We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic in Polanco.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Presidente Mexico City to your Saves list
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos 218 | Colonia Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #45 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A classic in Polanco.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

InterContinental is -and has been for years- a classic in Polanco. While I agree that rooms need a facelift; service is prompt as usual. A very good option in the area, tried and tested for years. Their breakfast buffet is packed full and somewhat noisy, but food quality and service are very good. DiRoma restaurat next door is also a tested and trusty dinner option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank for your preference and for your great comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, breakfast, Alfredo di Roma and most of all service. It is so good to know that the service provided was excellent. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    217
    126
    53
    29
See reviews for
66
83
66
465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

From the lobby to the bars, the excellent restaurants and the rooms – it's all so nice, clean and full of ambiance.
The price for a room is reasonable, and the restaurants in this hotel premises are one of the best I tried in Mexico City. Add a perfect location in the Polanco area to the above and it doesn’t get any better than this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience in the hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, room, restaurants, location and hotel in general. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks in Jan 2013 on work. Room was not big but very comfortable , had an excellent view of the city. Wifi was excellent although it kept getting disconnected every now and then. The complimentary breakfast was very good with a wide variety of spread.
This hotel is located in a fantastic strip with a lot of great restaurants near by. The Anthropology Museum (one of the best) , Chapultepec Castle are all walking distance from here. You can walk or even take a bike from the hotel and go there. The area "Polanco" is probably as safe as you can get in North America.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and your great comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the room, wifi, breakfast, view, location and surroundings. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from april 26 to 29. Slow Check-in procedure. We requested a room over looking the Park and were told it was not available. Later on we found out there were available rooms.
Hotel in general very run down. It needs renovation urgently to bring it to the standard OF intercontinental hotels.

The locación excellent.

Room Tip: At time of reservation request a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. I am sorry about the inconveniences you experienced during check in, regarding your comment about " not available rooms" just let me mention that we usually run pretty high occupancy and this affects our rooms' availability; never the less we will try to prevent this kind of incidents. It is a pity that you have such a bad impression of our hotel and we would like to change it if you give us the opportunity to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I returned to this iconic hotel in Mexico City after 10 years. Great location, great restaurants but rooms have the same old furniture use to have 25 years ago. Every thing is old worn out in the rooms. Urgent overhaul needed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. Regarding your comment about the old rooms and furniture, just let me mention that it is our goal to start total renovation of all the rooms in the coming months. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located and is a 40 minute drive from the airport. Right from check-in to check-out, every single staff member I had encountered was extremely polite, caring and pleasant. I tried out all the restaurants and just loved the food- even the breakfast was very satisfying. The room had a great view but was rather basic- not very different from a 3 star hotel. Wi-fi internet isn't included in the room tariff. I did not get time to check out the spa, gym or other nice things. The windows are not sound proof- the occasional helicopters taking off and landing on top of neighbouring buildings, ambulance & police sirens can be very disturbing. The AC wasn't cooling enough but I did not bother complaining. Would I stay here again? Definitely yes for the lovely staff & food; but for the room & other things- I'd want to check out the other hotels in the area as I've been told they offer better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the hotel. I am glad every single member of the staff were polite, caring and pleasant, our main purpose is to provide an excellent service. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the food at our restaurants and the view from our rooms. Regarding your comments about the wifi let me mention that we offer a value package which includes internet. I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with the AC and the sounds from the street, I am going to escalate your comments to corresponding areas in order to prevent these kind of incidents. We would like to change the impression you have from our hotel if you give us the opportunity to welcome you back and to provide the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is OK but not great. At these prices you should get more value for money and more flexibility. I stayed at the executive floor and I have seen far better executive offerings in Mexico city. The price for the executive floor does not include wi-fi. What? What is the purpose of having an executive floor if you do not include executive services, there are pc's available with internet connection which of course nobody uses.
The hotel also has strange rules e.g. One day I wanted to have breakfast at the main breakfast area but no, in spite of having a "premium" priced room you can't do this.
The service on the executive floor also closes very early on weekends.

Compared to other hotels the food at the executive floor is very limited e.g. for breakfast. Some of the executive floors at other hotels are becoming sort of all inclusive hotels where you can have a light dinner if you do not have or fancy going out. This one is ok but not as good.

Far better the neihbour hotel JWMarriot or the much cheaper and with a fantastic executive floor Maririot reforma.

Rooms are ok but a bit on the old side. No pool either.

Positives:
- Staff very helpful and friendly
- A great chair at the desk in the room. Really an ergonomic chair where you can work.
- good location (other options available)

Room Tip: Don't choose the executive floor, not good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy our Executive Floor, we are going to consider and escalate your comments in order to provide a better service. On the other side I am glad you enjoyed our location and most of all that the staff were friendly and helpful. It is a pity that you have such a bad impression of our hotel and we would like to change it if you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Presidente Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 218 | Colonia Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Mexico City is an award-winning hotel in Polanco, one of the capital s most dynamic cultural, business and shopping areas. This prestigious locale is close to the National Museum of Anthropology, Chapultepec Park and Castle and the National Auditorium. Nearby Mazarik Avenue and Pasaje Polanco shops are also worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Intercontinental Mexico City
Mexico City Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.