We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel at a fantastic price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel at a fantastic price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's no doubt that the art deco architecture of this hotel is the biggest attraction, but the room itself are also very luxerious, spacious with high celings.

Unlike some other hotels where the lobby's all decked out but the rooms are medicore, Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico is beautiful everywhere, and it's considerably cheaper than some of corporate hotels in the financial district.

The rooftop terrace bar/restaurant has one of the best view of the Zocalo, however it is open air so if you are visiting in the winter, you may want to bring a jacket in case the patio heater is not warm enough.

Room Tip: Bedroom doors are from original architecture so they don't have the same sound proofing quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We feel very happy to know that you liked both our hotel and its decoration style. As you may already know was originally built to host the “Centro Mercantil”, a place which high-society families and very distinguished gentlemen enjoyed visiting. This “Centro Mercantil” was the equivalent to malls from nowadays and was inaugurated by the very same president “Porfirio Diaz” in 1899. Actually you can still admire the original initials “CM” which corresponded to this “Centro Mercantil” preserved in the original wrought-iron railings.
In case you are interested in the complete story of the hotel, please visit our website where you will find a complete narration about it. We are sure you will enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    264
    59
    15
    20
See reviews for
304
500
85
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, the best view of Mexico's largest square, great cost-benefit ratio. The service is phenomenal, people are trying to make you comfortable. The view from the restaurant is excellent and the central patio is simply wonderful. I recommend it for couples who want to enjoy a romantic and special place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We feel very pleased to know you enjoyed your latest visit. Perhaps for your next stay you would be interested in booking our “Romance Package”, specially designed for couples that wish to have a most romantic and unforgettable experience. This package includes a beautifully rose-petal decorated room along with a champagne bottle, chocolate truffles and a set of fruits.
Also, you can add a romantic Dinner to this reservation in order to make it even more special. This dinner can be celebrated either on our Rooftop Terrace for enjoying a lovely view, or on your room for more privacy.
All these specialties are available by booking directly through our website so please consider visiting it next time you desire to plan something special for your partner. We will always feel honored to receive you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico is a beautiful hotel located in the main square of Mexico City. You can't get more central than this. We had a great view of the Metropolitan Cathedral, Templo Mayor and National Palace from the room. There was also a magnificient view of the zocalo from the terrace restaurant who also was pretty nice. The hotel is very clean and well organized. Our room was clean and very spacious.

They have free WiFi and own secure taxis who you can booke at the front desk. The service we received from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out was first class. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A special thanks to Ceasar, Salvador and Eduardo for their excellent service.

I know which hotel I will stay at the next time I'm in Mexico D.F.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to congratulate our Front Desk team by this media, we are sure they will feel very proud to know you were fond of their attentions.
We also feel very happy to know you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi access that our hotel offers to our visitors. This is a very useful service for our guests that are fond of traveling with their portable computers or smart-phones since it enables them to always have access to their personal email accounts and other internet portals. For our guests that do not count with this kind of devices, we count with a Business Center that is equipped with desk computers. This Center is open for all of our guests also under no additional cost and has full internet access so, in case you forget to bring your smart-phone next time, rest assured we will have an internet option available for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is the grand dame of the Centro. Classic wrought iron elevators, elegant open lobby, classy service (chocolate covered fruit in each room). It played the role of Paris in the film Frida!
We stayed for just one night, at the end of a week long trip through Mexico, in order to treat ourselves before flying out home. We had planned to check out some local bars and cafes in the area, but instead just ended up spending the evening enjoying the magnificient view of the zocalo form the terrace.
I was mildly disappointed in the food at the terrace restaurant - a little pricey for the quality, but I guess you pay for the location and view, not the food. Besides, the service was top notch. Also, a comparable hotel and location in virtually any other major metro in the world would cost around 3 times as much!

I just wish we had had longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We also had wished to have the chance to attend you for a longer period. Nevertheless we hope that you will consider staying with us for your next trip to Mexico City since we will always appreciate the opportunity to attend you. Maybe for your next stay you will consider sharing with us a little bit more details about your specific preferences in food. Our cheff gladly accepts any special requirements our guests may have and feels happy to prepare a specific course according to the preferences detailed. We will be happy to receive the opportunity to match your expectations on both of our restaurants so please do not hesitate in asking for this option for your next stay. We will always try to completely fulfill your requirements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for a splurge and it was worth every peso! Do it! Even though you might be able to find something cheaper. (Not to mention a splurge here is just a typical, boring hotel room rate in the states.)
The thrill of walking through that lobby to get to our room set us giggling every time. And beyond just the architecture of the building - the staff here takes great care to offer wonderful little touches, like a complimentary plate of chocolate dipped fruits.
White-glove clean. Great beds.
And THE MOST attentive, friendly, and patient staff I've ever experienced. Sometimes when we splurge, our kinda grungy appearance will garner us raised eyebrows and brusque service. Not here. We felt truly welcomed by sincerely nice people.

Room Tip: The rooms on the zocalo have a better view, obviously. But we are very sound sleepers. If it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
You will always be gladly welcomed with us as we appreciate all of our kind guests. Perhaps for your next visit you would like to consider booking through our official website, where you will find interesting promotions as well as the best rates available. In this portal you will also find a collection of pictures, a full description of our rooms and services, our official history and even a special section where you will be able to directly contact us for any doubt or requirement you might have. We gladly attend and personally answer every mail we receive so please do not hesitate in contacting us for your next stay. We will feel very proud to receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was centrally located, clean, safe, reasonably priced AND the staff was friendly. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We were there over a big holiday, November 20, and loved the quite respit the hotel offered in the midst of so much activity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We feel very proud to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Perhaps you would be interested in visiting us again for this upcoming Holiday season. Our hotel and the Zocalo itself are beautifully decorated due to Christmas time. We proudly present a huge Christmas tree that covers the three floors and counts with the classical Christmas lights. As for the Zocalo, it presents the traditional Ice Rink along with lots of other attractions and a special illumination in the main buildings that surround it. All this becomes a truly beautiful scenery highly frequented by families; which creates a very amusing end enjoyable environment. Therefore we definitely recommend this season for visiting Mexico City, we trust you will have a most pleasant time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this historic classic hotel recently and had a wonderful experience. Both the attentive staff and location cannot be beat. The roof-top terrace restaurant overlooking the
Zocalo is very nice for breakfast or a sunset cocktail. Despite being in the very heart of Mexico City, we found our room 217 to be very quiet and huge, not to mention very clean. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Mexico D.F. Also, the Centro Historico is very safe for walking and visiting the many museums, restaurants, and shops. A special thank you to Ceasar at the front desk for his excellent service.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the inner court yard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment and for the congratulations sent to our colleague. We would love to receive you again, in which case we will try our best as always to make your lodging with us an excellent experience. Maybe for your next visit you would be interested in taking one of our tours. The most popular options among our guests are the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the City tour, but we also count with other alternatives in case you are interested in something more specific. Please ask for our Concierge on your next visit in case you require more information about these tours, he will gladly assist you in booking them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Av 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.