We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switch on the lights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Centro Historico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MX$500 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 297 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Switch on the lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is a nice place, an oasis of quiet in the busy area around Zocalo. One block from the pedestrian street with plenty of gold and jewelry merchants. (I guess this is the jewelry area of cental DF). The rooms are comfortable with up to date furniture, not the typical Mexican stuff. Breakfast and food is ok, however do not expect Michelin star quality. Breakfast is fine. The staff is friendly. There is also a nice rooftop terrace restaurant wich offer nice food and a great view over the Zocalo.
The business center has 2 computers and you can get some work done if you want to.
There is not really an area where you can sit down and relax in a lounge or somehting. If you want that service and plenty of people to wait on you one should stay in a big Western and or business hotels with according rates. I paid the internet - lower - price and that's fine. If I had to pay the full price I might have gone for the Western hotels which offer yet more convenience.
If I had to improve one item: switch on the beautiful candalabre lights on all the floors, this would really make a difference.
This being said I will be back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it take a room with a view on the Zocalo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPDL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We welcome your comments, as well as you mention our hotel is located in the heart of Mexico City, with a spectacular view of the zocalo. Our rooms have twentieth century design certainly fundamental part to relax. Thank you for your words to our group of staffs which provide an excellent service. It's good to know that you visited our restaurants in which you will find top quality food. We hope to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
adelaide
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel with large rooms. It is situated in the centre of the city square and central to all shopping. The downfall of this place is the noise factor. It is very very noisy and with the window and curtains closed you can still here the organ grinder player so loudly.
One weekend there was a concert so forget about sleeping that night.
We did not face the Zocalo but we did hear the cars going up the street.
Lovely hotel and helpful staff , you just require ear plugs to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kookaburras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. As you mentioned, our location is a good start to explore Mexico City’s main tourist attractions, plus the unique view the hotel owns to the “Zocalo”. Our rooms are decorated in an Art Nouveau style, which contributes to create the ideal frame that will take you back to Mexico’s Golden Age. Nevertheless, you will find all the services and comfort that modern life requires.
Sometimes we cannot do much about the noise coming from the outside, therefore, we happily will change your room to an internal view if the availability allows it. Thank you very much for the kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel recently to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our room faced the Zocalo; we had a junior suite which included a full breakfast every day at the Restaurante Gran Hotel. The staff was excellent. My compliments to Cynthia Gomez, who worked at the reception desk. Likewise, at the Restaurante we were well attended to by Viridiana, Daniel Chavez, Hugo, Faby and Esteban. Thank you all for a wonderful time en la ciudad mas bonita del mundo!

Room Tip: We did not choose a particular room but were given one overlooking the Zocalo. Every evening we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We greatly appreciate your compliments to our staff members and we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable, our staff is always willing to help in special requests and requirements. we hope your visit with us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you want to stay at a lovely, classic 1899 hotel in the heart of the city that is reasonably priced, I have the place for you. The Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is directly off the Zocalo, one block from the pedestrian mall and close to everything. The Tiffany stained glass ceiling is magnificent! As is the lobby. Service was excellent and our room for 5 days was extremely comfortable with everything we needed. Restaurants were steps away too. A very romantic place to stay when visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmtrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your great comment and recommendation, we're glad you've been to his liking Art Nouveau style of our hotel and the great Tiffany Stained Glass
We also glad you enjoyed your stay in our stylish and unique rooms.
We hope to visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited for a wedding and stayed longer. We loved this hotel because it is in the middle of everything! If we were tired at night, it was easy to go up stairs for a light dinner and drinks. Our room was clean and quiet. The hotel itself is beautiful and we enjoyed just staying in. There is lots to see right on the square and even two blocks over. We had a delightful trip!

Room Tip: Staying in a room that looks out on the square may seem really great but it was our experience that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Bennett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment, it is a pleasure for us to read the satisfaction of our customers. Our commitment is to provide quality service to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. We hope to have you back with us, we are waiting for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely lovely. Tiffany stainglass rooftop, large historical rooms, renovated bathroom, comfortable beds, desk, complimentary daily treats - chocolate coated strawberries, fruit bowls, chocolates were great. Service and amenities impeccable and view from the restaurant above is serene. Got a great deal and would stay here again if ever in Mexico City.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiepoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind comment. In the hotel we have a high commitment to the satisfaction of our guests, so we are always looking for opportunities to exceed the expectations of our visitors and we feel very proud when we made it.
We are glad that our facilities have been satisfactory for you. With pleasure we expect in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is exceptional in all aspects: quality, cleanliness, comfort and service. My room was spacious, very well maintained, organized and with all of the amenities needed for my business trip (wifi, iron, complete bathroom amenities). Breakfast was delicious and service was excellent. Front desk staff was great in assisting with taxi and any other questions. You can feel the history of the Zocalo while inside the hotel. Highly recommend as the best overall option in the Center of Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFHotelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We are glad that you liked our location, service and our rooms. At the hotel we strive to meet the experiences and meet the individual needs of each of our guests, so they constantly encourage them to express their wishes or requests. We always do everything possible to fulfill them and give them the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 297 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 297 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#8 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Roma
La Valise Hotel
La Valise Hotel
#4 of 297 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#3 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing