We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Presidente Mexico City to your Saves list
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos 218 | Colonia Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #43 of 294 Hotels in Mexico City
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks in Jan 2013 on work. Room was not big but very comfortable , had an excellent view of the city. Wifi was excellent although it kept getting disconnected every now and then. The complimentary breakfast was very good with a wide variety of spread.
This hotel is located in a fantastic strip with a lot of great restaurants near by. The Anthropology Museum (one of the best) , Chapultepec Castle are all walking distance from here. You can walk or even take a bike from the hotel and go there. The area "Polanco" is probably as safe as you can get in North America.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and your great comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the room, wifi, breakfast, view, location and surroundings. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    259
    148
    58
    31
See reviews for
79
101
68
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from april 26 to 29. Slow Check-in procedure. We requested a room over looking the Park and were told it was not available. Later on we found out there were available rooms.
Hotel in general very run down. It needs renovation urgently to bring it to the standard OF intercontinental hotels.

The locación excellent.

Room Tip: At time of reservation request a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. I am sorry about the inconveniences you experienced during check in, regarding your comment about " not available rooms" just let me mention that we usually run pretty high occupancy and this affects our rooms' availability; never the less we will try to prevent this kind of incidents. It is a pity that you have such a bad impression of our hotel and we would like to change it if you give us the opportunity to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I returned to this iconic hotel in Mexico City after 10 years. Great location, great restaurants but rooms have the same old furniture use to have 25 years ago. Every thing is old worn out in the rooms. Urgent overhaul needed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. Regarding your comment about the old rooms and furniture, just let me mention that it is our goal to start total renovation of all the rooms in the coming months. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located and is a 40 minute drive from the airport. Right from check-in to check-out, every single staff member I had encountered was extremely polite, caring and pleasant. I tried out all the restaurants and just loved the food- even the breakfast was very satisfying. The room had a great view but was rather basic- not very different from a 3 star hotel. Wi-fi internet isn't included in the room tariff. I did not get time to check out the spa, gym or other nice things. The windows are not sound proof- the occasional helicopters taking off and landing on top of neighbouring buildings, ambulance & police sirens can be very disturbing. The AC wasn't cooling enough but I did not bother complaining. Would I stay here again? Definitely yes for the lovely staff & food; but for the room & other things- I'd want to check out the other hotels in the area as I've been told they offer better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the hotel. I am glad every single member of the staff were polite, caring and pleasant, our main purpose is to provide an excellent service. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the food at our restaurants and the view from our rooms. Regarding your comments about the wifi let me mention that we offer a value package which includes internet. I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with the AC and the sounds from the street, I am going to escalate your comments to corresponding areas in order to prevent these kind of incidents. We would like to change the impression you have from our hotel if you give us the opportunity to welcome you back and to provide the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is OK but not great. At these prices you should get more value for money and more flexibility. I stayed at the executive floor and I have seen far better executive offerings in Mexico city. The price for the executive floor does not include wi-fi. What? What is the purpose of having an executive floor if you do not include executive services, there are pc's available with internet connection which of course nobody uses.
The hotel also has strange rules e.g. One day I wanted to have breakfast at the main breakfast area but no, in spite of having a "premium" priced room you can't do this.
The service on the executive floor also closes very early on weekends.

Compared to other hotels the food at the executive floor is very limited e.g. for breakfast. Some of the executive floors at other hotels are becoming sort of all inclusive hotels where you can have a light dinner if you do not have or fancy going out. This one is ok but not as good.

Far better the neihbour hotel JWMarriot or the much cheaper and with a fantastic executive floor Maririot reforma.

Rooms are ok but a bit on the old side. No pool either.

Positives:
- Staff very helpful and friendly
- A great chair at the desk in the room. Really an ergonomic chair where you can work.
- good location (other options available)

Room Tip: Don't choose the executive floor, not good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy our Executive Floor, we are going to consider and escalate your comments in order to provide a better service. On the other side I am glad you enjoyed our location and most of all that the staff were friendly and helpful. It is a pity that you have such a bad impression of our hotel and we would like to change it if you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
99 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Let's start with why the 3 - the service needs help and it's all in the attitude. At the club lounge you are mostly ignored, whether it is breakfast or happy hour. The concierges mostly don't seem to care and want you away from their desk as soon as possible. Example - I asked where I could go for a walk on Monday - the concierge gave me a map, highlighted the park - it is locked tight on Mondays. We reported a problem with the TV in the sitting area on day one, by day 5 nothing had been done.

Reception is fine and efficient. Housekeeping was stellar.

The restaurants are expensive as expected and the Chinese restaurant charges for rice. There are 5 restaurants in the Intercontinental.

Agree with the old comments, but everything functions (except the TV as noted). Great water pressure in the shower. Bed is comfortable and seating is comfortable. It was also very quiet despite th large number of guests in the hotel. 6 elevators - all working - no wait for the ride up.

The views are stunning. Housekeeping does an immaculate clean each time they visit. Internet cost is reasonable. You are on the edge of good restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk in Polanco. Recommend you get away from the hotels for dinner. It is safe to walk the residential area as there is a large police presence and guards in all buildings.

The large hotels are all on the same row. Hyatt Regency, Intercontinental, Marriott Marquis, W. Time from airport is 30-40 minutes with no traffic. Cost is @350+ tip pesos one way. If you want to ride the Metro, it is out the back entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Club level. Be prepared to be ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am thankful for your excellent comments about Reception, Housekeeping and our facilities. I have congratulated them for a job well done.
I have to admit that I am very disappointed with the service levels you experienced, and I am escalating your comments to the areas involved. It is totally unacceptable and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I hope you give us another opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future and meet the service expectations you have from an InterContinental Hotel .

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Amazing views of the City if you get to staying in the higher levels. Good choice of food in the many restaurants. (The restaurants are independent to the hotel)

But the Hotel rooms are pretty average and out dated.. The age of the hotel shows.

I only stayed there for business, I would not stay there for pleasure.

Room Tip: Get room on higher floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the views and the restaurants. Regarding your comment about our outdated rooms, just let me mention that it is our goal to start total renovation of all the rooms at the middle of this year. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Presidente Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 218 | Colonia Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#34 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Mexico City is an award-winning hotel in Polanco, one of the capital s most dynamic cultural, business and shopping areas. This prestigious locale is close to the National Museum of Anthropology, Chapultepec Park and Castle and the National Auditorium. Nearby Mazarik Avenue and Pasaje Polanco shops are also worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Intercontinental Mexico City
Mexico City Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.