo. It is built in a grand colonial style and the main atrium is very impressive. I liked the period elevators (the old caged style elevators where the attendant pushes a handle) and the high ceiling both in the rooms and public places. The terrace restaurant gives you a great view of the main square and cathedral.
Food is not exceptional but then you don't stay at this hotel for the food - there are better places to sample that. Breakfast was the same - nothing to speak of......I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are happy to know that Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico accomplished your expectations. Hosting in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is an unforgettable experience since the entrance. The decoration, the marvelous Tiffany stained glass ceiling, the quality of the service and the warm treatment from all the staff are combined in order to offer you the best stay in Mexico City. We look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really enjoy the breakfast included with room, the waiters were really nice and polite in the cafeteria. And the views of the room were perfect. Also the welcome details were a nice gesture. Totally recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Is decorous to know that you enjoyed everything in the Hotel. Our decoration is made according “Art Nouveau Style”, as ceiling El Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico has a Tiffany stained glass, the building is considered the most beautiful and sumptuous of the capital city. Talking about our location, it is very convenient for our guest because it is in the heart of the Capital. It is easy to reach from here by walking many interesting restaurants, museums, and important touristic places . It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfect location and exceptional service. I particularly liked the things the staff did to make you feel so welcome; nightly newsletter, home made chocolates each night, the arrival drink and the smiles and greetings each time we came back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
All your positive comments let us know that you completely enjoyed your stay and we are very satisfy about this. For us is very important to deliver the service you deserve. We are very glad knowing that you enjoyed the entire decoration, service, location and our Terrace. In your next visit We hardly recommend to take the brunch in our Terrace, served every weekend from 9 in the morning to 6 in the evening. Once again, thanks a lot for your comments and we hope to see you soon here in your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We've stayed in many places in Mexico City, and by far this hotel is one of the best in terms of location, amenities, service and value. Don't expect a trendy, hipster-friendly place, but a classy one with lots of old charm. There are treats waiting for you upon arrival, and even more later on in the room. We haven't tried the restaurant but their terrace is beautiful! The internet connection is rather slow, one area the hotel should consider improving.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is very flattering to know that you enjoyed everything in the Hotel. Our decoration is made according “Art Nouveau Style” and, due to this; our building is considered one of the most beautiful and sumptuous of the capital city. Talking about our location, it is very convenient for our guest because it is in the heart of the Capital. It is easy to reach from here by walking many interesting restaurants, museums, and important touristic places. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Like, this hotel is a total OMG! The mosiac stained glass ceiling is amazing first of all, the staff is very attentive. Luis Acosta at the Piano Bar was awesome. He really took care of our big crowd. Our drinks were always cold and he made sure our kids always had snacks to munch on. I didn't want to leave. This place is great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In just one building you will find the elegance of Art Nouveau decoration, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908 and panoramic elevators from the beginning of the XIX Century. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is the place where Mexico’s history and culture come together - located in the heart of Mexico City and the most beautiful main square - Plaza de la Constitucion- view, with easy access to museums & historical Landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.