We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia)

National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia)
Avenida Paseo de la Reforma | Chapultepec Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Bosque de Chapultepec)
05 553 6266
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 403 things to do in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's most comprehensive natural history museums, this famous institution houses four square kilometers of exhibits in 23 exhibition halls.
california
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is the place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have been here many times but cannot get enough! Go to far end to begin in the Azteca (Mexica)and then go to the Maya section, then third the Teotihuacan section. Also you can have good food downstairs in the restaurant. Best to get to museum early opens at 10am. Enjoy! Now Wei Wei's sculptures on exhibit and WOW! now you can see why the Chinese government is so threatened by this amazing artist. What a privelege to see his work! Totally unexpected! Enyoy this world class museum!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,730
    730
    83
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing--a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place is HUGE. You could literally spend all day here, so dedicate a good chunk of time to a visit here. I didn't go with the audio guide, which is probably a very helpful way to get a quick and dirty (but thorough) summary of the museum without reading every single sign (there's so many!). Very interesting and will definitely visit again if I get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World Class Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Excellent exhibits exploring Meso America. Artifacts are well displayed with many exceptional pieces. Don't miss the Acrobat and be sure and watch the Indian's outside of the museum climb a tall pole and whirl around hanging upside down. The restaurant inside the museum had good service and food. The admission was 59 pesos.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

* Thorough and organized--a must see
* Good restaurant, too, for the much-needed lunch break
* Good gift shop with lots of choices

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Mexico a MUST VISIT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I just went back to visit the Museum, I have been there many times before(since childhood), this time I had my own kids with me, they were hesitant to visit, but as soon as we started the tour they were amazed! they couldn't stop talking, asking questions, there's too much too see and digest in one visit, easily my favorite place in Mexico City.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia) also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.