We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN400 on select meals
Ranked #3 of 282 hotels in Mexico City
adelaide
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel with large rooms. It is situated in the centre of the city square and central to all shopping. The downfall of this place is the noise factor. It is very very noisy and with the window and curtains closed you can still here the organ grinder player so loudly.
One weekend there was a concert so forget about sleeping that night.
We did not face the Zocalo but we did hear the cars going up the street.
Lovely hotel and helpful staff , you just require ear plugs to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. As you mentioned, our location is a good start to explore Mexico City’s main tourist attractions, plus the unique view the hotel owns to the “Zocalo”. Our rooms are decorated in an Art Nouveau style, which contributes to create the ideal frame that will take you back to Mexico’s Golden Age. Nevertheless, you will find all the services and comfort that modern life requires.
Sometimes we cannot do much about the noise coming from the outside, therefore, we happily will change your room to an internal view if the availability allows it. Thank you very much for the kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    624
    200
    52
    14
    20
See reviews for
230
368
62
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel recently to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our room faced the Zocalo; we had a junior suite which included a full breakfast every day at the Restaurante Gran Hotel. The staff was excellent. My compliments to Cynthia Gomez, who worked at the reception desk. Likewise, at the Restaurante we were well attended to by Viridiana, Daniel Chavez, Hugo, Faby and Esteban. Thank you all for a wonderful time en la ciudad mas bonita del mundo!

Room Tip: We did not choose a particular room but were given one overlooking the Zocalo. Every evening we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We greatly appreciate your compliments to our staff members and we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable, our staff is always willing to help in special requests and requirements. we hope your visit with us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you want to stay at a lovely, classic 1899 hotel in the heart of the city that is reasonably priced, I have the place for you. The Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is directly off the Zocalo, one block from the pedestrian mall and close to everything. The Tiffany stained glass ceiling is magnificent! As is the lobby. Service was excellent and our room for 5 days was extremely comfortable with everything we needed. Restaurants were steps away too. A very romantic place to stay when visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited for a wedding and stayed longer. We loved this hotel because it is in the middle of everything! If we were tired at night, it was easy to go up stairs for a light dinner and drinks. Our room was clean and quiet. The hotel itself is beautiful and we enjoyed just staying in. There is lots to see right on the square and even two blocks over. We had a delightful trip!

Room Tip: Staying in a room that looks out on the square may seem really great but it was our experience that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment, it is a pleasure for us to read the satisfaction of our customers. Our commitment is to provide quality service to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. We hope to have you back with us, we are waiting for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely lovely. Tiffany stainglass rooftop, large historical rooms, renovated bathroom, comfortable beds, desk, complimentary daily treats - chocolate coated strawberries, fruit bowls, chocolates were great. Service and amenities impeccable and view from the restaurant above is serene. Got a great deal and would stay here again if ever in Mexico City.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind comment. In the hotel we have a high commitment to the satisfaction of our guests, so we are always looking for opportunities to exceed the expectations of our visitors and we feel very proud when we made it.
We are glad that our facilities have been satisfactory for you. With pleasure we expect in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is exceptional in all aspects: quality, cleanliness, comfort and service. My room was spacious, very well maintained, organized and with all of the amenities needed for my business trip (wifi, iron, complete bathroom amenities). Breakfast was delicious and service was excellent. Front desk staff was great in assisting with taxi and any other questions. You can feel the history of the Zocalo while inside the hotel. Highly recommend as the best overall option in the Center of Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We are glad that you liked our location, service and our rooms. At the hotel we strive to meet the experiences and meet the individual needs of each of our guests, so they constantly encourage them to express their wishes or requests. We always do everything possible to fulfill them and give them the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great stay at this well located hotel right on the Zocalo. Very few rooms have windows onto the Zocalo, you might want to ask for it. The inner rooms are also quite nice, spacious with big windows. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your visit. As you mention, we have only some of our rooms have a Zocalo View”, the others can have a frontal view or inner view. Our employees are very pleased to offer a first quality service to our guests. We hope to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In just one building you will find the elegance of Art Nouveau decoration, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908 and panoramic elevators from the beginning of the XIX Century. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is the place where Mexico’s history and culture come together - located in the heart of Mexico City and the most beautiful main square - Plaza de la Constitucion- view, with easy access to museums & historical Landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.